We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in a great city. But Not quite 5 Star.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
Ranked #67 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a great city. But Not quite 5 Star.”
Reviewed 17 June 2011

The Queens court Hotel and Residence, is a fantastic little hotel for a quick break. Friendly service, quiet clean suites and a good swimming pool/sauna combo await you. For the price is was perfect for our needs. The hotel is in a great spot as well, right in the middle of the cool 7th district of town where a lot of nice bars and restaurant's are suited.
However the Hotel is classed as a five star and as other reviews have said it really isn't up to the standards required by such a claim. Little things like the room not having a DVD player and the TV having limited access to channels, towels were slightly ripped and bath robes did not come as standard to the room. Also there was no kettle and only a horrible capsule coffee machine which made vile coffee. These are all little things but they add up and a true 5 star hotel would have provided this and more.
The one bad thing about the Hotel was the food, I ordered room service once (which for me is an all time low) and what was presented to me was awful and probably the worst burger I have ever eaten, it was tasteless and was literally like eating cardboard and the chips where fired within an inch of their life. I can't comment on the breakfast because after that experience I did not want to eat at the hotel and at 12 euros a person it's a little steep considering you can get great food all over the city.

Other than this, I would recommend this hotel. But it's not 5 star by quite away. The rooms are great but they lack the little touches, Full marks to the staff though as they were incredibly helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tebbotron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    347
    104
    21
    19
See reviews for
135
558
41
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2011

This hotel was in an excellent location for those wanting to be within walking distance of the popular sights in Budapest. The hotel staff were courteous and helpful. The rooms were decent size. The large exercise room is a major perk of staying here. The pool and sauna are also well maintained. The only criticism I have is that we did hear other guests in the hallway at night and in the morning, but overall the rooms are pretty quiet. Overall, this hotel is a great deal for those looking for a luxury hotel in a convenient location without having to overspend.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindsaynr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munster, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

We have just returned from a fantastic trip with great friends in Budapest and the Queens Court Hotel exceeded our expectations.
The staff at check in were friendly and helpful and are only too happy to assist you with directions etc.
The rooms are wonderful, clean, well decorated and well equipped. The beds are a dream, soft and comfortable with amazing pillows.
The leisure facility is small but clean and well maintained, I'm not sure I agree with the review about the pool attandant, he's a serious fellow but wasn't rude to us.......
My only complaint about this hotel would be the food, the breakfast is WAY over priced for the quality of the food which is certainly not 4/5 star quality, unless we're mistaken all the food is from a low cost supermarket, certainly all the yoghurt, meats etc, nothing wrong with low cost supermarket food but at €12 a head the quality should be much better, the restaurant staff were anything but friendly.
If you head out of the hotel take a left and your first right and up a couple of blocks there is a whole square of fantastic bars and restaurants serving wonderful food including great breakfast
This hotel is wonderful and I got the impression that the restaurant is run serperately, so the bad food review is no reflection on the quality of the hotel, stay here you won't regret it :-)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie-Tipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Lovely hotel in an ideal location central to most transport in the city. Taxis seemed to be a bit pricy from the hotel as compared to the return journey price. Only downfall here is the breakfast poor choice for the cost.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pearoso27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

I have been to Budapest 25-30 times since 1986 and I must say this is the best deal I have ever gotten in that city. Tripadvisor hooked me up with this place and I could hardly have been happier.

It is a wonderful courtyard hotel off the main street, but very close to everything a tourist could want. Less than five minutes to the hip cafes of Liszt Ferenc Ter and to the Oktogon Metro stop which will take you anywhere.

The suite with balcony was a delight for morning coffee. The staff overall was very helpful...even going to the drugstore to get cough syrup for us!!!!

Only two down comments for the entire stay. The hotel had a film crew check in just prior to our arrival so the room was just less than perfect (there was a banana left in our fridge). But the big complaint is the surly pool attendant. By the time we left we were calling him the "Pool Nazi". He was even nasty to little children. He has to go!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donbacsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

I visited this hotel last weekend with a couple of friends for a weekend break in Budapest. I have to admit, that for a 5* property the price of EUR 60,- for a superior suite was very good value.
Hotel is located some 10-15min walk to the Váci utca and some 5min walk to Andrassi út. in a quiet side street. Altough the transport system in Budapest is good, the city is easily walkable.
Our rooms were facing the inner courtyard so there was absolutely no noise at all. Check-in was efficient and quick. Rooms are nice, clean and spacious although for a 5* property I would expect more treats than just a minibar and coffee maker. The housekeeping did a fine job, but they did not replenish the shower gels/shampoo (that is again not 5*) Also the WiFi in our room was not working during all our stay (but in the lobby it was ok).
The swimming pool area is very nice, sauna cannot accommodate more than 3 people at once and what they call a "jacuzzi" is just a small pool with warmer water (no whirlpool at all). Fitness centre is also nice and clean.

Altough I did not try the restaurant, it looks trendy and fine.

Basicaly, I would clasify this hotel as a decent four star property.

The main problem we had was the staff, not all of them of course, but especially the man looking after the pool was rather unfriendly and definitely did not provide us with a 5* service (actually not even a 3*) and also the security/bellboy who looked very bothered to store our luggage after check-out.

If you are not expecting much, you will find this place a nice one to stay at. I was expecting a lot more in terms of service, but looking at the price, I was not dissatisfied...

TIP: Restaurant Menza (Liszt Ferenc tér 2) which is located some 5min walk from the hotel serves very tasty international as well as traditional hungarian meals and for a margin of price in the centre...definately recommend but advance reservation is advised...

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lucasprague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

I bough a Time out in Budapest package which included two nights, free entrance to spa, one dinner, breakfast, bottle of wine and chocolate in the room. The price was low in comparison with the service you get in the hotel.

The word apartment in the hotel's name stands for itself. We had a two bedroom apartment, with kitchen, bathroom and toilet. The kitchen was fully equipped with appliances and dishes. Bathroom even included washing machine. Everything was comfy, a little weekend flat, perfect.

Breakfast are nice, Hungarian specialties are served as well as traditional breakfast meals.

Easy to reach the city center - 10 mins on foot

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhereToGoNextTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Residence
Boscolo Residence
#62 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,197 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#19 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Court Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Court Hotel & Residence

Property: Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
Address: Dob utca 63, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Budapest
#46 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#47 Business Hotel in Budapest
#48 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Queen's Court Hotel & Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Queen's Court Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen`s Court Hotel And Residence
Queens Court Hotel Residence
Queens Court Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing