We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Ranked #27 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2008

WOW, I have been home a week and would return to this hotel in an instant!

Housed in the historic New York Building in Budapest the Boscolo Hotel group spared no expense in making this a first class property!

The lobbey area is very large and spacious and check in quick and efficient. The hotel has a look and feel of understated elegence. Across the lobbey is the historic New York Cafe' a fabulous cafe from the gilded age with chandeliers and gorgeous gilded plaster work on walls and celiings.

The rooms are what you would expect from a 5 star European Hotel and are spacious and clean.

The breakfast room is not as large as some of the other Boscolo properties, but is efficiently laid out, comfortable and the staff very attentive.

My only regret is that I was unable to stay at this hotel a few more days.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Edward N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,226 - 2,232 of 3,633 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2008

This is a stunning hotel with service to match.

Interiors are beautiful - a decadent riot in some places (like the coffee shop) and then elegantly restrained in others (like the lobby).

Check in is at a huge glass table off the lobby and we were walked up to our room by the lady who checked us in which was felt very welcoming.

The room was very comfrotable and huge. Fab "statement" light fitting in the centre. The bathroom was great with an enormous shower and everything else you'd expect of a hotel of this quality - fluffly robes, slippers, etc.

We had a roof terrace too and it was nice to look over Budapest.

Location-wise there's nothing really in the immediate vicinity of the hotel but it's not far to walk to the main bar/restaurant drags. This is probably the only down-side to this hotel.

The food in the hotel restaurant is amazing. I wanted to have something authentically Hungarian, and even thogh there was nothing on the menu that fit the bill, the chef made a stew for me specially. And it was delicious.

All in all, a lovely, lovely hotel. Just fab.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CWYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2008

It was a pleasant surprise to finally enter Boscolo New York palace after a long drive from Prague and to feel being right in the middle of a royal palace. It is absolutely breathtaking and one sees immediately that this hotel is owned by italians, they have flavour for design and interieur like no one. Very efficient and friendly staff at check-in and the room was tastefully arranged and had everything as expected from a 1st class hotel. Overall a very pleasant stay although staff at breakfast buffet could have been a little more serviceminded and friendly-they were italians(read arrogant). Anyway, being an asian in europe, I am used to not always get the service i should have.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Luxboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2008

I can't say it better than any of the other reviews - it truly is the most beautiful hotel I've ever stayed in. It is a gem in this city. The staff was equally attractive, might I add. More importantly, their English is very good, and they have the amenities to book just about in excursion you want to take and are more than willing to help you out (boat tours, theater, etc.). In a city where folks in the service industry are not terribly polite, it was nice to have professional staff around you.

The hotel is about 100 m from a main Metro station which will get you around the entire city. Also, it's about 100 m from a grocery store, which I found so important. Food is expensive at the cafes in Budapest. I don't care to spend $25 for a sandwich, so it was incredible to have this little store so close to the hotel. Oh, the store sells a good selection of wine and beer too for ridiculously low prices.

OK, so this hotel is not on the river, its only drawback. There are all sorts of hotels on the river, but none of which, I would expect, could compare to the beauty of this hotel. So, if you're not afraid to take a subway 2 stops up, this doesn't make a bit of a difference. If you're one of those tourists who insist on taking a cab from location A to location B, you might want something on the river, but you'd be missing an amazing stay.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AustinTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2008

We recently stayed in this beautiful hotel. Bar none, it is the most breathtaking hotel we have ever stayed in! We had junior suites, which were huge, comfortable, and decorated in an amazing metropolitan modern style. The spa looks like a cool space ship, and offers all the usual great spa experiences. Given the fact that Budapest is horrifically expensive for Americans now with such a weak dollar, we thought the $300/night price was fairly reasonable.
Personnel were great. Cannot more highly recommend...
S. Bonnet

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank maddiefortworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2008

Stayed at the New York Palace for four nights in June 2008. Quite simply I have never stayed in such an opulent gorgeous hotel in all my life. The hotel simply has to be seen to be believed - Boscolo Hotels have done an amazing job of bringing the NY Palace back from the dead, and taken it well beyond most five star hotels. Staff very discreet, when you need someone they are there, if not, they're not! And don't forget the cafe!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgfb1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2008

Had a fantastic week at the New York Palace. We arrived well before the 14:00 check in but were shown straight to our room. The room itself was very well presented with a huge bed, chandelier light, minibar, plenty of wardrobes and a well equiped bathroom - nice toiletries, robes, slippers etc. We were on the third floor with views out onto the fairly busy street below. The only slight drawback was the sound of the police sirens which are particulary loud over there!
Breakfast is on the first floor overlooking the fantastic lobby, and with a chef on hand to cook your order as required. The service is a bit hit and miss though,and asking for a cup of tea seemed particulary problematic!! We didn't dine in the hotel restaurant as Budapest has so much to see that we were constantly on the go!
I would agree that the taxis out front are much dearer than those elsewhere as they dont run on the same agreed tariff as others (e.g from airport to hotel was FUH 5000, rtn was HUF 7600). The hotel pool is only really a lap pool but really well done. If there are just two of you using it its fine, and there are plenty of cool chill out areas dotted about to lounge around in. In terms of nightlife the area around the hotel ain't brilliant but the hotel is bang next to Lujza Blaha ter metro (red line, which runs under the river direct to Buda area)) and so its really easy to get anywhere. The trams are also really easy to use and run every few mins. Buy a 2 or 3 day "tourist" ticket and you can enjoy unlimited travel on metro, trams, buses, trolleys etc for a bargain price.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelB66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#19 of 336 in Budapest
7,557 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#31 of 336 in Budapest
3,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 336 in Budapest
4,993 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#42 of 336 in Budapest
4,527 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection

Address: Erzsebet korut 9-11, Budapest 1073, Hungary (Formerly Boscolo New York Palace Hotel)
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#10 Business Hotel in Budapest
#17 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#23 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £90 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience 5-star luxury when staying in the gorgeous Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection. Our contemporary hotel is one of the most grand luxury hotels in Budapest, Hungary. It offers proximity to some of the Budapest area' best attractions, including Chain Bridge, Great Synagogue, and Vaci Utca. We invite you to stay with us and visit our serene indoor pool, state-of-the-art fitness center, full service spa, and impeccable restaurants during your visit to Budapest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Travelbag, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection Hotel Budapest
Hotel Boscolo New York Palace
New York Palace Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing