We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”
Review of Hotel Luna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Luna
Ranked #241 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 26 February 2011

We spent only a weekend there. The staff was helpful but we had a dirty room, and they almost ran out of food when we tried to have our breakfast at 9.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CsabaS78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2010

I just needed a place to crash for a night on my way to Ukraine and this hotel fit the purpose quite well. For 30 EUR a night it was a decent deal. Guarded parking and adequate breakfast is also a plus. Room facing garden with not too much noise from the street.
My only major objection was that we were assigned a smelly smoking room despite specifically requesting a non-smoking one. The night receptionist had no clue which rooms are smoking and which ones non-smoking so after couple of attempts to change room (always given a smoking one) we gave up on trying.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LKHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We were in Budapest for the F1 race and stayed in Luna, which is a typical three star hotel. Half of the staff were very friendly and helpful, the other half were not. Anyway, the room was okay, had TV, air conditioning, bathroom was also nice. the only disadvantage was that there was no fridge and mini bar in. you could get decent free wireless, which was also cool, the room was cleaned every day and the towels changed, no complains about that. The breakfast was sufficient, but not too great. There is a free parking, which is always nice, the neighbourhood is okay. Good stay on overall, good enough to come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

+ good curtains keeps sunlight and street lamps' light away of the room,
+ daily towel exchange,
+ good wifi range in room,
+ radio in room (in TV),
- noise in the room with window overlooking the street,
- it was stuffy in the restaurant during the breakfast,
- only hungarian and german TV channels,
- a little bit dirty shower curtain,

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlukow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

I have stayed in this hotel every summer for the past 3 years. It is a nice room, with spacious bathrooms and bed areas, especially compared to other price-comparable hotels in Europe.

There is a market just three blocks away, a Profi, near the bus/train station that has good prices and you can get snacks/drinks as needed.

Not in the center of the city, but on a direct line that will take you right to the major market and "the walking street" in town. I will definetly be staying here again!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akhdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2007

Hotel Luna is a very good deal, the rooms are large and safe, confortable and the staff is kind. The forniture is new and nice.
The first time we got int to the room, it was very clean but they don´t clean every day while you stay there. That´s not rare in this part of the world for a 3 star hotel.

The breakfast is normal, not gourmet but good if you are going to walk a lot. It gives you energy. It has jam, cheese, mermelade, bread, coffee, fruit and yogurth.

A liittle bit far from down town but very easy way to get there. There is a tram 3 blocks away from the hotel or there is a bus numer 7 but you have to walk 5 or 6 blocks from the stop in the way to the tram rail. You need to check out first the direction with someone in the city or by phone to the hotel, because the direction in the website is not clear, even so the people are very friendly and almost everybody can help you but we recomend you to print out a map, because is very difficult to pronounce, and the tourist map doesn´t have this district. But once you get there is very easy to take almost any transportation to get in to the down town and come back. It takes arround 20 minutes to get there.

If we´re going back to budapest, we will stay there.

Theres is a market very near. You can get things for a good price.

Stayed: April 2007
1  Thank BEARIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2007

We're just back from Budapest. The city was nice but no one speaks english at all. People are not very friendly... But the city is very beautiful.

The hotel itself was Ok. Their internet only works in some rooms (2 rooms). The hotel is far from the center of Budapest. Plus there is a construction going on so it's very difficult to get to the center. You need to change twice by bus before being able to be connected to the Metro or Tram.

The breakfast was all right. Fruits are not very fresh.

What we didn't like was in the end thier visa machine was not working and one guy asked us to pay only in cash. He escorted one of us to the cash machine to take cash. A bit pushing. It was very unpleasant...

Would prefer not to stay in Luna hotel Budapest again.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ParisFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelluna, Sales manager at Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2007

Of course we accept credit cards in Hotel Luna. Hundreds of our guest pay with credit card every year (also with Visa), without any problem.

The payment is not possible only if there is a problem with the card. In this case, the chip on the card was damaged. And if there is a chip on the card, the terminal doesn't allow to use the magnetic part. Unfortunately the guest didn't have an other working card, therefore we helped the guest to withdraw money from an ATM. (We remember this case because this was the only card problem in this year)

We acknowledge that the WiFi-internet (which we give as a free service) wasn't accessible in all of our rooms. We recently developed our system so now the whole hotel is covered.

At the time of the review there was a transport reconstruction in the area. This was a really unpleasant situation, but of course we recommended alternative transport possiblilites (e.g. bus to the city center without any change) to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Zugló
No photo provided
Richter Hotel Pansio
#212 of 336 in Budapest
10 reviews
Hotel Pension Helios
#120 of 336 in Budapest
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canada Hotel
#189 of 336 in Budapest
101 reviews
Fraser Residence Budapest
#18 of 336 in Budapest
1,219 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 336 in Budapest
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna

Address: Vegyesz utca 17, Budapest 1116, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: £28 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luna 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing