We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay”
Review of Kalvin Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalvin Apartments
Ranked #185 of 644 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and have no hesitation in recommending these apartments. The building is old but the apartments on the 4th floor are immaculate, spotlessly clean and very well maintained. Everthing you need is provided including a full range of cooking utensils, crockery etc. The room is spacious with plenty of storage space, dining table and chairs and really comfortable beds. We worried that it might be noisy as it overlooks a busy road, but the double glazing cut out all the noise.

The situation is good - close to the Metro station and within easy walk of lots of interesting places. Local shops and restaurants were excellent.

It was good value at 49 Euros per night. We received several pages of helpful information from the English speaking owner before we arrived and he was there to greet us when we arrived and helped us by looking up train times for our onward journey.

The only minor criticism is the entrance and lift which are both extremely scruffy but after a while you do not notice these. We visit Budapest regularly and this is by far the best place we have stayed and we wish we had found it sooner. We will be going back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    12
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
29
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This apartment was well located, very close to the Great market hall (Nagy Vasarcsarnok) so ideal for picking up fruit/veg and meats from butcher, to cook in your own kitchen. It beats finding a cafe everytime you want to eat. The room was spotless, and pleasantly decorated. The host/owner was very helpful. Location, 5 min walk to Kalvin Ter metro. Brilliant

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PabloFabulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2011

I don't usually write reviews, but I think this one is warranted. I did not have very high expectations coming in, but I was very pleasantly surprised when I first saw the apartment. Though not very large, it was very clean, extremely functional, and the owners are very helpful. The bed is large and more than adequate for two people, and the kitchenette was great for keeping some snacks, drinks, and easy food on hand. There was also a large wardrobe with plenty of hangers, a clothing iron, and ironing board. I opted for a room without AC, but the owners were kind enough to provide me with a fan, and the window opened up allowing for good air circulation, which helps tremendously. The street that the window overlooked is somewhat of a busy street, but it wasn't obnoxiously noisy in my opinion, and the window in our room did have soundproofing. The location was quite good, with a metro station literally 3 minutes away by foot. The Great Market is just a few blocks away, which allowed us to stop by and get fresh fruit in the morning and there was a fantastic coffee house, Cafe Alibi, just a few blocks away. I will definitely book here again the next time I come to Budapest!!

Just one note of caution, this apartment may not be appropriate for people who are handicapped or overweight. There is an elevator in the building, but I'm not sure the facilities meet U.S. wheelchair standards. The shower was not very large, so it may be difficult for larger people to use the restroom facilities in the apartment.

Room Tip: Book ahead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPLGlimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2010

stayed for 9 nights September 10 and loved Kalvin Apts. Very very clean, felt very safe and close to everything including all transportation. apartment was fully equipped including iron & board, hair dryer, even bandaids! Lots of stairs if you don't like the ancient lift and would have liked more towels, but other than that, not a thing negative to say. Soundproof windows made for very quiet sleeps in an extremely comfortable bed. thankyou for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank budapestlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We recently spent 5 nights at Kalvin Apartments. We had visited other cities in Europe on this vacation, renting apartments in each locale. We were so pleasantly suprised at this apartment. It was very spcaious and comfortable, much larger than the other apartments we had stayed in in the other cities. Someone has given a great deal of though to decor and to equipping the suite. The kitchen had everything we needed to prepare meals and properly eat, including nice beer and wine glasses (none of that cheesy hotel disposable plastic stuff). We had a large bed for the 2 of us, a large comfortable kitchen eating area. The suite was very clean and modern with nicely tiled bathroom. There was hand soap in the bathroom and everything needed to wash dishes prov ided in the kitchen. The wardrobe not only had the space for clothing, but also featured iron & board, clothes drying rack, complete shoe shine kit, extra toilet paper and (get this) a box of bandaids! So very thoughtful!

We felt the location to be fabulous. Very convenient to the Kalvin Ter metro station (1 block), a little grocery store across the street and down a bit (very friendly lady working there). The next street over, Raday, featured a number of restaurants where we enjoyed fabulous lunches and even better dinners. Also, the location is just a couple of blocks from the large and amazing Budapest market (including large grocery store in basement) and the Vaci Utca - the major shopping street. We arrived in Bidapest by train and found the metro ride to the Kalvin Ter station short and easy.

We found the apartment to be very quiet. We upgraded to sir condition which was well worth the slight additional cost, as the weather was quite hot while we were in Budapest. Yes, it is beside a discreet sex shop (which is beside a wedding dress store, which is beside an internet cafe) but no one was ever lurking about and we felt very safe in the area.

Our host was most obliging and very pleasant. If we are fortunate enough to be able to return to Budapest - which we hope is soon - we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandrasTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2009

We stayed here for 6 nights. Host Gabor was exremely attentive even lending us a cable for our computer so we could access ADSL. The apartment is very well presented and equipped and is bright airy and roomy. It is located just a short walk from a restaurant/cafe strip and walking distance to many of Budapest's attractions. At about 40 euros per night we doubt you will find better value anywhere. Only downside is that the building it is located in is rather old and run down but don't be put off by external appearances as once inside the apartment this doesnt matter at all. Oh and the bakery next door is fabulous as well.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2009

I can recommend Kalvin Apartments with confidence. I stayed in Kalvin Apartments with my husband for 5 nights. Our room was really big eonugh for two of us, with a kitchen which has everything we need, and furniture to keep clothes. There is even an ironing board and an iron, so we never suffered for wrinkles on our clothes. Everywere is truely spotless, and we enjoyed every single second staying in the room. Although the location is on a relatively big street, the window is double and it completely blocks noise from outside and is very quiet inside. We brought our laptop, and we had the internet access in the room. It is perfectly convenient to go anywhere, and if we will visit Budapest again, there is only one place to stay, Kalvin Apartment.
Last but not least, I would like to thank the owner who helped us while we were there. Thanks to him we had a great time in Budapest.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noriko78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Residence Baron
Residence Baron
#52 of 333 in Budapest
680 reviews
Ibis Budapest Centrum
#61 of 333 in Budapest
1,473 reviews
Hotel Kalvin House
#106 of 333 in Budapest
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Hotel 21
#60 of 333 in Budapest
577 reviews
Hipster Hostel
#149 of 644 in Budapest
107 reviews
HoBar - the hostel bar
#145 of 644 in Budapest
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalvin Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalvin Apartments

Property: Kalvin Apartments
Address: Uelloi ut 11-13. | at Kalvin Square, Budapest 1091, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 644 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalvin Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-catering 1-room studio apartments with kitchenette and free wifi internet connection in Budapest centre for short and mid-term rental. Main tourist sights and business locations of Budapest are within reach. The neighboring area (Raday Street in Ferencvaros) is famous for its cafes, shops and restaurants. Air-conditioned apartments are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kalvin Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing