We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Stay - Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Budapest Danube

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Novotel Budapest Danube
Ranked #57 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay - Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2008

I stayed at Novotel for 2 nights. It was a great hotel - service, cleanliness, and location perfect. It is approximately 10mins walk to the chain bridge. It is located on the Buda side, but don't let that deter you. Pest is literally a walk across the bridge and everything is around the corner. The metro is only a few minute walk from the hotel and if you take the red line - it's approximately 3 stops until you're in the heart of Pest.

The lobby area is fantastic - ask for a latte, they are great at the hotel and reasonably priced. Also, if you are flying into Budapest and are looking to take a taxi, go to the RONA TAXI booth, they will take you right to the hotel for approx 20 euro (from what I remember).

All in all, it was a great stay and I would fully recommend this hotel to anyone planning a visit to Budapest.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sarbear77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    720
    159
    33
    7
See reviews for
417
484
86
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2008

I searched tripadvisor website to find a suitable hotel for a 3day vacation with my familly (father and my brother). After searching for more than a week, I concluded that Novotel Danube was my choice...and it was the perfect choice. It is situated near the river at Buda side. We booked 2 rooms (1 single and 1 double). Our rooms were at 4th floor (smoking rooms). Even though we dont smoke, you could not feel that it was a smoking room_NO SMELLS AT ALL.
We arrived at 7pm, therefore we checked in earlier paying extra 50€ per room and they offered us free breakfast which really made us feel welcomed.
The room was big enough, had good heat and the bathroom was separated in 2 rooms (check my photos).
The breakfast was continental and offered different types of coffees (american, french, espresso, cappuccino). The last night we had our dinner at the hotel restaurant. It was good, quite expensive.
The hotel is very close (2 blocks) from metro station. At the metro station there is a groccery store. Don't use minibar's products (3 € for a 200ml water bottle).

Finally, I advise you to choose this hotel for your vacations in Budapest. Next time I visit the city, I will definetely stay there.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Μαρία_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2008

A new hotel on the buda side of the city within 5 min walking distance from the red metro line. We booked a superior room without a view as the river can be viewed from the conference rooms or the bar/restaurant. The room was lovely, reception very helpful, we had a communication problem but recieved free drinks as an appology. The hotel has small gym with sauna (which you need to request to be turned on 30 mins prior to use)
Much prefered the Buda side and would definatly recommend this particular hotel. The staff are keen to help and will assist you with booking trips, taxi's etc.
The tram also stops just 100 yards from the hotel.

  • Liked — Very new, clean and modern
  • Disliked — the bar closed at 12am although there was mini bar in room
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kellyCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2008

This hotel is mainly used by business men as already stated but was great for a sightseeing weekend. It is in the quiet Buda area within walking distance to most sights and good access to trams. The hotel is furnished in a very modern style. The hotel staff were very helpful, pointing us in the direction for the best spa to take the children to. Which they thoroughly enjoyed.

The rooms were a good size accommodating 2 adults and 2 children easily. The toilet was also seperate to the bathroom which is useful when a family is sharing.

Breakfast was very good with a wide selection of hot and cold foods. The restaurant was also good at night for dinner too. There was a good supermarket nearby and a pizza express along with other restaurants.

  • Liked — nice decor
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheMcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2008

New feel, contempory style. Stayed on top floor with a Danube view that looked right at the Parliament building. Room and bathroom were both fairly large especially for European standards, the staff was helpful, found the beds to be quite comfortable, and didn't hear any other guests or street noise in the week that I was there. If you don't mind a 10 min walk, you can easily get to the Pest downtown, and the subway runs a couple of blocks from the hotel. Especially good at $150/night even with the horrible exchange rate.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank DJDJColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kotka, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2008

Me and my girlfriend stayed in this hotel for a 7 nights during the New-Year period. We travel a lot, so at this point a few points for others.

Hotel is suffiently well located with an easy access to several of Budapests finest sights and restaurants. Hotel is clean and well maintained with very friendly and helpful staff. Credits for that part!

There are few lessons learned conserning this particular hotel, which result to my understanding from booking over internet via agency-ad:
1. If you have special requirements besides of what is announced in the ad, be sure that you get a confirmation that they are met before payment.
2. Even though, there is a positive answer to the request you made, there is no quarantee it actually remains so when you arrive. (ref. to the situationig of the room)
3. Be aware that if the hotel has made an error in charging you (which was done in advance) . They will not inform you until you check out. In our case it was an unwelcomed surprise at the moment of checking out. Just left the bad taste in our mouths.

Food in the hotel-restaurant is by far good, but quite a bit more expensive compared to the same quality elsewhere. I`would not rate breakfast buffet to the top 10 in terms of price value (17é)

Al in all...excluding shortcomings mentioned, we were quite satisfied.

  • Liked — Service, location in the city
  • Disliked — uncertainties upon arrival and departure...as mentioned
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank xtimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2007

We stayed 2 nights at the Novotel Danube & had no problems whatsoever. We only ate once at the hotel & that was breakfast on our last day. We found the variety of food available fantastic. No matter who you were you could find something to eat there & as many times as you wanted. For 17 euros we could have found something cheaper elsewhere I'm sure but for our last morning we ate there for the convenience but were very pleasantly surprised.

The staff in the hotel were lovely, all spoke English & were very helpful.

The room was nice & spacious & the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was small but functional however the shower cubicle was VERY small. It was a little tricky to get into & close the door....and we're not big!

The only complaint I would have is that we got a Zona taxi from the airport to the hotel which cost us 4200HUF. When we asked Reception to book us a Zona cab back to the airport they said they would call but couldn't guarantee that they would turn up. The hotel did however have a taxi company that would turn up & it would cost us 6500HUF guaranteed. We took this one as we didn't want to be stranded at the hotel. You should check this out. We didn't have time to.

All in all I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. The location, on the river & directly across from Parliament buildings, may seem very far away from Pest but it is really great. We had no trouble walking to Buda Castle, the Chain Bridge or into Pest. In fact we walked everywhere (we were lucky with the weather) as it's the only way to really see a city.

We really only slept in the hotel but from what we experienced we would go back & stay again gladly. Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Rettoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#79 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
District I / Buda
art'otel budapest
art'otel budapest
#39 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,569 reviews
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Regnum Residence
#67 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
Novotel Budapest City
#89 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Budapest Danube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Budapest Danube

Property: Novotel Budapest Danube
Address: Bem rakpart 33/34, Budapest 1027, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Budapest
#38 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#42 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#45 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Budapest Danube 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Budapest Danube is the perfect hotel for a holiday or short break in Budapest. This 4 star hotel on the Buda side of the city, between Margaret Bridge and Chain Bridge, overlooks the Danube and the Parliament. Walk just 10 minutes to the stunning World Heritage Buda Castle or a weekend of fantastic shopping in the cosmopolitan city centre. Enjoy the hotel restaurant and bar and unwind in our gym and sauna. The hotel is fully accessible for guests with limited mobility. Onsite parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Novotel Budapest Danube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Budapest Danube Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Danube
Budapest Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing