We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly, dirty hotel”
Review of Atlas City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atlas City Hotel
Ranked #244 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We didn't plan on staying here. We booked another hotel but they screwed up our reservation and they guided us to this one.

The room is fairly big and we could find parking just outside the hotel. That's where the good part ends.

The room was rather big but the bed sheets had holes in them. The bathroom had a terrible sewer smell in the morning and we could barely brush our teeth there. The corridor on the 5th floor was dirty and the walls looked like they we're long overdue for a fresh paint job. The breakfast was terrible. We left as soon as we woke up.

Highly unrecommended stay

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tzitzian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlas_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at Atlas City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Tzitzian,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your comments about your stay in the Atlas City Hotel.
Please be assured you that your comments have been considered and remedial actions will be taken in order to ensure guest satisfaction in the future.
I would like to express my personal apologies for the inconveniences caused.

Sincerely,
Zsolt Murvai
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

Originally this wasn't our choice, in the street there two hotels, which has very similar names...
We tried to find out which is wich on the internet but the pictures and reviews were very missed.

Then we decided to check-in in this hotel.

the rooms was fine, there were some odd in the room, but after starting the A/C the room get better.

the sleep quality is not bad, and the brekfast is fine as well.

for a few hours sleep in the hart of Budapest, this hotel is good.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank hishmoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlas_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at Atlas City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Hishmoh,

Thank you for choosing Atlas City Hotel and sharing your experience about your stay.
We are more than happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the not too far future.

Sincerely,
Zsolt Murvai
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Don't stop here if you want to feel safe! Or clean! We left this hotel early it was so bad.


Me and my partner were interrailing around Europe and in need of a cheapish place to stay for 2 nights in Budapest. We chose the hotel for it's 'good location' near both city and train station.

The walk to the hotel was very uneasy. We did not feel safe and suspected we were in a bad area. When getting to the hotel the staff were friendly but when entering our room we were hit with an awful stench of stale smoke ( we had a non smoking room). The room was not clean. The shower looked dirty and the carpets were filthy. Dust was cluttered around the furniture.


We requested a room change and this request was met although with no apology from staff or help to move luggage.

Our next room was better. Still as unclean bit without the unbearable stench. We stayed in the hotel that night, unsettled by the area unwilling to venture elsewhere.


The next day breakfast was awful. All of the plates/cutlery/glasses were wet and some still dirty. Clearly no one had dried them after coming from a dishwasher. The food was all soggy and cereal appeared to have been sat out for days. on our walk back to the hotel after a day out we again felt uneasy in the area. We were intimidated on several occasions by people asking for money and walked by a group of men comparing knives. The area is not nice. This was the last straw for us.

We decided to cut our loses and move to a hotel elsewhere.

I think you do get what you pay for but no way is the cheap price worth this experience. I am a frequent traveler and I have never felt so unsafe as I did near this hotel.


Stayed: August 2014
4  Thank Lmiddleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlas_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at Atlas City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay in Atlas City Hotel.
I am very sorry that you decided to leave earlier as planned, because you were very unsatisfied with your stay here. It would have been nice if you shared your dissapointment with me personally before leaving. I assure you that we would have done all that is in our power in order to remediate the situation.
Unfortunately the area is something we cannot deal with. Despite filing several complaints to the local council, little has been done. We realized this is something we have to live with.

However I appreciate that you detailed you observations about the lack of cleanliness in the room and the breakfast. I will discuss these issues with the division managers, to find a solution to the problems.

I am really sorry that this experience left a bad taste in your mouth.
Should you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Sincerely,
Zsolt Murvai
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Booked last minute through Thomson, on srrival found the area a little out of the way as we had asked to be more central. Reception staff were friendly room was big and clean although very basic. Two things which could improve the rooms would be tea/coffee facilities as no kettle for a hot drink at all, and nothing available in the hotel at night. Updated television with sky channels would be nice not much choice for english viewing. We had a front room which was quite noisy due to trams etc . When walking out of hotel area a little dark, taxi advisable if elderly. Overall it was good value for money for a short stay in the lovely Budapest.

Room Tip: Back rooms quieter not on front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlas_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at Atlas City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Julie B,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about your stay in the Atlas City Hotel.
I was glad to read that you overall stay was pleasant in our hotel.
Your ideas and suggestions are very important to us as we constantly strive to improve our services.
Please consider Atlas City Hotel if you decide to visit the lovely Budapest again in the future.

Sincerely,
Zsolt Murvai
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Picture an ageing woman dressed with rather too much lipstick and inappropriate clothes designed to try and recapture her youth. That kind of sums up the Atlas City hotel for me. The hotel has clearly seen better days and looks very tired and worn - but the cheerful and welcoming staff do their very best to make it look appealing and youthful. Sadly, It is neither classically historic nor modern and swish.
Plus points are it's proximity to the city centre and welcoming reception staff. Free wifi (not always very strong) is also a bonus. The downsides are that the location is in a rather poor district and you run the gauntlet of beer can swillers and trash bin hunters. The trams run right outside the hotel - so if you have a room facing the street it is very noisy, and the trams start very early in the morning. The hotel was packed with groups of young people during our stay, the breakfast queue this morning was terrible.
The rooms are spacious and come equipped with TV, mini bar (reasonable prices) and a nice, very clean bathroom. We also had a couple of armchairs and a table. Great for relaxing. The TV had a good range of language channels.
The bathroom was modern - but the shower had no bracket to hold the shower head above head height so I had to kneel in the shower to wash my hair. Not particularly pleasant!
The corridors by the rooms are really dark - the lighting switches on eventually by sensor but it creates a very dingy atmosphere.
The breakfast was OK, nothing to write home about.
The price is very good value, so if you are not looking for modern, bright or quiet then this might be a good place to stay. If you want relaxing, quiet and comfortable then pay a bit more and look somewhere else.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Ced H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlas_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at Atlas City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear CedPompey,

Thank your for taking your precious time and sharing your experience you aquired during your stay in the Atlas City Hotel.
I personally liked the comparison you wrote at the beginning, which I must say was funny but quite appropriate. You have highlighted a few defects, that we will look forward to remediating in the near future. On the other hand it was a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with spaciousness and the amenities of the rooms.
All in all I would like to express my appreciation for giving such a detailed and to the point depiction of the hotel. Our guests feedback is the key to improve the quality of our services.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the Atlas City Hotel.

Sincerely,
Zsolt Murvai
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

It was quite a surprise. I was afraid about the neighborhood but it turn out to be way lighter than I expected. The problem for me was the WiFi which was only available at the lobby and there wasn't restaurant inside the hotel to serve dinner but the room was nice and tidy and the hotel personnel was quite helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ricardo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlas_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at Atlas City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Ricardo T,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay in the Atlas City Hotel.
It was a pleasure to read that you were positively surprised with all our hotel had to offer.,
We constantly strive to provide an excellent service in order to achieve a high customer satisfaction.

I truly hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the Atlas City Hotel.

Sincerely,
Zsolt Murvai
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

This is a good, clean hotel conveniently situated in Pest. Within easy walking distance to most key shops and close to public transport for other travel requirements.
The food is good and in traditional style. The rooms are well serviced and have retro decor. (Mine randomly had a double bath situated in the bedroom.)
The bar is part of the reception lounge area. If you like a rich, semi sweet red wine, they have a great one.
Please beware that the hotel requires a deposit on arrival (no matter whether you have already paid or not). For our touring party this stretched our reserve resources to the limit. On departure the hotel were casual and unspecific about when the money would be reimbursed. It had still not reappeared in our account 4 days later.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlas_Hotel_Manager, Front Office Manager at Atlas City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Andrew B,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor about your recent stay in the Atlas City Hotel.
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you found it clean and easily accessible by public transportation.
As regards to the deposit, it is our hotels policy to ask for a certain amount of deposit from groups, which can be paid by cash or with credit card. After the check out has been done we immediately proceed with returning the deposit by sending a request to the bank. From that moment on it is the bank's responsibility to handle the matter as accurately as possible.

I hope that in spite of this small inconvenience we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the Atlas City Hotel.

Sincerely,
Zsolt Murvai
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Atlantic Hotel
#251 of 334 in Budapest
227 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#124 of 334 in Budapest
366 reviews
Benczur Hotel
#162 of 334 in Budapest
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baross City Hotel
Baross City Hotel
#126 of 334 in Budapest
573 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#221 of 334 in Budapest
676 reviews
Hotel Chesscom
#99 of 334 in Budapest
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlas City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas City Hotel

Address: Nepszinhaz utca 39 - 41, Budapest 1081, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #244 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: £27 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlas City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The three-star Atlas City Hotel is located in Budapest city centre, adjacent to the Grand Boulevard, only 600m away from Blaha Lujza M2 red metro station and a 15-minute walk from Keleti Pályaudvar, international railway station, near pubs, restaurants and popular public areas. Atlas City Hotel’s spacious, well-equipped rooms, all with adjustable air-conditioning and en-suite bathrooms, are ideal for individual travellers, groups and business travellers alike. There are non-smoking rooms. The hotel has enclosed secure parking facilities for guests arriving by car. The popularity of the Atlas City Hotel is due to the highest level of service, homely atmosphere, central location in Budapest, as well as our competitive prices. The staff’s goal is to satisfy our guests’ needs and we sincerely hope to win your approval, and welcome you at the Atlas City Hotel Budapest in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlas City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing