We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located; nice rooms; pity about the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
Ranked #81 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2009

Stayed for 4 nights in January 2009. This hotel is centrally located, only 15 minutes walk from the Western rail station and about the same to the Danube. It also just a few blocks away from Kiraly Utca with its nice range of bars, restuarants and shops.

I had a Silver Suite and it was exactly as shown in the pictures, very well equipped with full kitchen facilities including oven, dishwasher and full size fridge. Rooms were spotless and housekeeping did a great job every day, although they are so discrete I never saw them once during my four day stay.

The silver suite has plenty of room and the bathroom is also larger than an average hotel bathroom - very powerful shower, lots of towels and again maintainted to an exceptionally high standard.

There is a nice swimming pool, sauna and fitness area which although i didnt use, looked clean, modern and well equipped.

The main problem with this hotel was the staff. They never smiled, barely spoke and generally came across as if you being there was an inconvenience. Fortunatley I didnt have to deal with the staff too much.

This hotel markets itself as a five star property. However you should be aware that it does not come close what you would expect from a five star star property in western Europe.

Overall, rooms are fantastic, location is excellent - highly recommended and will definatley stay again when I return.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GLASGOWCHILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,063)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

633 - 639 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2009

We were accually informed by the members of the staff working in the breakfast area that breakfast was included in our price and that the receipt slip that I had to sign on the third day of the three we stayed for, was 'just for administration'. What bull! When we checked out the hotel manager treated us like idiots for questioning the bill that was presented for us - a bill where we had to pay for breakfast! He showed us the other - unsigned - receipt slips for the other mornings, nevermind that we had gotten other information previously from his own staff.

We were treated with a hostility by the hotel manager that is unprecedented! He admitted that we of course should have signed all the slips but didn't make an effort to explain or appologize or compensate the mistake done by him and his staff, he just talked down to us in a really condescenting way.

I' ve stayed at many many hotels, mostly in Europe, but also in other places - I have never ever been treated so badly! So hostile and unprofessional. Could I do it again I would never had booked The Queen Court Hotel hotel, we left angry and hurt.

Do not book this hotel because if you question anything they're saying you will be treated like an idiot!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank MariaMaria3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
serioustraveller007, Manager at Queen's Court Hotel & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2009

It is truly an unexceptional behaviour, and we are very much sorry for this. This GM is not working for the Hotel anymore.
It is really a shame that all the other experiences of the guest went wrong because of the manor of the former GM who seemed to be very unprofessional in many other ways as well. Please come to the Queen's Court again, where you can enjoy the five star services again. We got rid of this bad person and now everything is in the right way again.
Our hotel management is sorry for the inconveninces and we guarantee that this will never ever happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2009

Would highly recommend this hotel... we stayed over the new year period. Budapest was sooooo cold - the hotel was a warm cosy haven! Went with another couple and we booked 2 silver suites and although both slightly different they were excellent. Separate kitchen living area, cosy bedroom and lovely bathroom. Husband used the pool and sauna facility and said it was small but very enjoyable. The place is spotless and staff are very helpful... we didnt eat in the hotel as its in such a good location it was handy to pop out in the mornings and grab a breakfast at a more reasonable price!

Location wise the hotel is on a quiet side street - 5 minute walk (turn left out of the hotel then right and keep walking for a few minutes) and you are in a lively street full of lovely bars and restaurants. This street brings you out onto Andrassy where the Opera is and many more restaurants and shops. If you turn right out of the hotel you can catch the tram which will do a loop of the city if you wanted to see it all from a seat!

Would stay there again if I was going back....

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TrishBrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2009

Me and my husband absolutely loved this little hotel. It had a pool, gym, sauna (not working at the time of our stay), underground garage, and restaurant on the premisess, as well as freely accessible PC in the loby, which was convenient for checking email. You could also rent a key board and access the internet through a TV in your room.
The room had a kingsize bed and a kitchenette - both are a small miracle to find in Budapest for a reasonable price. Nice extra was a set of bathrobe and slipers, which are really handy if you plan on visiting any of the Budapest's outdoor spas.

Location: It is slightly off the center, but very much within a walking distance. If you arrive by a train to Kelety Station as we did, you'll find the hotel to be in a perfect spot as it is half way between a train station and the city center.

The hotel is very new and the overall appearance was very pleasant and clean. The staff was also very helpfull.
Some hotels in Budapes call themselves 4-star, but are far from it. This one was not one of them. It trully deserves the rating. And suprisingly the cost was reasonable.
We booked with Expedia (but I checked some other travel sites and the price was the same) and we payed about $90 per night including all the fees and taxes. If you plan on staying in this hotel, MAKE SURE TO BOOK IN ADVANCE THROUGH A TRAVEL SITE. If you try to book with the hotel you'll pay much more. The price sheet we saw in the loby was quoting over 230 Euros per night.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Brouczech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2008

This was an overall wonderful experience. This 4 star hotel will go up in price! We had a beautiful bronze suite in a central location. We were 5 to 10 minutes away from all local attractions.

The hotel has bronze to platinum suites which increase in sq. ft. Ours was perfect for 2.

Our 3 day stay was fantastic and unforgettable!

The hotel is kept to immaculate standards. So are the rooms. The staff is professional and knowledgeable. Our cleaning lady made the room spotless every day. There's a beautiful indoor pool and free sauna that opens up to a private courtyard.

We did not have the buffet at this hotel as there are hundreds of cafes and bakeries in this area and had to try them! Gerbaud was one of our favourites! It looked incredible every morning though as we left the hotel. The hotel is owned by summit hotel group and has hotels in Vienna, Prague and Budapest. I recommend any of the Summit group hotels. 2 new ones are opening in Vienna in Dec. 08 and Jan. 09

We paid an average of $120 CAD per night and it was well worth it.

Absolutely recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WorldCitizen2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2008

Spent 4 nights in Queens court and it was an excellent hotel, quiet, helpful staff and nice food. Swimming pool had restricted opening times (Not open 10 am - 5pm) but was well maintained.

Short walk (20 mins) down to the danube, or 2 mins will have you at the metro to take you down. The hotel provides single journey metro tickets so you can get them before you leave.

I got a good deal via hotels.com, less than the hotels own rate. Without the discount it may have been better value to stay elsewhere. If you get what you think is good value go for it!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Bluechip78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2008

We ended up here after the hotel we planned to stay in (Soho) didn't manage to open on the day they planned. The well known last minute booking agency we used put us in queens for the first 2 nights of our stay instead in a junior suite on B&B.

Location - very good, close to metros and on relatively quiet street. Less than 10 minute walk to Liszt square bars and restaurants and easy to walk to the Danube too.

Hotel & staff - very polite, check-in was quick and easy. Pool was small but perfectly formed and in a beautiful chanderliered room. Nice little jacuzzi and sauna too. Breakfast was good but not exceptional with a buffet or hot food on order.

Room - junior suite with small balcony overlooking the street. Good little kitchen and living area with dining table, sofa etc. Nice bathroom with bath & shower...plus a washing machine and the all important hairdryer! Huge comfy bed and flat screen TV. All absolutely pristine.

Overall - we'd never usually book a 5* hotel (other than through work) so it's difficult to rate. We thought it was great, tidy and comfortable rather than luxurious and exceptional. So, if it's cheaper than the exceptional 5* hotels (gresham etc) then I'd really recommend this. If you're used to 5* and expect to be stunned then go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cls_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#42 of 336 in Budapest
4,470 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Residence
Boscolo Residence
#86 of 336 in Budapest
731 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#16 of 336 in Budapest
7,456 reviews
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
#128 of 336 in Budapest
1,494 reviews
Bliss Hotel And Wellness
#125 of 336 in Budapest
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Court Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Court Hotel & Residence

Address: Dob utca 63, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#47 Business Hotel in Budapest
#56 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £45 - £596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Queen's Court Hotel & Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Queen's Court Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen`s Court Hotel And Residence
Queens Court Hotel Residence
Queens Court Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing