We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mark P. Sydney, Australia. Staff makes a difference!”
Review of Csaszar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Csaszar Hotel
Ranked #189 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mark P. Sydney, Australia. Staff makes a difference!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Hotel is relatively basic but has an Olimpic size swimming pool and a nice recreation area of its own. Located in a quiet area of Buda almost on the river bank with amazing panoramic views.
Rooms are small but tidy and comfortable. Breakfast is simple but fresh and satisfying. The best feature of this hotel is its staff. Here you can't go wrong by giving them full 5 star rating. Especially helpfull, professional and friendly a young receptionist and manager Mercedes. Have any issues at all with directions, transportation, sightseeing advice, etc? Ask her and all problems disappear as soon as you're having a conversation with her. Frankly, I personally believe that she is capable of managing customer relations issues in any international 5 star hotel. But as loing as she stays in Csaszar the guests are in good hands. Well done.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank mark_p7772014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zsolt U, Guest Relations Manager at Csaszar Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking your time to write this infd review. Please be sure that I will pass your kind words to our receptionist, Mercedes.

See you next time you visit Budapest.

Kind regards,

Zsolt Ulmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    85
    51
    19
    15
See reviews for
25
84
32
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Odense
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Very friendly staff!
Fine location near the Margerat island on the Buda side of Budapest.

Needs: Restaurant, sun chairs, better aircondition.

But a good hotel to the price.

Overall are we satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zsolt U, Guest Relations Manager at Csaszar Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall. Good points thank you! We are discussing the sun chairs with the swimming pool management to see how can we implement this.

Greetings from Budapest

Zsolt Ulmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Biggest con:ground rooms are half under ground with ground window with grid
+nice big pool
-used by sportclubs and public
+walking distance to the city
-not too pleasant location
-old and not modern feeling

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jozef H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zsolt U, Guest Relations Manager at Csaszar Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for the honest feedback. It is true that we have rooms on the ground floor, that are looking over the street, I'm sorry that you didn't find them satisfactory. Usually guests who don't stay long, prefer to stay in those rooms because of their great price value and the easy reach of the swimming pools. We are proud to say that wold champion swimmers and clubs choose us to relax during their trainings, it usually is rather exciting for our guests to meet them. The pools are used for the public as well as they belong to a swimming complex and would be too large for solely our guests to use. The hotel used to be a nunnery and is part of the world heritage , therefore we have limited possibility to change the design, I'm sorry that you didn't like it as well, I wanted to let you know though that we have repainted most rooms and fully refurbished our apartment this year and more upgrades are on the way.

Hope I answered all your doubts, and to see you next time in Hotel Csaszar.

Should you have any questions or doubts please feel free to send me an e-mail to ulmerzsolt@csaszarhotel.hu, I'm happy to assist you.

Kind Regards

Zsolt Ulmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Toronto, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I spent 2 nights at this hotel with my husband couple of weeks ago.
The staff is great always helpful with a smile - day or night.
Room was pretty basic but very clean.
Breakfast simple but plentiful. One complaint - both mornings we were there they did not have any black tea, just herbal teas. On second morning I had to bring my own.
The location is great - very close to public transport so it's easy to get anywhere within the city.

Overall great place for a budget traveler.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnkaW1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zsolt U, Guest Relations Manager at Csaszar Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your review, we are very proud of our friendly staff and I will pass your kind words to them. I'm sorry that you didn't have the choice of black tea, that's something we have in general. I wish I knew that while you were here so I could sort it out for you.

I hope you had a pleasant flight home, and see you next time you visit Budapest.

Kind regards,

Zsolt Ulmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The hotel facilities are basic. The room was clean, the bathroom a little too small.
Breakfast was available and included in the room's rate, providing a small, but tasty variety of continental choices.
Overall, a basic hotel, good value for money, good location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Johnny2478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zsolt U, Guest Relations Manager at Csaszar Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for taking your time writing this review! I'm happy that you found the facilities accommodating.

Greetings and kind regards,

Zsolt Ulmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel. Being woken at 5.45am was very irritating and unexpected.The room was small ,but adequate. Breakfast was ok. We found it to be in a good location for getting around and made use of the staff for advice on this. We had the Hop on Hop off tickets. Staff also arranged the minibus to the airport which was on time and reasonably priced. We very much enjoyed using the Tapas bar nearby. Staff were charming, whatever time of day or night we approached them.

Room Tip: At the back you get the pool noise, at the front, the traffic - no winners !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zsolt U, Guest Relations Manager at Csaszar Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your honest feedback! I understand it, must have been uncomfortable to be woken up early by the pool staff and I do apologize for that. We have taken serious measure to control noise levels while setting up the pool. I'm happy to read that you had a nice time overall and that you found our staff friendly. Hope to see you back and to have a chance and make your experience even a better one!

Greetings From Budapest!

Zsolt Ulmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The reception staff are very friendly and helpful. Our rooms was small but clean. The bathroom is sectioned off from the main room by a sliding door only and the bathroom was very basic. The shower/tiling needs updating and the ventilation to the area requires attention! The hotel has access to an Olympic size swimming pool which hotel guests can use outside of training sessions and planned classes ( the pool whilst a training pool is also open to the public). Therefore there were occasions when we could not use it or there was a lot of noise from the children's swimming classes. Also the pool opened from 6am and I was woken by pool maintenance staff at 05.45 on more than one occasion as they prepared the pool for use! The breakfast area was small but functional, however the selection available was limited and did run out of certain items e.g. teabags, sugar etc on two occasions. The hotel is located near a main bridge providing easy acces to St Margrit's island and the pest side of Budapest however the walk to other major attractions e.g. Buda Castle is a long one so do make sure you have your walking shoes with you or failing that, have deciphered the tram timetable!!!!
Whilst we will not stay at this hotel again,it does provide value for money at the budget end of the market .

Room Tip: Go for rooms on higher floors and not directly facing the swimming pool to minimise noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zsolt U, Guest Relations Manager at Csaszar Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your honest feedback and for taking your time to write. I will pass your kind words to our front desk staff and please be sure your concerns about the shower tiles, pool staff and breakfast won't be overlooked. We are actually connected to two pools an olympic sized and a 25 meter pool, they are both available to the hotel guests as well. The olympic one is half closed in case of training sessions mostly on weekdays. I wish we have known, you had difficulties with the timetable, we have them available at the front desk and there are many other options beside the tram. All together I hope you still had a good time in Budapest and will return an other time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Classic
#262 of 334 in Budapest
50 reviews
Benczur Hotel
#160 of 334 in Budapest
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Papillon
#120 of 334 in Budapest
249 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#130 of 334 in Budapest
343 reviews
Belvedere Hotel
#93 of 334 in Budapest
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Csaszar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Csaszar Hotel

Property: Csaszar Hotel
Address: Frankel Leo ut 35, Budapest 1023, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Csaszar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Csaszar is located in the heart of Budapest near the river Danube, just 500 meters from Margit Bridge. It can be reached easily with public transport day and night. The Hotel is in the same building with the Komjadi-Csaszar Public swimming pool, our guests can enjoy the 50 meter pool. Hotel Csaszar has rooms with 2 and 4 beds, and one apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Csaszar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Csaszar Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing