We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast awful, service hit and miss”
Review of City Hotel Unio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Hotel Unio
Ranked #206 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Breakfast awful, service hit and miss”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed in 3 seperate hotels in 3 seperate cities on our trip, and Unio was by far the worst. Although some of the staff members were polite, one man (overweight, works during the day) was very rude. He refused to ring the minibus to confirm the taxi to the airport.
Rooms okay, dates but adaquete. Breakfast on the other hand was what really let it down. The selection was very limited the quality very poor. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilovegizmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    113
    101
    52
    36
See reviews for
60
123
50
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Location - Very good, 10 mins walk from the main drag in Pest. 5 mins from the underground / tram.

Rooms - Barely 3 star, very basic, Towels not cleaned to the best standard. Bed not great.

Breakfast - I only ha 1 as it made me feel ill but all my 7 friends on the trip agreed the breakfast was very poor.

Service: the lady and night porter were very helpful but the big bloke worked during the day was a very unhelpful gentleman. In fact just having to move his backside off his chair was a real inconvenience!

I'm not sure that anyone who visits this hotel would ever return!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I wouldn't recommend this hotel and I will definitely not stay again. The place is clean and is in a fairly convenient location (10 minute walk from the main station, 1 minute from a tram stop and 5 minutes from a metro station), but my single bed was uncomfortable. The shower head was not attached to the wall & the breakfasts were unappetising. I have had worst breakfasts, but I didn't look forward to the breakfast and I was only keen to eat the safe options like the cereals. The breakfast experience was made worse by the smell of paraffin fumes. My worst experience at the hotel was asking the receptionist to make a local 30 second telephone call and he refused. I simply wanted him to phone a taxi firm to confirm my booking for the next day and I didn't speak Hungarian, so I thought a native speaker would make the task easier and he was not busy. In fact, he was just gossiping with a female friend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardT736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

It's a nice hotel, simple, but very suitable, clean, good room,
The breakfast is poor and quickly run out, so go early or you 'll have just coffee and milk; no bread, no fruits left, they don't replace
Internet is free but some times works, sometimes doesn't

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ismargba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and found it was perfect for exploring the city. The reception staff were very helpful and booking in was easy. The overall feel of the rooms is one of light and spaciousness and are full of charming solid furniture and the bathroom is ok too. However, on closer inspection the hotel décor is 'tired' and some cleaning had been overlooked eg grubbiness around light switches, dust in the corners, plastic flowers etc. Also the bed mattresses were uncomfortable and appeared past their best. Service people were not discrete and it was not unusual to find a pair of step ladders abandoned in a corridor. The downside was breakfast... this was fine if you are looking for a 'European' type breakfast, but lacked fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal choice etc. It wasn't good, and the waiting staff not particularly welcoming. The coffee was good though (no English tea!) Overall, this is good value for money, but don't expect too much... a freshen up and a lick of paint would work wonders...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy6258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi Sad, Serbia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. It was pretty cheap considering it's location. High ceiling rooms, nice little clean bathroom with a bathtub, air-conditioning worked funny but managed to lower the temperature in the room. There was a safe and a mini-bar, as well as the TV with international channels. Breakfast was included in price and very versatile. The receptionist was very pleasant and helpful. The only bad thing was the bed. We got one king size bed(as we wanted) but the mattress was horrible. You could feel every metal wire inside it, I woke up few times each night in pain. They should really work on it. And their Wi-Fi was poor, we could barely open google with it. As for the other things, everything was in place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jelena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Our room was very spacious with a hallway bigger than our small bedroom. A bathroom led off with a bath/ shower over, double basins and toilet. The bedroom also led off the hallway. With a double and two single beds, TV, fridge, dressing table, cabinet and still plenty of room to move about. Unfortunately I can't remember the room number but it was a corner room as we also had a double aspect view out the windows. All the rooms however were not as grand; a friend who was staying too had a room for two that looked a little more like a broom cupboard! Well actually I think our hallway was bigger, so it is luck of the draw. Breakfast was good with a vast range of breakfast items, continental and hot. Budapest well worth a visit and this hotel was quite central to reach everything. There are open topped tour buses, trams or we walked everywhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CuriousCat63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#210 of 334 in Budapest
653 reviews
Benczur Hotel
#159 of 334 in Budapest
474 reviews
City Hotel Ring
#124 of 334 in Budapest
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantic Hotel
#246 of 334 in Budapest
213 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#127 of 334 in Budapest
342 reviews
Hotel Thomas
#222 of 334 in Budapest
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Unio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Unio

Property: City Hotel Unio
Address: Dob utca 73., Budapest 1077, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Unio 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Hotel Unio*** superior enjoys a magical location in the centre of Budapest about one minute from the Grteat Boulevard. The hotel has 52 large, comfortable rooms with equipment and furniture exeeding the level of three-star hotels.Thought the rooms' furniture with its classical style recall the past, all the comfort of the modern world can be found here. All the rooms are equipped with privat bath. We offer our special rooms with parquet for allergic guests. In the restaurant of our hotel we offer you a rich buffet table both for lunch and dinner. Try our "all you can eat" possibilities at a reasonable, limited price.Our Dinana rooms and the function rooms are excellent for holdong family-or business meetings, conferences and trainings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Hotel Unio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unio Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing