We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth it”

Holocaust Memorial Center
Book In Advance
More Info
US$20.70*
and up
Budapest Card
Ranked #31 of 438 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Holocaust Memorial Center is a national institution established by the Government in 1999. In 2002, it decided to construct the building of the Center in Pava Street, outside of the traditional Jewish quarter, further emphasizing its national character.The Holocaust Memorial Center is one of the few institutions in the world, established by the state, that focuses entirely on Holocaust research and education.The visitors are welcomed into a unique space that was named as the most impressive in Budapest, beside the city's panorama itself by Frank Owen Gehry, one of the leading architects in our time. The modern building is organically linked to the Pava Street Synagogue, an authentic venue that once used to be the second largest site for Jewish worship in Budapest.The Institution is a center for scientific research education and culture. It welcomes visitors with interactive permanent and special periodic exhibitions, experience-based museum pedagogical programs and cultural performances. Guided tours are available in five languages and special, thematically focused tours are offered regularly. A bookshop and a cozy coffee shop contribute to a memorable visit.
Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Excellent however, they have made some changes and it used to be more touching. There used to be a film at the beginning showing young people dancing and then piles of shoes, etc and it was very touching. What is very good is that there is English write ups so we could understand it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    694
    341
    96
    31
    15
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
norfolk
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“You do not come here to enjoy yourself. But do not avoid”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Earlier in year i visited Auschwitz and Birkenau, difficult to put into words but it was something i wanted to witness. Chilling.
This memorial centre is somewhere you should all visit to read and watch some of the attrocities, a tribute to thousands of Hungarians who for no other reason other than being Jewish were brutally murdered. To repeat chilling.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank abbo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A history lesson”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

It takes a lot to visit such a place but was worth it. Be prepared for the graphic images and descriptions in the memorial. It truly was an eye opener seeing the accounts of people and the truth that lay behind it all.

Helpful?
2 Thank karan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well worth your time”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The Holocaust Memorial Center was just 2 minutes from my hotel so there was no excuse of not going and I was glad I did. I did not know much about Hungary during and pre WWII and now I do. The walk through the museum takes you through several fases of WWII. Eventhough some articles were a bit repetitive it was all a good read and I learned a lot. It took me about 1,5-2h to walk through and read it all. Ticket was only 1400 HUF.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoyHoenderboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onchan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“So glad we visited”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This was never going to be a comfortable experience, but communicates soberly without sparing Hungarian blushes. The use of individual family stories brings the horrors fully to life, and the 15 minute film useful explores the history of antisemitism; due space is also given to the treatment of Roma, the mentally ill and other groups. I challenge anyone not to be moved to tears by the chronology of the morning arrival at the death camp. Our world is obsessed with demonising elements in our society, I hope this visit will inform my response.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_Callow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Holocaust Memorial Center also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Holocaust Memorial Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing