We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good price, good pool, close to the center, not much else”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Csaszar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Csaszar Hotel
Ranked #166 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
NYC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good price, good pool, close to the center, not much else”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the value: for a price of a main course in a decent Manhattan restaurant you get the full-size outside pool and a location in Buda part which is 5 min by car (or 30 min walk) from the Chain Bridge. So I guess it's a really good deal in summer time when one can swim. Just make sure you understand the street parking rules.
The rooms are furnished rather nicely and they are clean, but extremely small and the space is really limited. It's best to spend the time in the city and just come there to sleep. The staff was very nice and helpful. They also provided the breakfast but we overslept it : (
To stay in Buda makes sense because all the major sight-seeing is around Danube. You will not need to go into Pest more than 1 mile from the river unless visiting particular museums. And the night views from both banks of Danube are second to none (with the exception of maybe Paris and St. Petersburg).

Room Tip: The view to the street is gloomy, the backyard view to the pool is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    83
    51
    19
    13
See reviews for
23
84
30
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We went to Budapest on a whim! We asked some locals where there was an hotel to stay and they pointed us in the directionof the Csaszar. The Receptionists were very helpful and even allowed me to use their computer for a few minutes! The rooms are very basic, but very clean. The bathroom was tiny, but practicable. We only brought in the clothes we needed for the days we were staying there as there was not much room for two cases and two bags! Breakfast was served overlooking the large swimming pools and was sufficient. We were able to go for a swim in the pools next door as it was over 37 C. Parking was on the road near the hotel. Bus stops not far from hotel and we were able to catch the sightseeng one nearby.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skiiers_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

I had a small single room on the ground floor. The room had the basics, so don't expect anything else. The reception staff were polite and very helpful. There is a big swimming pool which i didn't use as I was out all day. The breakfast was just ok, with the exception of the horrible coffee. The location was a bit far from the centre. However, as the weather was quite nice it's a nice walk over the Elizabeth bridge. Overall is a nice cheap hotel.

Room Tip: Room facing the swimming pool are quieter during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atleti73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

The reasons i chose the specific hotel, were the overnight price, the small distance from city center and the safe neighbourhood that is was built. It is a very nice hotel, with comforts and good benefits, but its true "force" is its personnel. All of the employees i contacted, without any exceptions, were mostly serving and willing to help the customer. Special thanks should go to the 2 reception ladies, Eszter and Zsuzla, whose customer service was perfect; not only by providing useful information about the city, but also contributed to my communication with a Hungarian agency regarding a personal matter.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airtickets4alleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasbourg
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

You can't come to Budapest and not swim every day ...! Which is way we wanted to stay in this charming old convent a second time around in August last year ... we had requested the same room - compact but cool and serviceable, in the annexe overlooking the pool (sheltered by trees) ... so that we could awake in the mornings to the lulling sound of the pool waters lapping (the opening hours from 6am !!) ... the Hungarians take their swimming & facilities very seriously, so this is civilised swimming, no rowdy crowds or shouting, and the fact that you can use any of the three Olympic pools free-of-charge [plus 1 x access to St Lukas Thermal Baths) makes this a real oasis in the big busy city. Yet at the same time, you're not far from Margaret Bridge & Island, and can jump on a tram to visit this architectural gem of a capital ! We'll be back ...

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJ_FS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
171 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

This is a great value hotel - good for the pocketbook, reasonably comfortable, and located only a short walk from the Magrit Bridge and public transportation. I was there with a small group and we all met in the breakfast area each morning - breakfast wasn't fancy but was adequate for starting the day. Staff were always courteous and often very helpful. The free wifi access was very handy, though not always easy from the room - better in the common area.
The use of the pool was a real treat!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polaraubie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brechin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

People who stay here may find it noisy if their room faces the street, because the traffic is constant. Better to ask for a room facing the swimming pool, which although noisy for much of the day is totally quiet from 21:00 to 06:00 hours. All rooms are small (the place was once a convent and you are sleeping in what was once a nun's cell) but are more than adequately furnished and are very clean. Breakfast is a buffet of cereals, rolls, cold cuts, yoghurt, coffee and tea served in a small corridor alcove. It can be pretty crowded, so try to get there early. Value for money? Yes, definitely, if you take advantage of off-season lower prices and you make use of the excellent swimming pool whose admission is included in the price.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dereglye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#118 of 342 in Budapest
648 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#128 of 342 in Budapest
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Elit
#145 of 342 in Budapest
107 reviews
Jagello Business Hotel
#138 of 342 in Budapest
81 reviews
Hotel Papillon
#123 of 342 in Budapest
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Csaszar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Csaszar Hotel

Property: Csaszar Hotel
Address: Frankel Leo ut 35, Budapest 1023, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Csaszar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Csaszar is located in the heart of Budapest near the river Danube, just 500 meters from Margit Bridge. It can be reached easily with public transport day and night. The Hotel is in the same building with the Komjadi-Csaszar Public swimming pool, our guests can enjoy the 50 meter pool. Hotel Csaszar has rooms with 2 and 4 beds, and one apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Csaszar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Csaszar Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing