We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of City Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Inn
Ranked #85 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Value for money hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Hi this hotel was just what we hoped for. It was only a short walk from Metro line 3 and 3 stops from central Budapest but in a quiet strret so no noise. The shower was powerful, the beds were comfortable and the breakfast was plentiful and hot whatever time you went in during the morning.It isn't top notch but it was good value for money. The staff particularly receptionist Urika were very helpful and spoke good English. There didn't seem to be a restaurant at other times of the day but that didn't bother us.

We would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    220
    86
    17
    8
See reviews for
49
231
26
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Izmit, Turkey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

It has a really nice location, next to the corvin plaza. you can go every where easly in budapest. nice, helpfull staf. rooms are good. restaurant s not enough in my opinion but foods were delicious, we enjoyed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brkctk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

the staff was super nice and always helpful. you are close to the mall next door - just cut through the mall to get to the metro. it feels like it is a quicker walk than taking the street. the room was clean; it hasn't been updated, but it was great for the value. the bed was comfy too. my parents and sister had a bigger room on the 2nd floor and it was ginormous. the sister slept on the couch in their room and you could have fit another person on the couch...not the pull out type of couch either. they were able to get wifi in their room; we were on the 3rd floor and could not, but the hotel does provide an ethernet cord for the rooms unable to access wifi.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dee622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

The room was very clean and comfortable - wifi didn't reach the 5th floor though and toiletries were not replaced - also very little storage for clothes, but they were minor inconveniences. We only had breakfast one day - it wasn't much to get excited about so we just ate out. Reasonable location from which you can walk to the centre (about 25 minutes) or catch a tram/tube. No English TV channels but we were out most of the time anyway. For the price we paid we were very pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alblue101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel last week - very helpful at reception.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable. We stayed on 2nd floor, which had wi-fi.
Best thing is the location; 5 mins walk to main point where you can catch metro and tram from and it takes 5-10 mins to centre. The transport system there is amazing.
The Corvin complex is also nice.
Negatives would be breakfast - not enough options. Me and my wife were vergetarian and it was limited. The bread/rolls were not that fresh.
The bathroom gets really warm.
All in all, I would surely stay at this hotel if I were to return to Budapest.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fadzy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Overall, we were happy with the room and stay. The location was handy - to the Metro, and the 4-floor shopping complex on the same block - turn left out the door and less than two minute's walk.
The breakfast was good (plentiful and sufficient selection of both hot and cold items). The room had a good-sized bed (two 3/4 beds put together - and for covering it was also two smaller covers instead of one large cover to fit the whole bed), very warm bathroom with lovely hot shower, room safe, mini-fridge, plenty of lighting, and nice decor. What the room didn't have - tea/coffee facilities, wifi, A/C, or English tv channel. Whilst the room was facing the street, and the traffic noise was kept out by the window... we had to suffer loud traffic noise and lots of sirens through early hours because the room was unbearably hot and stuffy without the window open - a real shame the A/C didn't work. The hotel advertises that there is wifi, but you must be in the lobby, and get the passcode to use it. It was also disappointing that for two people, we were only given one little bottle of shampoo and moisturiser for the three-night stay - nothing was replenished by housekeeping.
That being said, the reception staff were helpful and accommodating. We arrived the night of time-change without knowing this, so when we got a surprise in the morning that we were too late for breakfast, and the kitchen had shut, staff took pity and went and made us sandwiches. This was greatly appreciated, and excellent service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tessB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holsbeek, Belgium
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

The rooms are very nice, well equipped (safe, minibar, wifi) and very clean. The soft towels are appreciated ! The hotel offers a good supply of toilet requisites.
The staff at reception is very friendly and helpful.
The only topic that I can think of which is a bit less is the breakfast. It is a bit basic according to international standards.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Gellert Hill
Hotel Mediterran
Hotel Mediterran
#84 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
District V / Inner City
Marmara Hotel Budapest
Marmara Hotel Budapest
#98 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Styles Budapest City
#41 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Fraser Residence Budapest
#13 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Soho Boutique Hotel
Soho Boutique Hotel
#83 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Inn

Property: City Inn
Address: Futo utca 55., Budapest 1082, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#62 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — City Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Budapest
City Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing