We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palatinus Strand

Palatinus Strand
Book In Advance
More Info
US$18.66*
and up
Budapest Card
Ranked #32 of 438 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fun!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This was so much fun! Been to another bath as well, but this was so much better and cleaner!
Several pools with bubbles, waves, streams etc. 3 different tubes and a lot of sun! Excellent! You can rent a chair if you want or just stay on the grass. Not that expensive.
The changing-rooms are for both male and female, witch is perfect if you are a family of both. And I think it has good signs in English. Don´t know why people say it don´t, haven´t they been in Budapest?? They don't speak much of English at all! Here you can find your way with help of the signs, in English.
We had a great day, and would love to go back!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoWi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    107
    19
    5
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not-so-modern strand”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Visited June 2014. Soviet-style-service at the entrance (pricelist had rental prices for towels/blankets, but hou could not rent at ticket booth). The information was mostly in Hungarian, so for first timers it was difficult to find out the right way to start your visit. The area was nice though it was not so modern that hou could imagine from the website. Pools were OK. Fast food restaurant where we ordered food was a joke, trainees tried to manage with the orders and no one were there to quide them. They managed to mess up with our order and we were only 3 persons. The weather was great, so everything felt nice afterwards.

Helpful?
3 Thank HoopHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pirkkala, Finland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I visited the pools on a hot summer Sunday. The place was pretty packed in the afternoon, but my kids (9 and 6) loved everything, especially those slides. The place is great value for the money, and a lot of fun on a hot day. The overall experience was positive, but the changing rooms could be cleaner, and it is unbelievable that there are staff members in a place like this, who really do not speak a word any other language but Hungarian.

Helpful?
Thank eerola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cracow, Malopolskie, Poland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good idea for a hot summer day”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

... but staff are rude and smoke the cigarretes all over the place.
A coffee served in plastic cups.. come on guys. Not too many time tickets options and a little too expensive

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rafal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyable for everybody.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We were at Palatinus the last day of the season -13. It was still sunny and warm but not overcrowded so our family could really enjoy the bath. The wave-pool that functions once every hour is really cool, never seen so large waves. The kidspool with small slides was very much apprechiated by our 3 and 5 year old, but also the other "leisure-pools" were very appreciated by us. For older kids and teens there are two (?) larger slides.

Don't miss the funny yoghurt ice cream. Ask for a family price, we paid next to nothing for the whole family. And tip the person in the changingarea. It is a bit complicated, the changingarea, but ask and they will show you. You have one key and the hostess has one, you need both to open. One minus is the bathrooms and showers, they are not so fresh.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palatinus Strand also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Palatinus Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing