We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of City Hotel Unio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Hotel Unio
Ranked #210 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Nottingham, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2009

Excellent value for money hotel, room was large, twin bedded with a large sofa.
very clean.
bathroom was also large and with a great shower.
Breakfast was good for continental standards.
Staff were friendly.
Location a little out of the centre but easy to get to in approx 25min.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteLea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    111
    97
    50
    35
See reviews for
57
121
49
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Englan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2008

The Hotel Unio is located close to the centre of Budapest, within easy walking distance of the Metro and rertaurants at the Octagon and shops in the city centre.
English, amongst other european languages is spoken by the reception staff. We received a very cheerful welcome on arrival, and the staff were very helpful.
The room (we only saw the one we stayed in) was a good size, better then many other 3* hotels we have stayed in. It was very comfortable, with a full size bath. All rooms are ensuite. It was clean and comfortable, included a mini bar and safe.
Breakfast is a self service buffet, with hot and cold dishes. The hotel also offers a fixed price buffet lunch/dinner from 12 - 22:00 for 10 Euros.
It looks like the hotel has been refurbished recently, with wood panelling in the public areas.
Overall, and excellent hotel, friendly, helpful, comfotable and close enough to the city centre to walk.

  • Liked — Frendliness
  • Disliked — Limited choice at breakfast
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2008

Hotel is 3 star but excellent location for it. Rooms are large with new bathrooms. Everything is relatively clean, and breakfast was good with few good choices.

  • Liked — location, large rooms, good heating, relatively clean, acceptable breakfasts
  • Disliked — just people on the reception knew english
  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIKI9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2007

Pleasant stay, helpful staff, good location.
Thank you fo all. I com again :)

  • Liked — Staff
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank betakolos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2007

AWFUL, OLD HOTEL. Mistake lilke this one, I must make each, third/fourt time. THE HIGHEST OVERPRICED hotel in Budapest I have ever been. And beleieve me, up to now., I slept in 17 or 18 Buapest hotels.
THIS IS DISASTER. Nothing good to say.

Zdenko
ZAGREB
CROATIA

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank PIPISTREL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
961 reviews
405 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 624 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2007

Over the phone they said 110 Euros and at first the man at the reception asked us " Do you know our price is 110? We said yes. Then he said sorry it is 120 Euros. It is an old hotel with terrible beds. The elevator did not work. The entire place is old and tired. Stay away. Moved to the NH for less and this is a great hotel highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Starviagera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2007

We stayed for three nights at the unio and had an enjoyable stay. We did have a problem with our room when we arrived, but after speaking to the guy on the desk, who was very helpful, we changed rooms. The room we had was very big and we found things were of a reasonable standard for the price that we payed. The food was fine and plenty of it. We will certainly stay there again when in Budapest.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
Thank richyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#163 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
City Hotel Ring
#116 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#120 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#128 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Benczur Hotel
#160 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Terézváros
Six Inn Hotel Budapest
Six Inn Hotel Budapest
#56 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Unio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Unio

Property: City Hotel Unio
Address: Dob utca 73., Budapest 1077, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Unio 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Hotel Unio*** superior enjoys a magical location in the centre of Budapest about one minute from the Grteat Boulevard. The hotel has 52 large, comfortable rooms with equipment and furniture exeeding the level of three-star hotels.Thought the rooms' furniture with its classical style recall the past, all the comfort of the modern world can be found here. All the rooms are equipped with privat bath. We offer our special rooms with parquet for allergic guests. In the restaurant of our hotel we offer you a rich buffet table both for lunch and dinner. Try our "all you can eat" possibilities at a reasonable, limited price.Our Dinana rooms and the function rooms are excellent for holdong family-or business meetings, conferences and trainings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel Unio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unio Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing