We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cozy, funny hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Budapest
Ranked #98 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
bishkek
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“cozy, funny hotel”
Reviewed 6 May 2010

I stayed in Boutique Hotel Zara for business, and then remained there for 2 extra days of vacation. The Hotel is located very close to old town, the main shopping street and Gallert Baths. I enjoyed staying in this hotel, nice location, wonderful food, very attentive staff. The most fascinating was the fact that we used the bar as conference room for our meetings :)

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aiso13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    290
    121
    33
    21
See reviews for
51
381
31
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

I didn't feel welcomed by the reception or breakfast/bar staff during my stay. I'm still not sure if it was a cultural difference, language barrier, or something else. As a single female traveler I wouldn't stay here again due to the uneasy feeling I got from the staff.

I made reservations through Expedia for a double bed. Upon check in the receptionist confirmed I was a solo traveler and then put me in a room with two single beds despite my reservation for a double bed. When I went back down to reception after viewing the room I was told that was the only room available. The single size beds are tiny, I'm not a big person by any means and it felt like I was sleeping on a child's cot. The matress was supportive and the pillows were soft. Seriously If I tried to roll over in the middle of the night I would have fallen off the bed. There is a flat screen TV in the room with a few english channels and movie options. There was no Wi-Fi in the room. The receptionist offered a ethernet cord and told me that if the cord wasn't returned a 500 Forint charge would be made to my room. The ensuite bathroom was decent, water never got very hot but it never went cold either. The sink and toilet are standard. The bathroom mirror was large and there were ample toiletries available. The room has adequate closet space, plenty of room for a full sized suitcases, modest room to hang clothes, lots of shelf space, and an in-room safe large enough for a 15" laptop. There is also a mini-bar with reasonable priced beverages and snacks (a coke was about $2.50 US). The only good thing about my room was it was away from the elevator so there was no noise from other guests in the hall.

My room rate included breakfast. The hotel offers a HUGE breakfast buffet with a variety of options. The problem I ran into 2 out of my 3 mornings was the staff told people (myself included) to go away and come back later because there was no room to seat us. Instead of taking a room number or name and keeping a list of who showed up first they just turned people away. I ended up sitting in the lobby area after being turned away on the off chance they'd remember turning me away and seat me when room was available. The first morning two couples who were turned away after me were seated before me, When I asked the waitress why I wasn't being seated all she would say is "no room." The last morning of my stay I had no problems with the breakfast service but that was probably because I ate very early before leaving for the train station.

The hotel's location is pretty good, it's across the street from the Central Market which is great if you want to try some local food treats. The hotel is just off the main pedestrian street Vaci Utca so there are plenty of restaurants and shops within steps of the hotel.
If you're planning a spa day at the Gellert Spa the hotel is a ten minute walk, you just have to cross the liberty bridge and you're there. I didn't use public transportation in the city as it's an easy city to walk around, especially the Pest side. I took a hop-on hop-off tour to reach the Buda side only because it was raining, had it been sunny walking to the Buda Castle district would have been a pleasant, but long, walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank latte_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

Spent three night weekend in Budapest at Hotel Zara. Recommended by friend who has business interests in Budapest. Fantastic deal for three nights, way better than advertised. Location is excellent, very central close to shops and Danube. Clean throughout. Bedrooms are smallish but perfectly adequate. Walls are thin and you could be interrupted/woken by "activity" in neighbouring rooms. Breakfast I would describe as adequate. Nothing to write home about but no complaints.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merrionman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2010

I like Zara much because of its modern style, cleanness, helpfull and friendly staff and convenient location for both business and tourist purpose.
Rooms are clean and comfortable so you easily condone a (limited) size of the room.
For those planning to arriving by a big car you better look for a parking space outside the hotel garage.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomanP_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sackville, NB, CANADA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2010

The hotel is tucked away on a quiet street which makes this an ideal place to stay for visiting Budapest. It's very clean, has good sized rooms and comes with a great breakfast. Given the location, you get good value here. It also has a nice little lounge on the main floor. We were impressed with the design of the hotel and especially, the huge skylight over the lounge. The metro station is just up the street and there are several tram lines around the corner. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. If you're looking for a nice boutique hotel in an ideal location, then we would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maplecream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Just returned from a short stay here. Well located for the sites, close to the river and nearby tram station. Staff helpful, clean rooms and a good breakfast to start your day. Rooms ok for size, compact. Coffee/tea facilites would be the best improvement for rooms. We did enjoy our stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrJohn1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2010

This hotel was fantastic. We stayed for 4 nights and the end of Feb. Loved the hotel, and loved the City!
Nice interior, very new and modern. Bedrooms nice and spacious, with a good size bathroom. Lovely bar area for a drink in the evening, and prices inexpensive. Lots of choice for breakfast and good food too.

Hotel staff were great. Very helpful.
Location of the hotel was perfect. Located just 5 mins from Raday Utca (Hungarian word for street!!), which is a famous street full of nice restaurants and bars. Plus 5 mins from one of the main metro stations, so getting anywhere else by metro is very easy.
Easy to get around the city on foot too, nothing too far away. However the public transport - metro, buses and trams are all very cheap and easy to use.

There are so many fantastic things to see in Budapest.
Anything bad that anybody has said about this hotel, dont listen!!!! The hotel is great, and if booked through the right operator... us such good value for money too.
If you need to know any information about it, or things to see/do in Budapest, feel free to contact me!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Estilo Fashion Hotel
Estilo Fashion Hotel
#47 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#14 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
District V / Inner City
Residence Baron
Residence Baron
#53 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Soho Boutique Hotel
Soho Boutique Hotel
#82 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,197 reviews
District V / Inner City
Cosmo City Hotel
Cosmo City Hotel
#56 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Budapest

Property: Boutique Hotel Budapest
Address: So utca 6, Budapest 1056, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel Budapest Budapest**** is probably the best design hotel in Budapest. Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!! The hotel is located in the heart of Budapest, a few meters from Vaci utca, in the midst of the city's best bars, restaurants, most exclusive shops, a few steps from the Central Market Hall, Gellert Thermal Bath and the Danube Cruise Terminal. All 74 rooms reflect the very popular, modern yet elegant style of international boutique hotels. All rooms were renovated during spring 2011 and now feature hardwood floor/parquette and design wallpaper. The newly opened ARAZ Bistro provides full (hot/cold) buffet breakfast in the morning, delicious, international lunch and dinner during daytime and evenings with friendly prices, and cocktails after dark. Underground parking is available, must be booked in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boutique Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing