We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Ranked #29 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Try as I might, I can't come up with a single thing not to love about this beautifully restored and remodeled Italian-run hotel. Because it was our anniversary, we were upgraded to a suite, which is the nicest hotel room I have ever stayed in - or probably ever will. The service is professional and friendly without being intrusive or obsequious. The breakfast buffet is in a beautiful room with a choice of pretty much anything you might want to eat. Both the metro and the tram are located steps away. My husband loved the chance to eat Italian pasta in the cafe, having grown sick of Eastern European fare. When we had to leave for a horrifyingly early plane, not only did they organize the hotel's car to take us to the airport, they packed little bags of breakfast. Honestly, I would return to Budapest just to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HVane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,311
    636
    184
    66
    43
See reviews for
425
1,684
110
339
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire England
Level Contributor
132 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

On arrival we were efficiently and politely greeted, our bags taken from us and shown to check in –all this whilst enjoying a cool blast from very effective and much needed air con – the temperature outside was 33oC!

We were checked in by an extremely polite and well presented front desk who spoke English impeccably and we rapidly made our way to our room.

Opening the door of the room the vastness was jaw dropping!

Our room – 364 - and was hands down the largest room I've ever had anywhere on my travels.

Our bags arrived within 5 minutes and we settled in for our one night stay- the only dilemma we then had was which of the 2 wide screen TVs we should watch!

All the amenities were as expected of 5 star and the condition of the facilities and decoration to high standard
.
The hotels location is perfectly acceptable and the area busy and seemed safe and we went for a walk enjoying a few drinks at a local bar or three. Chilled local Hungarian beer is perfect for hot humid nights!

We decided to eat in the attached New York Cafe whose architecture was indeed extremely pleasant to the eye.

The café of course allows non-guests to dine and there was a real buzz to the place, the younger staff did however seem far less trained and as interested in their customers than the main hotel staff which was a shame as it very slightly lessened the overall “grand” experience.

We chose the simple local options for food in the New York and I have to say it was of high quality and sensible pricing and I highly recommend it!

We didn’t use the spa due to time constraints but we did have a look around and I have to say the pool was a letdown – certainly when compared to the Corinthias facilities just down the road.

We secured an inclusive with breakfast option which I highly recommend.
High quality produce, huge selection and extremely well cooked- sets you up for the day perfectly!

Check out was painless and they arranged a taxi for us to go to the Budapest Deli station securing a price less than half of that we had paid arriving!

They were in the process of completing works on a roof garden which was of no problem to us and it should completely revitalize what is currently a very bland internal courtyard which will be an asset to the hotel.

So what were the negatives? Thankfully minor and few in number.

No free bottled water in the room – yes it’s picky but this is 5 star remember and a in my opinion a silly policy as it annoys many people.

Great rain shower in bath but no hand held option for the body parts that cannot be reached with a vertical option only – if you get my drift!

Bath towels too small for those of us with a wide girth!

All in all 4.75 stars and yes – we would stay there again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarionMontgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Hotel was incredible except if you have dinner in the restaurant then sightseers wander about taking photographs and pushing behind you. Cleaners can be noisy in early morning. Our main concern was the poor location in relation to the main attractions and river, if you walked. Metro station nearby which we had to use but it was crowded with homeless people drinking and shouting. This combined with the terrible stench which put us off. Think twice unless you are prepared for a twenty minute walk to the shops and restaurants and river.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DIVENTGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkPalaceGM, General Manager at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest 'DIVENTGO',

Thank you for taking the time and writing your review. I was happy to read that you were amazed by our hotel and on the other hand I understand your point of view regarding the location and our restaurant. The New York Cafe was selected as one of "the most beautiful café in the world' therefore in the peak season it is visited by many hotel guests and tourists and this can be the reason for a high demand you mentioned. Our location is a factor that we can not change unfortunately, but I believe Boscolo Budapest located centrally and all the major sites are reachable in 15-20 minutes walking or 10 minutes by public transportation - bus, tram or tube.

I hope apart from the hotel location and the crowd in our restaurant you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay in Budapest.

With kind regards,

Kinga Engelbrecht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Our family recently stayed at the Boscolo, Budapest for about a week to attend a wedding, which also took place at this hotel. I must say this ranks as one of the finest hotels we have ever stayed at. The property is spectacular, the building is historical and ornate and it has obviously been renovated and everything is superb. The staff was outstanding and very friendly and ready to assist before we could even finish our request. The concierge was especially very responsive and I would rate him as outstanding. The wedding we were attending was conducted in the main covered courtyard, which is spectacular and they had other very nice areas for reception and dinner. We had two rooms for the kids and us and they were both equally good - we had very clean and comfortable furniture. The food at the wedding receptions as well as in the restaurant was great. They had valet parking for a nominal charge and our car was brought within five minutes. It is such a nice hotel that we will make plans to go back to Budapest. Thank you to the staff and management.

Room Tip: Both of our rooms were equally nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

The first thing one notices about the Boscolo New York Palace is, unsurprisingly the incredible lobby and the beyond incredible cafe'. Even as a poet, it's hard to find words to express the truly amazing splendour of the cafe/ restaurant. The photos on the website pretty much speak for themselves.

But what makes a luxury hotel worthy of the title goes beyond just aesthetic beauty (although the Boscolo has that in spades); a truly luxurious hotel is an experience that combines the skills of a talented, knowledgeable and enthusiastic staff with well thought out rooms and an atmosphere of quiet comfort. The Boscolo achieves all that.

We had a wonderful time on our three nights here, largely due to the excellent staff. The concierges were all extremely helpful in making recommendations for restaurants - and procuring reservations at them- as well as in suggesting daytime activities that helped us really experience Hungarian culture and history. The room (with a balcony on which we enjoyed a couple evenings overlooking the city) was large, clean and very comfortable. The only negative during our stay was that the restaurant staff for the breakfast buffet on Saturday seemed to be completely overwhelmed and, as a result, didn't do a very good job of providing the service that this hotel normally provides. (In fairness, this was only a problem on that one day; the other days we ate breakfast at the hotel the service was impeccable.

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies are spacious and feature king-size beds; they do, however, have showers/bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xlucent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

What a fantastic hotel !! We were upgraded to a suite which was very luxurious and unexpected although my husband gad emailed the hotel as we were travelling around Europe celebrating my 50th. We also received complimentary cakes to die for ...delivered to our room. Yummy!!!
The hotel is even more opulent than the photos on the website and breakfast in the fabulous surroundings was brilliant. I've read previous reviews about "samey" breakfasts but we stayed for three nights and even tho the choice was the same we had loads of choice and usually had a three course breakfast. Cappuccinos were amazing!!!
The staff were all friendly and as you would expect for a hotel of that quality all were really helpful. The concierge recommended a restaurant (Aszu) which was amazing and gave helpful advice about tours and info regarding places of interest.
We also made the most of the spa and had a massage... Again all very good and prices of massage reasonable for such a hotel.
All in all this hotel was fabulous and would have stayed longer if I could.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

The Hotel is Great.. I stayed there four nights in the beginning of August, and everything was awesome. They have a very helpful staff at the reception and concierge, you can always count with them to find what you are looking for. I also would like to special thank one of the security agents, I don't remember exactly his name I think is Gabor, he worked on the night shift, and He was always giving us some tips of what to do in the city ..

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#18 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,895 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#23 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection

Property: Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Address: Erzsebet korut 9-11., Budapest 1073, Hungary (Formerly Boscolo New York Palace Hotel)
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#10 Business Hotel in Budapest
#17 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#25 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#26 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience 5-star luxury when staying in the gorgeous Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection. Our contemporary hotel is one of the most grand luxury hotels in Budapest, Hungary. It offers proximity to some of the Budapest area' best attractions, including Chain Bridge, Great Synagogue, and Vaci Utca. We invite you to stay with us and visit our serene indoor pool, state-of-the-art fitness center, full service spa, and impeccable restaurants during your visit to Budapest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection Hotel Budapest
Hotel Boscolo New York Palace
New York Palace Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing