We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reception Staff Very friendly”
Review of Atlas City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atlas City Hotel
Ranked #245 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Reception Staff Very friendly”
Reviewed 13 September 2008

Reception Staff very friendly.
Room and bathroom very poor on cleanliness!!
Be warned... do not use the 'safe' in the room as it can be removed (with all your personal items in it!!!)!
It is not that near to the main centre you need to walk about 10 minutes to get to the Metro to get a train into the main drag.
Area a bit iffy...

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    98
    154
    102
    98
See reviews for
78
137
25
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2008

I currently stayed at the Atlas Hotel in Budapest, Hungary. I was travelling around Eastern Europe with a tour group and this was one of the hotels we stayed in for 2 nights. It was a lovely hotel to stay in with very nice employees. They were really helpful in changing our money, giving us directions and helping us get a taxi to our airport at the end of our trip. The rooms were delightful and very pleasant and clean and a very good size, with 3 beds in some rooms although there was only two of us staying in the room, plent of space for us to move around. The 24 hour bar also went down a treat as with us being on a tour group of just over 20 people, everyone was up for a good time! The hotel was a bus ride away from the main heart of Budapest were there was many of beautiful sights to see. I would recommend this hotel to others travelling to Budapest and would definately stay there again if i was ever to return to the country.
Sarah, 20, Liverpool, U.K.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank xsarahx07x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, Lancashire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2008

Got to the Hotel at 5pm and checked in very quickly. The hotel was already buzzing with a stag night and catered for stag parties. The room was very spacious and clean, clean bathroom, a mini bar and a safe. We couldn't get our safe working but the hotel said we could use the main safe for free. Breakfast was served 7am until 10am and as we were not early risers it was great to go down for breakfast at 9.30 am. It was just a plain continental breakfast but at least it was something. There was McDonalds at the end of the street anyway.

The bar was great as it was open when we rolled in at 4am and they let us stay drinking there until 6am one morning and then we had to go to bed so they could clean up ready for breakfast!!!

The location isn't that central but there was a metro stop outside the hotel which took you to the bottom of the street then you could jump straight on the Metro. The street did look a bit derelict at night but we were quite safe and walked round most of the town until the early hours.

I'd defnitely recommend this hotel for the younger traveller and it is nothing like a Hostel at all.

  • Liked — The spacious bedrooms and the opening times of the bar
  • Disliked — It was a bit of a walk from the centre
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alethea48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2008

We found the hotel staff reserved, but helpful. They helped us book tours, etc.
We thought the hotel was more like a hostel than a 3 star hotel. There was no hair dryer and no outlet near a mirror for drying our hair. We also thought the bed coverings may not have been clean. The sheets were fine, but the comforter and spread smelled unclean. Also, their idea of making up the room was pulling the spread up over the rumpled comforter.
The big problem, however, was the location. The hotel's web site makes the hotel and the area it's in look way better than it is. To say the hotel is in the City Centre is very misleading. The district where the Atlas Hotel is located is very rundown and the street did not seem safe. In fact our guidebook recommended against staying in that district at all. We were very happy to be leaving.
I would not recommend this hotel to others.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EmKayHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2008

Stayed there for 4 nights and it wasn't too bad, nothing really to be unhappy about for us but for the older traveller maybe a bit boisterous as there seemed to be a lot of big groups of people when we were there, maybe for stag/hen breaks or birthday getaways. In saying that maybe most hotels are like that in Budapest I dont know. Again for the older person maybe it wasn't he best location for public transport, the nearest subway and tram stops were about a 10min walk away (Blaha Lujza tér) and also around the same area is where the main Railway Station (Keleti) is. Again for the less mobile it is quite far from the river and other tourist attractions but Budapest is a big city I suppose and the public transport is pretty good, we got the Budapest card which was great value, a 2 day card costs about 25 euros and a 3 day one 31 euros and gets you travel on all public transport and discounts throughout the city. There are also a few good restaurants, bars and also a McDonald's within walking distance of the hotel (10min). For the more lively I would recommend "Old Mans" pub/disco bar near this area too.

There was a bar in the hotel open for a while until past midnight at least I think and always someone at reception and security present.

The rooms were basic but clean enough and all you need for a city break, can't really complain about them.

A nice enough hotel for the price

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed March 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank weepedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2008

I stayed at the hotel for 9 days with my husband. It was clean enough. Breakfast offered very limited choices but the food itself was ok. Transportation means are close by. Major sights are not very far but are not close by either. The street on which the hotel is was not very friendly especially at night but there were not any special incidents. The major drawback was that we had our digital camera stolen from our room, from inside a backpack while we were having breakfast and the hotel staff couldn't have cared less! If I would go again to budapest, I would search for a hotel on the Buda side of the river where most of the sights are.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and not very far from major sights
  • Disliked — The theft incident at the hotel and an unfriendly neighbourhood
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank noha_hamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2008

Booked this hotel at the tourist information office at Budapest East Train Station and was assured it was 3* and "central". First lesson, do not book hotels at Budapest East Train Station!

A terrible hotel, standards of service and hygiene were woeful. Out of around 20 employees at the establishment who I had spoken to during a three day stay maybe three of them actually smiled or were in any way pleasant and helpful (one guy behind reception and two young girls working behind the bar)

Breakfast was simply atrocious, there was a hideous smell of raw sewage in our bathroom (which was without a light for the entire stay) and despite complaints, nothing at all was done either to try and solve the problem or to move us to a seperate room.

We were four lads travelling around Europe so we didnot expect the Savoy but no way did we expect this place.

I would urge you not to consider staying in this place for one second, sleeping on the streets in -17 temperatures would be preferable.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rhyd78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#130 of 333 in Budapest
328 reviews
Atlantic Hotel
#246 of 333 in Budapest
202 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#191 of 333 in Budapest
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baross City Hotel
Baross City Hotel
#137 of 333 in Budapest
513 reviews
Benczur Hotel
#160 of 333 in Budapest
459 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
City Hotel Unio
City Hotel Unio
#209 of 333 in Budapest
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlas City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas City Hotel

Property: Atlas City Hotel
Address: Nepszinhaz utca 39 - 41, Budapest 1081, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlas City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The three-star Atlas City Hotel is located in Budapest city centre, adjacent to the Grand Boulevard, only 600m away from Blaha Lujza M2 red metro station and a 15-minute walk from Keleti Pályaudvar, international railway station, near pubs, restaurants and popular public areas. Atlas City Hotel’s spacious, well-equipped rooms, all with adjustable air-conditioning and en-suite bathrooms, are ideal for individual travellers, groups and business travellers alike. There are non-smoking rooms. The hotel has enclosed secure parking facilities for guests arriving by car. The popularity of the Atlas City Hotel is due to the highest level of service, homely atmosphere, central location in Budapest, as well as our competitive prices. The staff’s goal is to satisfy our guests’ needs and we sincerely hope to win your approval, and welcome you at the Atlas City Hotel Budapest in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Atlas City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing