We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, clean, good value for money”
Review of Hotel Swing City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Swing City
Ranked #274 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Myself and 9 other mates stayed here for my stag weekend in Budapest. We were expected something far inferior, and so were very pleasantly surprised. The staff were courteous, rooms and bathrooms clean, and the location really couldn't be better - you are pretty much walking distance or a few tram stops from all the sights. From what other people were writing about the Vaci Utca, I was really expecting a seedy area - it is not AT ALL. I have stayed in FAR dodgier areas in the heart of Zurich - the area is completely normal, middle of a standard city vibe. If you are on a budget, this is a winner hotel.

Room Tip: Room 44 is good for two non-couple travelers (their are twin beds pushed together but you can separa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mhartnady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2013

Did like the hotel, the area however is awful probably great if youre on a stag do. The rooms were clean and spacious with everything you would expect. The location is about 20 mins walk from vaci utca if i was to go to budaest again i would stay closer to vaci utca as this was more the type of budapest we had come to see. That said there are plenty tram stops outside. The staff at the hotel never speak which is a little off putting. I can not comment on breakfast as we overslept all 4 mornings.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morgandillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

very good place if you are looking for a cheap central location. Rooms are very comfortable but they need to improve the cleaning. Breakfast is very poor, although it is reasonable, considering the price. Staff is not nice at all, we could not get an extra blanket and they are not very helpful.
If you have low expectations apart from central location, and also are on a strict budget, this is the place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matteo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in October with 4 friends & was very satisfied with this hotel for the money we paid. Reception staff were extremely helpful telling us which tram to get (tram stop right outside hotel) how many stops it was to the train station town centre etc & were very efficient when checking us in at 4 in the morning after the journey from hell! Rooms were clean with clean towels provided each day & bed was very comfy. All in all a good experience & would return there without a doubt

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This is a budget hotel, so dont expect luxury. Rooms were spacious, clean, basic, but some were being upgraded while we were there. Breakfast was adequate, bread, cooked meat, cheese etc. Very well located, for the city attractions, but quite a few sex shops in this area. Having said that, felt very safe, reception is manned 24hours. No facilities, although advertised spa etc, didnt see any of that. There was free wifi in some public areas. Reasonably priced for what you get.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel away from the road are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlloaStobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Pictures are not really representative, we found a clean room but for the first 2 days it smelled of cooked food, and a totally cheap breakfast, poor and low quality food. But positive the position in front of the tram and near the centre by foot and the quietness of the room. Fitness center and the pool in the pictures are not included. If you are looking for a place cheap, clean and close to centre it's right....

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I booked this Hotel for a one night stay while visiting my Dentist for Root Canal Treatment, thus I wanted a quite hotel where I could relax after treatment. That's exactly what I got.

The registration was quick as I had pre-booked. My room, although dated, was clean and with an outside temperature of 39C the room was quite warm, until I switched on the Air Conditioning (a bonus in my view). Whilst the Hotel is on one of the main streets of Budapest the room was relatively quiet, with the occasional rumble of the trams passing by.

Breakfast was simple and plentiful and checking out was also quick and simple.

Looking at some of the reviews on here I was mildly surprised at how lucky I was and considering that this room with A/C and breakfast was £20 for the night - bargain.

If you expect a Hotel to offer the facilities of the Ritz or the Savoy then that's where you should book, but don't expect to pay £20. I am a firm believer of "You get what you pay for" and in this case I think that I actually got extremely good value for my money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philamey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
0.1 mi away
Boulevard City Guesthouse Budapest
0.1 mi away
Hotel Thomas
Hotel Thomas
#226 of 334 in Budapest
62 reviews
3.4 mi away
Botel Hotel Lisa
Botel Hotel Lisa
#246 of 334 in Budapest
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Gloria
Hotel Gloria
#242 of 334 in Budapest
227 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rila Hotel
Rila Hotel
#248 of 334 in Budapest
91 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Lucky
Hotel Lucky
#259 of 334 in Budapest
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Swing City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Swing City

Address: Ferenc koerut 19-21, Budapest 1094, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #274 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: £18 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Swing City 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our three-star hotel, which is situated within the heart of Budapest, on the main boulevard, offers our guests a pleasant stay with its friendly atmosphere of intimacy. We ensure closed parking place to those guests who arrive by car. All of our hotelrooms are air-conditioned and equipped with shower, lavatory, television, telephone, mini bar, and safe box . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Swing City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swing City Pension Hotel Budapest
Swing City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing