We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Budapest Danube
Ranked #64 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

It's my second time at this hotel, and it's a pleasure every time. Rooms are nice, staff is helpful and the restaurant is very good! Breakfast is also amazing. The view from the restaurant to the palace is indescribable!
A reasonable and lovely hotel that I will recommend to anyone going to Budapest.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siljeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gergely_kollin, General Manager at Novotel Budapest Danube, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Danube in Budapest. I look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Gergely Kollin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

624 - 630 of 1,757 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

I spent 6 nights at Novotel by the Danube.
I have many great things to say: the location is great, close to Margit bridge, along the beautiful river. The service was wonderful. Rooms and hotel are in great condition. The breakfast is great, offering a wide selection of food.

Downsides:
- Connecting to the WiFi each time was way too slow, but once connected wifi was fast and convenient
- Room service - the food was super salty. I would skip it next time.

Overall, I'm very happy with the nights spent there and I would definitly consider going back to Novotel next time I'm in Budapest.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirlulit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gergely_kollin, General Manager at Novotel Budapest Danube, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Novotel Danube in Budapest. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Gergely Kollin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We were delighted we chose this hotel for our 4 night stay in this beautiful city and would recommend it to anyone thinking of going to Budapest in the future. The hotel must have the best view of Budapest's most iconic building , the Parliament building on the opposite side of the River Danube. Normally there are one or two negatives to mention for hotels but we can not think of any negatives here. The only thing I would say is that the outside of the property does not do the inside justice. Very small point indeed. The staff are very friendly and very helpful, they are a credit to the management. As mentioned above the hotel is in an excellent position on the Buda side of the river and whilst there are more restaurants/bars etc on the Pest side there are enough nearby one in particular which I can't mention by name but is only 5 minutes away and does an excellent all you can eat/drink menu. If I was returning to Budapest I would have no hesitation in going back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get one overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gergely_kollin, General Manager at Novotel Budapest Danube, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Great to hear all went well with your stay and many many thanks for mentioning the staff, whom really work hard to satisfy our customers. Can't wait to be at your service again soon, Gergely Kollin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The hotel is right by the Danube and opposite the Houses of Parliament and in between two bridges connecting to the Pest side of the city. It is a couple of blocks from bus and subway stops. The hop on hop off bus and boat stops about two blocks from the hotel and that makes it convenient for us to tour the city.
Rooms have all the facilities needed (good wifi), though artificial lighting could be better.
Staff were generally very helpful and friendly.

Breakfast is buffet and offered a variety of options, which are regularly replenished.

We also enjoyed the restaurants in this area. Cheaper than in "Pest" and a higher quality of food not aimed at tourists.

Overall would certainly consider using again if we return to Budapest.

Room Tip: Well worth paying the extra for a room with a view over the Danube
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s1151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gergely_kollin, General Manager at Novotel Budapest Danube, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Thank you very much for your review. My Team will be delighted to read your comments and great to hear you are planning to come back. Kind regards, Gergely Kollin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel for three days before starting the river cruise.

The hotel is across the Danube from the parliament buildings and in between two bridges connecting to the Pest side of the city. It is a couple of blocks from bus and subway stops.

The hop on hop off bus and boat stops about two blocks from the hotel and that makes it convenient for us to tour the city.

Breakfast buffet is good but perhaps busy.

The room is comfortable with a side view of the river.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oliverhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gergely_kollin, General Manager at Novotel Budapest Danube, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time and leave your feedback. I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Gergely Kollin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

On our Honeymoon...spent seven days in Budapest. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful wherever you were in the hotel...reception, restaurant or room service. Brilliant view from room of many landmarks and attractions, day or night view was breathtaking. The hotel room was very comfortable, nice size. We chose to do a lot of walking as the hotel is situated close to most landmarks and places of interest. We also used the Hop On-Hop Off tour buses and boats which were very convenient too for getting about.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor and the room was soundproof which was good. Room with river view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LEONIKANARIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gergely_kollin, General Manager at Novotel Budapest Danube, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Great to hear your Honeymoon went well and I am so glad we cold contribute to that. Thank you for your nice words and hope to welcome you back for your aniversary. Kind regard, Gergely Kollin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

On holiday,we spent six days in Bp and enjoyed the convenience of the location to nearby transpo hub and bus access to everywhere. It was easy to walk to Chain Bridge, funicular to Castle Hill, and other sites. A bridge walk took us into "pest town" and parliament et al. It was beautiful to see Parliament across the Danube River and convient to grab river cruise boats. The room was very nice and the staff very accommodating. Breakfast offered a variety of options to build up stamina for the daily tours. We had a small problem with the internet out of service in the lobby a couple days off-and-on, but we survived. Wait staff in bar and restaurant were very nice.

Room Tip: Corner room with view of Danube (Duna) and Parliament spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Thank DONALD M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gergely_kollin, General Manager at Novotel Budapest Danube, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your review and my Team will be happy to see you have nejoyed your stay with us. Hope to welcome you back soon, Gergely Kollin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#77 of 335 in Budapest
1,885 reviews
District I / Buda
art'otel budapest
art'otel budapest
#42 of 335 in Budapest
2,868 reviews
Novotel Budapest City Hotel
#93 of 335 in Budapest
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Regnum Residence
#87 of 335 in Budapest
989 reviews
NH Budapest City
#74 of 335 in Budapest
1,530 reviews
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Budapest Danube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Budapest Danube

Address: Bem rakpart 33/34, Budapest 1027, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Budapest
#38 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#45 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#45 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £62 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Budapest Danube 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Budapest Danube is the perfect hotel for a holiday or short break in Budapest. This 4 star hotel on the Buda side of the city, between Margaret Bridge and Chain Bridge, overlooks the Danube and the Parliament. Walk just 10 minutes to the stunning World Heritage Buda Castle or a weekend of fantastic shopping in the cosmopolitan city centre. Enjoy the hotel restaurant and bar and unwind in our gym and sauna. The hotel is fully accessible for guests with limited mobility. Onsite parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Budapest Danube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Budapest Danube Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Danube
Budapest Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing