We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, great location, quiet room”
Review of Kalvin Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalvin Apartments
Ranked #180 of 652 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Los Angeles, CA
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent value, great location, quiet room”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed for 9 nights in this well-equipped studio apartment with an air conditioning unit (for additional cost) and would definitely stay here again and recommend to others. The room we stayed in is right in front of the room where the manager is.

Location: The apartments are in an ideal location for proximity to tourist sites in Pest: 2 minute walk to Kalvin Ter, where there is a metro, bus (public transport is very efficient); approximately 5-7 minute walk to the Duna River, Corvinus University, Central Market; approx. 2 minute walk to Raday utca where there are good restaurants at reasonable prices and a good currency exchange with much better rates than airport; 2 minute walk to the Hungarian National Museum.

Cleanliness: The room was perfectly clean when we arrived, and they cleaned it again to an immaculate state once during our stay (they even vacuumed the window sill!).

Noise: It is very quiet in the room with the windows closed. We almost never heard anything from adjoining rooms or the hallway during the whole stay.

Kitchen: Comes with nearly anything you could need—coffee pot and tea pot, toaster, pots/pans, two burner electric stove, etc. We bought food from Central Market and the small corner store on Raday utca and made breakfast and snacks here. Not much counter space.

Other stuff: The TV in our room was a small box tube, but there are lots of channels (mainly in Hungarian, but a few in English, Italian, Romanian, French). Two twin beds in our room; they are quite small beds, hardly room to roll over, but we slept just fine on them.

Handicap Accessibility: The apartments are not very handicap accessible, as there are about 5 few stairs to get up before you get to the lift/elevator and the size of the shower is small by US standards.

Room Tip: We got a room with an air conditioning unit. It was the one right in front of the manager's room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    12
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
29
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Powell River, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Our studio apartment was well-equipped, clean, spacious and modern. The landlord spoke excellent English, was responsive, clear in his explanations of how things in the apartment worked, and helpful in giving directions for finding things nearby. Apartment is close to Metro and bus stops, restaurants (1 block from Raday Utca, restaurant alley), cafes, grocery stores, Market and banks. Don't be put off by the apartment entrance (shared) and the vintage elevator; once you cross the threshold into Kalvin Apts everything is modern and well kept. The adjacent street is busy but our apartment had good windows for soundproofing, roll-down shutters for room-darkening and an air-conditioner. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Foothills, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

When looking for accommodations in the beautiful city of Budapest, you will make an excellent choice if you select Kalvin Apartments. Everything about our stay was beyond expectations even though they were high after reading reviews of the apartments. The room we stayed in was well-appointed and very clean. The location of the apartments is close to a transportation hub at Kalvin ter. If you're
looking to book a very comfortable apartment in Budapest, don't hesitate to contact Kalvin Apartments and hope that there is availability.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights in August 2013, and we had a terrible experience.
The owner doesn't stay in the apartment block, and when our key wouldn't turn the lock at c.7pm he was so rude when we requested him to come and resolve it- his attitude was appalling. After 20minutes of struggling I resolved the issue by jimmying the lock, rang back once resolved to advise not to come to which he was again rude and arrogant. This personality trait didn't change on the remainder of our stay and despite the same problem with the key occurring on further occasions he was unhelpful to resolve it, and we relied on other guests opening the door for us.
The location is good, but the apartment is dated and tired, the communal areas of the building e.g lift are an accident waiting to happen.
My partner and I personally never felt safe or comfortable here. It was the owner though that provided the most disappointment, never did we have an apology for any inconvenience. We were instead treated like a nuisance.
In a long trip travelling around Europe staying here was the worst experience we had.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voru, Estonia
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Rooms are large, no bath but good shower facilities. Separate kitchens - a stove top, but no oven; microwave, toaster, electric kettle, most kitchen utensils we needed.
Staff was very helpful and kind. Also brought complimentary wine and chocolates with a card for a birthday.
Only downside was having a toilet with a pump that broke, making the toilet useless for one of our rooms.

It's on a busy street and a 3 minute walk from an intersection (Kalvin ter) with Blue Metro line station and bus and tram connections. For me, kind of on the edge of the Pest city center, but most sights are either easily accessible by Metro lines and short walk (if you're a lazy walker) or just by walking (if you don't mind half-hour walks).
Street can be noisy, but with closed windows, noise is not that bad.
Market hall and one end of Vaci utca 10 minute walk. Some nearby local shops around the apartment supply most of the necessary things.
Parallel street is Raday utca with good and reasonably priced restaurants.

Some of us were returning guests and said that some work had been put to corridor / elevator hall refurbishment.
I woud certainly return to that place.

Room Tip: Ask for a normal toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Værløse
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We spent four night in Kalvin Apartments in August 2013, and we had a great experience. Our room was big, clean, and simply had everything that we needed, including a fully-equipped kitchenette. The owner of the apartments was extremely helpful both before and during our stay. Although the neighbourhood is not one of Budapest's best, it is central, and most things are at a walking distance. Also, the price was very good for everything that we got. We would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Apartment very clean, comfortably equipped and was more spacious than in description on booking.com (5th floor to right , with separated kitchen). Good bed. Contact with the owner and his colleague was perfect (e-mails, sms) – we received a helpful information before we arrived; lack of a reception wasn’t a problem. We haven’t AC, but although 30° C on the outside, the room wasn’t too hot (but there is a possibility to have AC, there is some info on their private website – I advise it if you can’t sleep with closed window, the street is noisy enough but double glazing block it almost completely). The old archway (and the both staircases) are like a film scenery. Location great, restaurants just 2 minutes walk in next streets (Raday, Baross).
And only the floor (in my room) needs a renovation (but was very clean)

Room Tip: The room 5th floor to right is more spacious than in description on booking.com , with separated kit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Residence Baron
Residence Baron
#52 of 334 in Budapest
687 reviews
Ibis Budapest Centrum
#65 of 334 in Budapest
1,491 reviews
Central Hotel 21
#59 of 334 in Budapest
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Kalvin House
#107 of 334 in Budapest
421 reviews
Bo18 Hotel Superior
#21 of 334 in Budapest
1,300 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Museum Central
Budapest Museum Central
#109 of 334 in Budapest
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Kalvin Apartments

Property: Kalvin Apartments
Address: Uelloi ut 11-13. | at Kalvin Square, Budapest 1091, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 652 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalvin Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-catering 1-room studio apartments with kitchenette and free wifi internet connection in Budapest centre for short and mid-term rental. Main tourist sights and business locations of Budapest are within reach. The neighboring area (Raday Street in Ferencvaros) is famous for its cafes, shops and restaurants. Air-conditioned apartments are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kalvin Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing