We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly centrally located hotel in an interesting building”
Review of Leo Panzio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Leo Panzio Hotel
Ranked #124 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Note: the building works outside have now finished
Look out for the lift to get to the 2nd floor entry. Near to the river (start of boat trips) and the no 2 tram stop which takes you along the Danube. The No 16 bus stop which takes you over the river and up Castle Hill is a 5 minute walk away – ask the friendly English speaking guys on reception for details. The rooms are clean and comfortable.The highlight of the buffet breakfast (included) is toast but there is good muesli, ham, salami and cheese.
If you are an EU citizen over 65, public transport is free – just show your passport if they ask – and entry to museums is half price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CeliaH34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

We are a returning quest and we know almost everything from this location how was before and how looks like now around Leo Panzio. We just left week ago from here after two weeks stay.
Leo is the quality of panzio with they staff, service and many more extras. The city change and did beautifully remodeling all the Vaci steet, Ferenciek Tere and all around this area. Like everything is brand new when we walking on the street. Change atmosphere and we are more like very happy to walking, shopping around because the city is finished the remodeling. Now convenient go to subway to Vaci street and everywhere to go to walking distance from Leo Panzio.
We have many years very good experience with Leo Panzio, that why we are returning quest.
This is a situated in heart in Budapest and walking distance for everything
In value compare another panzio's is less when you pay for your reservation for your room.
They offer a very friendly staff. They speak in fluently English and helping us any way they can.
All room's is immaculate with A/C on summer and heat on winter time.
One side is beautiful street view and Ferenciek Tere, but we can't hear any noise from this busy street. Inside all room is very quiet and you can sleep and relaxing all day.
This is a top of the range 4 star hotel. Great breakfast and nice service lady's helping to keeping clean all room's and bathroom's every single day.
Staff is available 24/7. We can highly recommend to everybody this place and stay for vacation or any another reason.
We owned to the staff lot of thank you for they excellent service and we coming back on summer time this year. WE MISS YOU ALL.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KO-SZIVU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The location is terrific as you can walk to pretty much everywhere you might want to go. At present, the location is also a little problematic as the Leo is in the middle of the ongoing urbanization project in Budapest's center and the surrounding streets are a mess. Getting in might be challenging for some, but we figured out the buzzer easily and the ancient elevator was both fun and convenient. Our room was super comfortable, very quiet, looking onto the interior courtyard of the building. The bathroom was excellent with the best shower (water pressure, controls, roominess) I have had recently in a hotel anywhere. After a day of walking around, the room and bath were heaven. But for some reason, the soap provided is tiny and does not get replaced unless you ask -- which we did. The breakfasts are continental and good; there is a very nice woman who makes fresh toast. Keep in mind that this is not a full-service hotel, but a typical European pension -- like an American bed-and-breakfast, so if you want concierge services this is not for you. I find this sort of lodging charming and good value, but my husband was annoyed by the lack of helpful information when he asked various questions and by being asked to pay in advance. This last item was in my emailed confirmation, but I had neglected to tell him.

Room Tip: I have the feeling that all rooms are good. We had #7 which we loved. Ask for a room overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExNewYorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Clean hotel and great price.
The location is very convenient because it is near to the center of "Pest".
One defect bathrooms without windows and hotel too close to the road(too much noise).
advice for a low cost week-end.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefano G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We found the reception and other staff very helpful .the hotel was having roadworks outside as most places in Budapest are, but this was still a quiet hotel so slept well. Ask for front rooms as these rooms have windows facing the interesting street. The back rooms are dark, facing inner courtyard.

Room Tip: One overlooking street,lots to look at. But still quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris201118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

After having a very bad experience with a hotel which ended up not existing, me and my friends booked into the Leo and basically walked off the street several minutes later into somewhere we were not expecting to be very nice at all. What we were greeted with were very nice, excellent English speaking staff and comfortable rooms.

From the outside it doesn't look like much due to some construction work going on (cannot be heard in the rooms) but the inside is completely different. It is set in a very old beautiful building with high ceilings and great features such as the very old lift.

The room air conditioning wasn't working well but we were offered any other room we wanted. In the end we chose the original room because it was the largest and although it was 39 degrees outside, we didn't get hot! They were really just concerned it wasn't as good as the other rooms I think.

The location is great, right near to where all the action goes on such as Deak Square. If i go to Budapest again, I'll be staying here again. We can't comment on the food as we were never up in time but it was included in the price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seany000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Léo Panzio is so great! Located a few meters from Vaci Utca, the most charming place in town, has a subway station right in front of it. The rooms are nice and very clean. The breakfast is also very good. The staff is also very nice and extremelly helpfull.
If you are goig to Budapest, you should stay in this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#75 of 334 in Budapest
878 reviews
District V / Inner City
Cosmo City Hotel
Cosmo City Hotel
#49 of 334 in Budapest
796 reviews
District V / Inner City
City Hotel Pilvax
City Hotel Pilvax
#132 of 334 in Budapest
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#51 of 334 in Budapest
1,506 reviews
District V / Inner City
Starlight Suiten Hotel
Starlight Suiten Hotel
#34 of 334 in Budapest
1,202 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leo Panzio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leo Panzio Hotel

Address: Kossuth Lajos utca 2/A, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: £55 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Leo Panzio Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LEO Boutique Hotel enjoys a fantastic location in downtown Budapest in the heart of the business and shopping area. The Hotel is equally suitable for businessmen and tourists looking for central location and elegant furnished rooms. The hotel is close to Vaci utca, the main luxury shopping street, where upscale stores, romantic restaurants, and many old historical buildings can be found. The CORSO (promenade) on the bank of the Danube is a two minute walk. The ships and buses also leave from there. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Leo Panzio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leo Panzio Budapest
Leo Panzio Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing