We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended by Ray Potter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Casati Budapest Hotel
Ranked #7 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Highly recommended by Ray Potter”
Reviewed 15 October 2011

When our taxi drew up outside we were worried that we had made a poor choice of hotels. The small entrance from a narrow street was in an area that was undergoing renewal and did not look at all inviting. Our opiniont changed when we went inside. The desk attendants were very friendly and couldn't do enough to help. The interior has been tastefully renovated, the room was spacious and spotlessly clean,an excellent breakfast was provided as was free internet in the public area. The location to transport,food outlets and points of interest could hardly be better. The area was quiet and safe to walk around. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rr_potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    831
    221
    19
    6
    4
See reviews for
78
638
77
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poway, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

My family and I were extremely happy with the large suite for a family of three. It exceeded our expections. The suite was spacious, clean and overlooked a interior court yard. There was also an attentive English speaking staff. Breakfast buffet was outstandiing.The location could not be better. Located on a non-descript street but don't let that fool you. The location put us in walking distance of many major attractions of Budapest.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PowayGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We had a great time at Pest Hotel. It's very well located, close to everything, but in a calm place and near a great restaurant (Vak Varju).
Rooms and bathroom are big and confortable, with a great inside garden view.
Delicious breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a view to the inside garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ali.Ale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maynooth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Hotel Pest was a real gem within walking distance of just about everything. On arrival we nearly missed it as the entrance is so discreet, but step inside and the fresh white walls and old stone immediately reassure that this hotel is very well managed and scrupulously clean. We travelled in a group of eight and all the rooms, even the singles, were spacious and comfortable. Bathrooms were well tiled and appointed. The propriators were friendly and helpful and fluent in several languages. Breakfast was excellent. The only slight disappointment was that television reception on the one English speaking channel, BBC World, was very poor.
We took the free walking tour on the first morning and it really helped to get orientated on both the Pest and Buda side. Highlight of our stay was a ballet at the National Opera House which is indeed the most sumptuously beautiful building. A late evening cruise on the Danube, with drinks thrown in, revealed the magical architecture of the buildings, especially the Parliament which seems to have come straight from the pages of a fairytale. Budapest is, quite simply, a lovely city. When we go back, we will most definitely be staying at Hotel Pest.
* A travel tip is to be aware of the rates some taxi drivers charge. At the airport, do not hire a taxi yourself, but go to the kiosk on the concourse and get them to call a taxi from the ranks and agree a rate to your destination. Likewise, ask your hotel or restaurant to order a taxi for you and pre-arrange a rate. At one stage we were so exhausted by walking we did hail a taxi on the street, and an extremely nice man conveyed us swiftly to our hotel for a minimal amount, but there are cowboys out there.

Room Tip: We followed advice in these columns and requested rooms on the 3rd or 4th floor overlooking the cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonMaynooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We were a little wary when we booked because of some not-too-enthusiastic reviews of this hotel. We are so glad we ignored them! Ok, so the rooms (very big) are not decorated with any art or special furniture. But the building itself is very nicely restored, the courtyard is pretty, the room is quiet, the breakfast is tasty and very generous, the staff is friendly, and the location!! Round the corner from the magnificent Opera and Andrassy utca, the metro station, the bustling Liszt Ferenc square, all the main attractions of the city - I really can't think of where would have been a better place to stay. Don't miss the lovely theatre facade just next door. And don't be put off by the shabby look of some of the buildings on the street - it's all part of the city's charm. Truly a great find.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ardief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Do not let the entrance fool you. Behind that large wooden door is a long marble hallway to the front desk. This is a converted mansion with an interior courtyard in the center of Budapest. The room we stayed in was large with huge windows looking out onto the courtyard. Staff was great, spoke very fluent English, and was very helpful in making suggestions for dinner, locating attractions for us on the map - almost a concierge of sorts (no we did not ask them to do our laundry). Breakfast was good and generous with enough selection and with fresh fruit which is not so common. Wifi worked consistently, and all room amenities were fine. There is not a big hotel feel to this, like a bar or large lobby, but there are so many places in Budapest for that; we didn't need to hang out at the hotel to socialize. We're going back and staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apd0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2011

My daughter and I stayed at Hotel Pest for 7 days in August 2011. This hotel is very centrally located, you can walk to may key sites such as the Basilica, the Gerbaud, and the Opera House (which is a block away.) There is also a Metro stop 1 block away, which is really perfect since this city is very nice to see by metro and tram.

The staff is friendly and helpful and there 24 hours a day. They speak english, and provide great service. The rooms are big by european standards, and were great in every way (clean, quiet, etc.) We loved Budapest so much, we cancelled our side trips and extended our stay at Hotel Pest. Give yourself enough time to see this amazing city!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmsgoslugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,636 reviews
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#6 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#5 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,144 reviews
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casati Budapest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casati Budapest Hotel

Property: Casati Budapest Hotel
Address: Paulay Ede utca 31., Budapest 1061, Hungary (Formerly Hotel Pest)
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#9 Business Hotel in Budapest
#32 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casati Budapest Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Casati Budapest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pest Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing