We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible story in the Csaszar Hotel”
Review of Csaszar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Csaszar Hotel
Ranked #190 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“horrible story in the Csaszar Hotel”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

It was a horrible experience. We were there with our 2 little children. We order a family apartment section as they offered it in booking.com. We got a big old furnished room. There weren't anything for family. In the sleeping room wasn't air conditioned but the other rooms were. From all of night until to early morning next to the sleeping room a pump house has been working with full steam by enormous volume. The kitchen was under-equipped and crowded with useless glasses. The breakfast was very poor, and unhealthy. The breakfast area was very hot, airless and full of wasp. After one night, we were forced to leave. The management wasn`t really customer facing when handling our complaint, thus we have left with a sour taste in our mouth and the trouble to find a new place.

Room Tip: Do not chose family apartment at any rate if sleeping is your plan for the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zsoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zsolt U, Guest Relations Manager at Csaszar Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback regarding your stay at Csaszar Hotel. I am sorry that you left Budapest and the Csaszar Hotel not feeling like you had an accommodating stay. I understand your accommodation and the amenities we provided did not meet your expectation. I'm sorry that the solutions we offered on the spot were not satisfactory. We have looked into this and am happy to say that the issues have been rectified.

The candid comments you shared are really valuable as we can strengthen our service through guest feedback.

Our goal is to ensure that each and every guest leaves with a feeling of satisfaction from their visit, nevertheless we admit there is always room to improve.

I hope that you will grant us another opportunity to rectify your impression of Hotel Csaszar.
Feel free to reach me directly at your convenience if you wish to discuss these issues further at: ulmerzsolt@csaszarhotel.hu

Sincerely,

Zsolt Ulmer
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    83
    51
    19
    14
See reviews for
23
84
31
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Once again the Csaszar is providing a roof over my head during my stay in Budapest, and some may wonder why. It is not the biggest, it is on the wrong side of the river (for some), and it certainly not the most modern.
But it's a bit like an old Mini vs a Ferrari. They both do exactly the same job, but one is much simpler.
for example, the bath towels. At home I have some very thick Egyptian cotton ones, which do a very good job of getting me dry. The Csaszar's towels are half as thick and work just as well.....and they take up much less space in the airing cupboard.
And then there's the shower. Not a multi jet rain head massage affair, but a tap coming from the wall with a single temperature lever and a hose leading to a non height adjustable hand shower. Very simple and it works perfectly with instant temperature adjustment from the smallest movement of the lever. And when it doesn't work it can be fixed by a man with a Swiss army knife rather than a technician flown in from Switzerland !
Yes it is small, but small is good. No long treks from one part of the hotel to another, and the staff can offer a more personal service. And speaking of the staff, how many hotels have you stayed in where members of the staff have become close friends ?
The transport links are very good indeed, you are only a five minute walk from trams , buses and trains, and if you are into keeping fit the hotel has two excellent full size swimming pools and a children's pool.
The trams which run along the front of the building will upset some people when they are trying to sleep, but to me they are preferable to the noisy clubbers you get across the river. For me, the Csaszar is my home from home !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zsolt U, Guest Relations Manager at Csaszar Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for the overall feedback regarding the Hotel; I appreciate you mentioning the friendliness of our Staff.

Hope to see you back soon.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

The nicest way to describe Csaszar Hotel in Budapest is - adequate. If you need a room, mostly clean, don't mind a small bed, noisy trolley and whistles from the pool deck - this is your place. If you want service, a smile, towels that are not rags - not your place. This was booked as part of our tour and I didn't expect luxury but I didn't expect this either.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJDJR_NET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zsolt U, Guest Relations Manager at Csaszar Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
I'm sorry to see that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I wish I had a chance to meet you and turn things around. I have taken good note of your comments and hope that you will grant us another opportunity to rectify your impression of Hotel Csaszar.

Kind Regards

Zsolt Ulmer
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goes, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
117 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Not happy with this hotel. We've booked this hotel because of the free parking and the pool, and didn't get either of it.
On the website trough which we've made the booking was said that the parking was for free. When we've arrived, were informed that the parking was not free from recently. We parked in the street, but had to wake up before 8h to pay for the parking (we've checked in late afternoon when the parking was for free).
The swimming pool was not available to the guests due to the fact that sportsmen had their trainings.
We've asked in the mail for a baby cot, but it wasn't in the room when we've arrived, but was brought later.
Both receptionists were rather cold and as if they were bored with their jobs, doing us a favor when helping us.
The room was very small and noisy.
The shower is VERY slippery, be careful!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mayolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zsolt U, Guest Relations Manager at Csaszar Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback. I am sorry though that you found the hotel not satisfactory. We have taken good note of your comments regarding the shower and timekeeping.
I haven’t heard any negative comments on our staff before but I am so sorry you did not like the way your request was handled.

I hope that you will choose to stay with us again whenever your travels take you to Budapest.

Zsolt Ulmer
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Budapest hotels

L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue, France
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

This hotel was built as a nunnery in the late 1800, so the room are small, but still very comfortable.
All have bathrooms except have to be careful when you shower as the floor floods easy.
It is clean the staff are great, very, helpful. If you are a very light sleeper than it is not for you as the trams run out the front, top floor is not too bad, lower floor is cheaper but more noise.
T.V. is good if you speak french, but for English there is only CBS.
The hotel is next door to a Turkish bath built 1570 a must, one of the cheapest at 2000 ( AUD $9) about for the day, just take your own towel.
The location is one of the best on the Buda side, especially in my case as I am having dental work done and its only a short walk to the Clint and also the tech labs.
The best Spanish restaurant is 5 mins to the right, been eating there most evenings, but be early or you must book. This is the 3rd time we have stayed, for a couple €39 per night. If you need to go to the Pest side than its a good walk or catch a tram (if over 65 transport is free).

Room Tip: If noise is a problem than take a room up stair any any from 201 to 210
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret Marcus... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

2nd time to stay here, stayed for a week in September 2011 & 1 night in November 2012. Great value for money. the staff are great, very helpfull. The breakfast is good. Their is a room beside the breakfast area that use to be a smoking area, glad to see this is a smoke free zone now.
The staff will help with any questions, check out the new resturant were the 50 Bar use to be. always liked the 50 bar, sorry to see them go, but the new owners are really nice, and the food is fantastic, fresh, great place on the same street as hotel.

Room Tip: the rooms at the front of the hotel on the ground floor, you can hear the trams running past the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MagicbusDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norcross, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Our team visited for just two nights. Overall not a bad place with the exception of the shower. I felt bad for my roommate since after my shower in the shallow basin would flood it left her with a soggy floor to maneuver. Great access to views of the beautiful architecture and the Danube. Recommend walking at night to view Parliament..one of the most beautiful buildings.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuyoricanone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#121 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#130 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Papillon
#115 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Jagello Business Hotel
#138 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Csaszar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Csaszar Hotel

Property: Csaszar Hotel
Address: Frankel Leo ut 35, Budapest 1023, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Csaszar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Csaszar is located in the heart of Budapest near the river Danube, just 500 meters from Margit Bridge. It can be reached easily with public transport day and night. The Hotel is in the same building with the Komjadi-Csaszar Public swimming pool, our guests can enjoy the 50 meter pool. Hotel Csaszar has rooms with 2 and 4 beds, and one apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Csaszar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Csaszar Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing