We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Casati Budapest Hotel
Ranked #8 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location and great hotel”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Just returned from a long weekend in Budapest, staying three nights at the Casati. As other reviewers have mentioned the location is very central just off Andrassy Ut not far from the Opera House. The hotel had a modern design in an older building that worked really well, our room was spacious and very clean. The staff were all friendly and very helpful, the breakfast was plentiful and served until late at weekends. All in all we felt the hotel offered excellent value for money and if we return to Budapest would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirGrumpalot63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabor E, General Manager at Casati Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear SirGrumpalot63,
Thank you so much for your heartwarming feedback regarding to your recent stay at Casati. We are happy to read that you had a memorable weekend with us and after a tranquil sleep and abundant breakfast you could easily walk around the city due to our central location. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again at Casati.
Kind regards,
Gabor Erdos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    832
    222
    19
    6
    4
See reviews for
78
639
77
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

This was actually our second choice in Budapest, but we were very happy that we stayed here. The staff was very nice and helpful. The breakfast was quite extensive with very long hours and wonderful coffee. I liked the art work and design of the hotel. We had the natural room and it was very pretty. The hotel is in a great location with lots to do around it and plenty of great restaurants. The only problem I have is that the walls of the bathroom are just glass, so I hope you're comfortable with the person you are staying with and it also means if you need to use the restroom in the middle of the night you either have to go in the dark or light up the whole room. I have seen these types of bathrooms all over Europe and Asia so I guess they're popular, just not with me.
But besides that small detail everything was great. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travel_work_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabor E, General Manager at Casati Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear TrustIssues,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your detailed feedback regarding to your stay at Casati. Special thanks for pointing out the long hours of full buffet breakfast, our favorable location and freshly designed rooms. We also have rooms with normal walls to satisfy the needs of our lovely guests. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at Casati Budapest Hotel.
Kind regards,
Gabor Erdos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The Casati has the perfect location. You can get anywhere around town within a 15-20 minute walk. Beautiful modern design, helpful staff, great breakfast, spacious rooms. However, both the shower and the lavatory have a transparent door which faces the room. Not everyone would feel comfortable (plus, the lavatory door could not even be closed). I still do highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edna_Krabapel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabor E, General Manager at Casati Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Edna_Krabapel,
Thank you for your kind feedback regarding to your recent stay at Casati Budapest Hotel. We are happy to read that you were satisfied with our central location, services, modern rooms and our staff could satisfy your needs. Special thanks for the lovely photos! We also have rooms with normal bathroom walls - please come back and try the other room styles too!
Best regards,
Gabor Erdos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Friendly reception, very helpful and accommodating at all times. Rooms quite large and comfortable. Newly refurbished in contemporary style. Very central to most tourist sites. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabor E, General Manager at Casati Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Edward J,
Thank you for your kind feedback, it's a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with the services of Casati. We hope you had time to try our complimentary sauna and fitness center in the basement. When can we see you again? Please contact us in advance.
Kindest regards,
Gabor Erdos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This is a wonderful conversion of an old building into a very slick modern hotel. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and have great walk in showers. It is very clean with plenty of towels and nice toiletries.
The breakfast has everything one could ask for plus a daily newsletter giving the weather forecast.
The location is excellent just minutes away from the Opera and it's metro and 5 minutes from Deak square where there is transport to virtually anywhere. There are plenty of sights, bars and restaurants within walking distance.
The staff are there 24 hours and are very pleasant and helpful.
I shall certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottie8scotlans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabor E, General Manager at Casati Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Scottie8scotlans,
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback regarding to your recent stay at Casati Budapest Hotel. The 300-year-old building is truly unique with its new design inside! We are happy to read that you had a memorable stay and were 100% satisfied with our services. Thanks again for your kind words, we can't wait to welcome you again at Casati. Please contact us in case of any questions.
Kindest regards,
Gabor Erdos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Brilliant hotel in central location just off posh shopping street, 1 minute from opera house and 1 minute from opera subway station. Service was top class, rooms were beautiful, tastefully decorated, spacious but homely, and very quiet. No noise pollution from neighbouring rooms. Breakfast was standard european fare, so no complaints there. Modern rooms in a history filled old building. We stayed here twice on our holidays 4 nights in standard twin and 1 night our last night before returning home in a junior suite. This was a welcome free upgrade. Thank you for upgrade, room was massive and beautiful. Top marks to the staff who were all friendly and helpful. Cant rate this hotel highly enough, don't hesitate to book this hotel you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeniseE76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabor E, General Manager at Casati Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Doricde,
Thank you so much for your heartwarming review, it was a pleasure to read it. Special thanks for pointing out our location, quiet and spacious rooms, the unique design and the complimentary buffet breakfast. I will forward your kind words to my lovely colleagues too. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again at Casati.
Kind regards,
Gabor Erdos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here for a short break based upon previous reviews, and found them to be spot on.
The hotel is situated on a quiet side road parallel to Andrassy Ut, just round the corner from the Opera House, and handily placed for all the attractions Budapest has to offer.
The room allocated was one of the Cool ones, with a nice butterfly painted on the wall and funky face on the door :)
One thing I would say is that the room tended to be a little dark, even with the pale colours, particularly the "bed side" lamps. These were set away from the bed and didn't really make it easy to read at night. Just an observation.
The staff on reception and in the breakfast room were always courteous and eager to help, we asked for a recommendation of where to eat on arrival and were directed to Vak Varyu just a little further down the street. Yes it was nice, but we actually preferred the meals over the road in BohemTanya - much bigger portions for the same money.
Breakfast in the Casati was good, setting us up well for a day exploring the city, with cereals, cold meats & cheeses etc, as well as sausage, egg and bacon in the hotplates.
We took the BigBus tour of Budapest and there are stops by the Opera and Oktogon, so very handy for the hotel, and I would recommend this as a way to get your bearings.
Would we stay here again? Definitely if we ever went back to Budapest.

Room Tip: Originally we didn't want a Cool room, but number 31 with the butterfly is very good. Overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank essbeeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabor E, General Manager at Casati Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Essbeeuk,
Thank you for taking the time to write us your kind review and share it with other TripAdvisor readers. Special thanks for the professional photos, we really appreciate it. Taking the BigBus Tour or other hop on - hop off tours are indeed the best facilities to visit the major parts of Budapest if you come for a short city break - and the Opera stop is just a minute from Casati. Thank you again for your positive feedback, we are looking forward to welcoming you soon again.
Best wishes,
Gabor Erdos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,643 reviews
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#6 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#5 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,146 reviews
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casati Budapest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casati Budapest Hotel

Property: Casati Budapest Hotel
Address: Paulay Ede utca 31., Budapest 1061, Hungary (Formerly Hotel Pest)
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#9 Business Hotel in Budapest
#32 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casati Budapest Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casati Budapest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pest Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing