We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“imposing lobby and building facade.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Ranked #29 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“imposing lobby and building facade.”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel was very nice though the view from the balcony was not worth opening the curtains for. The food and service was good. We stayed here 2 nights as our Viking cruise ship was unable to get to Budapest because of low water levels. The outside of the hotel is visually quite stunning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solarrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,342
    648
    189
    68
    43
See reviews for
429
1,711
113
345
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Nice location, close to the center of the city and to the river Danúbio by walk. The breakfast finishes too soon (11 a.m) having in mind the time difference from Portugal. The service was good. The system of elevators a bit confusing, as well as the indication to the pool (I only realize there was a pool in the end of the stay). Indications in general.
Nice entrance hall. Nice service, I arrived at 3.30 a.m. and had a person waiting for me. Very well organized. Good breakfast.
It is a positive for me. Wi-fi also worked perfectly.
Now that I have seen it, I prefer the previous name of the hotel 'Boscolo New York Palace Hotel', it is more catchy, and photos of the hotel make it seem bigger than it is (actually I prefer the real size, more modest, and integrated with the city).
Great city by the way!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlota_Days
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkPalaceGM, General Manager at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest 'Carlota_Days',

Thank you for your valued feedback about your stay at Boscolo Budapest. I am glad to see that overall you had a nice experience with us and I do appreciate your suggestions; we are continously seeking for the options to make our guests' stay even more enjoyable and your feedback gives a great lead.

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at a previous Boscolo and were keen to try the Boscolo in Budapest. The downside of the hotel is the location. Budapest is still recovering from economic hardship and does not look prosperous. The hotel is located in an area that is a little down market, and not as close to the river as would be ideal, but the building is unique in Budapest, being the site of an American insurance company building, transformed into a hotel. The New York Cafe which is iconic in Budapest was built with the intention of being the most beautiful cafe in the world, and is on the ground floor of this building. At this time the American company wanted to increase its prestige in Hungary. The building, lobby and cafe are astonishing in scale and design, with the most exquisite ceilings imaginable- imagine Versailles! The rooms are pleasant. We were mistakenly given a room in the 'new wing' which was small and modern, not what I had booked, but an alternative room was offered, a 'classic' room which was much more spacious. There was a small empty room for the suitcases and an entrance area which was generous, but unfurnished- a dressor or table would have made it more elegant and useful. Budapest is not Vienna and not Prague in terms of service, and this was reflected in the service at the hotel. The concierges were also not as knowledgeable as concierges in other hotels ( for example Boscolo in Prague) but were pleasant. This was our first stay in Budapest and the flaws we detected at the Boscolo may simply reflect the gap between this city, emerging from dark financial times, and other more affluent cities.

Room Tip: The classic rooms are much more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
240 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My friend and I took the train from Prague to Budapest. From the train station this hotel is just 10 minutes away and you don't need to take a taxi.

The hotel has stunning decor as you enter. The architecture is superb and the fact that the cafe has been there for more than 100 years just adds to the effects. The rooms are of decent size but the views were disappointing and nothing major to write about. The service was stellar and the concierge and the front desk staff were always able to help us with our requests.

We walked to the city centre from there and also did the Red Bus Tour; the hotel is a stop in the bus tour, which shows you how centric its location is.

If I were to return to Budapest, Boscolo will be our preferred hotel for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramchabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Pretty from outside, even prettier from inside (see the photos uploaded)! Room was clean and tidy, with a great bed. Staff was always helpful. They offered to take a photo for us along the corridor (yes! The corridor was so nice it was worth a photo), and refused to take tips even when I voluntarily offered. The hotel restaurant “New York Café” is itself a tourist spot, and hotel guests have priority treatment (e.g. we were seated next to the pianist). Best hotel I have been in Europe for a price of less than £100 per night. Tram and metro stations within accessible reach. There was a foreign exchange shop right next to it, so do your foreign exchange there to take advantage of a better rate.

Having just watched the movie “Grand Budapest Hotel” in recent months, this hotel certainly reminded me of the movie!

Room Tip: Higher floors will have a better view of the hotel from the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC-relax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkPalaceGM, General Manager at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest 'JC-relax',

Thank you for you kind feedback. I am delighted that Boscolo Budapest has charmed you and our services lived up to your expectations. Please be assured that your return would be appreciated anytime.

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

A good luxury hotel with stunning decor and architecture as its key features. Breakfast in the New York Cafe is a highlight because of the decor (although the service was perhaps a little lacking). However, we did persistently turn up 5 minutes before the end! Pretty good location with a tram stop and the underground a short walk away. Staff were friendly and even organised 2 slices of cake on a hand-decorated plate when we got back at the end of the afternoon on my birthday. If we're ever back in Budapest, I'd make the effort to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grazzenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkPalaceGM, General Manager at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest 'grazzenger',

Thank you for staying with us at Boscolo Budapest and thank you for your precious time spent on providing your kind feedback. I am glad that overall you had a nice experience with us but I am sorry that your experienced different levels of service.
We hope we would have the chance to welcome you back and provide an exceptional hotel experience.

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Wow! This hotel is spectacular. It is so grand that it is a separate stop of its own (The New York Cafe) on the hop-on hop-off bus in Budapest. The staff was incredibly helpful. The breakfast was huge and varied and sooo elegant. It even included champagne. Our room was huge. There is piano music played even at breakfast. The bartender was even lovely (and there was piano music there too). The hotel includes a very fancy special restaurant, where the service was the most attentive I have seen in some time and the food was lovely, especially the beef steak from the U.S. However, if you don't want to eat there (it is rather expensive, but worth it), there is also a regular restaurant which serves decent food. The hotel really made our stay in Budapest.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJZ33052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#19 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,967 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#28 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection

Property: Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Address: Erzsebet korut 9-11., Budapest 1073, Hungary (Formerly Boscolo New York Palace Hotel)
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Budapest
#10 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#17 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#25 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#26 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience 5-star luxury when staying in the gorgeous Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection. Our contemporary hotel is one of the most grand luxury hotels in Budapest, Hungary. It offers proximity to some of the Budapest area' best attractions, including Chain Bridge, Great Synagogue, and Vaci Utca. We invite you to stay with us and visit our serene indoor pool, state-of-the-art fitness center, full service spa, and impeccable restaurants during your visit to Budapest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection Hotel Budapest
Hotel Boscolo New York Palace
New York Palace Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing