We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Hotel, Great Service, Just OK Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Ranked #25 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

When I walked into this hotel I was floored by its beauty. And the staff that is ready and willing to wait on your every need. Our room was hands down the largest room I've ever had in Europe. The bathroom was stunning as well though the tub/shower was poorly designed. It was a soaker tub with glass privacy panels built for showers. Getting in the tub could be very difficult for someone older. Honestly, it could be completely hazardous. On our last day there was a main break which gave us some rust colored water. Staff were very responsive and let us know what was happening though I do expect a little more from a five star hotel.

The staff were incredible. One day while we were out touring, I wanted to make sure that we had a tour of Parliament booked for the following day. Within a couple of emails, our tour was booked. The staff were always willing to provide us with anything we needed, recommendations on restaurants, directions, local assistance, etc. They were truly incredible. And everyone spoke English very well - right down to the service staff that came to look at our bathroom pipes.

The location is the only thing that is a little off. If you are looking to be close to the Danube and most of the tourist activities, this is not close. Though it is only a few metro stops away. We like to walk alot and found that even by our standards, it was alot of walking. The two main attractions that were close was the Opera and the House of Terror. Everything else was a hike. The location is the only thing that kept me from giving it 5 stars.

The attached New York Cafe simply took my breath away. It is gorgeous. I felt like I was eating breakfast in a palace.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank travelbug71Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,377 - 1,383 of 3,577 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at the Boscolo Budapest for six days to attend a wedding and take in the Formula 1 race. The front of house staff was professional and helpful with reservations etc. The cafe for breakfast in the morning was very good. The same items each morning but the selection was extensive and you could order freshly made eggs. The coffee seemed to be often lukewarm. Not sure what machine they are using but it is not getting the temperature up to where it should be.
The cafe in the afternoon is a beautiful spot for coffee and cake.
The room was in the newer section of the building and was updated and quite. The bathtub/shower is poorly designed as the water pools on the back then after your shower, it just drains onto the bathroom floor. We used a lot of towels to manage this and finally built a dam beside the shower wall and tub to stop the water flow.
An iron and board was requested from the front desk and none showed up. We asked our floors housekeeping staff for it in the afternoon and had to request for a third time for it the next morning. The wellness centre on the lower level is really lovely. A good escape at the end of a hot day. The space is contemporary and kept clean.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank skookum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Nice place close to city centre same like boscolo prague in Czech Republic look as amazing and hotel staff are nice as well we love all boscolo hotels around the world we hope to see all of boscolo hotels

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Smith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel is just wonderful. It is directly linked to the Cafe New York and the lobby is stunning.
The location is perfect, the metro station is close and you can walk to the city center.

The staff is really friendly and helpful all the time.
We got a free upgrade and our room was huge, everything was very thought through.

The pool and SPA center is nicely designed and perfect for relaxation after a busy day.

The hotel has an own hop on hop off bus station.

We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel as it is really expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sina2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

A warm welcome by the friendly staff, great rooms, great breakfast, feels like wanna stay there all the time. lovely decorated room and large, the bed was fantastic, Bathroom large and beautiful, spa was lovely but beware there may be slippery, Internet was super fast, Architecture is amazing special New York cafe but there can be hot and sit in the cafe summer, I got massages which were real good, Well done and keep it up, thank you for a great stay.

Special thanks to Tamás Gebei for a five star check in and check out.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Aso D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We chose the hotel because of its price, but also the location, standard and reviews of other guests. Those who recommended it were absolutely right. Hotel has just wowed us!! The lobby, the reception, rooms and especially restaurant make you feel special! The staff is very discreet (except the check-in process where they use you name hundreds of times :) ) and also very helpful. Room was very spacious and equipped with all necessary equipment. We had one problem in the bathroom... the glass protects against spillage of water from the shower didn't work. It was just too small. and there are no hangers for the towels...
The SPA area is the other problem of the HOtel... if you want to swimm you need to be the only guests at the pool. It is very small. Lack of sunbeds or chairs where you can leave your bathrobe (only 3-4 hangers). At the end of the day this is a city Hotel not a SPA one :).
The breakfast served in New York Cafe is unique because of the appearance of the restaurant. The food however is also suitable for the interior. Nicely presented, tasty with nice choice of dishes.
The location is really good. It took only 10-12 minutes walk to the Danube river and many shops and restaurants. The Hotel's neighbourhood also offer lot of shops and pubs and it is much cheaper here.
We definately recommend the Hotel!!

Room Tip: we got upgraded room on the 6th floor. Spacious, modern and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mariod75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This was my first stay in Budapest.

Boscolo is an absolute jaw dropping hotel with a stunning lobby that will awake all of your senses.

The attached New York Cafe is basically like dining in a mini Sistine Chapel. The style is beautiful.

The staff in general was extremely helpful. I want to especially point out Judit who assisted in restaurant, bus, and bar suggestions. All of which were fantastic. She even refused a tip and said it was her pleasure in simply seeing a smile. Wow!

The bellmen also delivered the bags within 5 minutes and were friendly day in and out.

I had one issue with the shower overflowing on to the floor, but housekeeping and engineering responded within 10 minutes.

The hotel itself was extremely quiet. At points I felt like I was the only guest there.

The hotel is located within 10 minutes of several good areas, right outside of the hop on hop off stop, a ten minute walk to the keleti train station, and close to several subway lines.

Within the city, the hotel is revered. Had a blast and highly recommend this for friends, business, romantic getaways, and the time of your life!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#16 of 336 in Budapest
7,462 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#42 of 336 in Budapest
4,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#29 of 336 in Budapest
3,515 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 336 in Budapest
4,947 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection

Address: Erzsebet korut 9-11, Budapest 1073, Hungary (Formerly Boscolo New York Palace Hotel)
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#10 Business Hotel in Budapest
#17 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#22 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £84 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience 5-star luxury when staying in the gorgeous Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection. Our contemporary hotel is one of the most grand luxury hotels in Budapest, Hungary. It offers proximity to some of the Budapest area' best attractions, including Chain Bridge, Great Synagogue, and Vaci Utca. We invite you to stay with us and visit our serene indoor pool, state-of-the-art fitness center, full service spa, and impeccable restaurants during your visit to Budapest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Travelbag, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection Hotel Budapest
Hotel Boscolo New York Palace
New York Palace Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing