We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Budapest Danube
Ranked #64 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights during a business trip. The hotel is located in a very nice place, with the great view of Parliament building, which is the most glamorous building in Budapest. It takes 40 minutes by taxi from the airport to reach the hotel and you pay around 30 euros. It is a 2 min walking to the metro, bus stops, and also hop-on hop-off busses so it was great. There are also some nice restaurants in that area where you can have a dinner. Beware that it is not in the city center and not close to touristic attractions at all. You need to take a bus or tram, or you can take a nice walk near the riverside (takes 20-30 minutes).
The staff was welcoming and helpful. As happens in many hotels, my room card (which is also used for the elevator) was not working sometimes because I put it near my cell phone, and they fixed it quickly when I asked. Breakfast was very good, many varieties and good view in the restaurant. But it was the same every morning.
The room was clean and large enough. Nevertheless, the pillows had a strange smell although they seemed clean. I checked them all, and they all had the same smell so I assumed it was the smell of their cleaner, but it honestly smelled like dirty hair and was disgusting.
The room had a desk and a chair, and a small sofa. The toilet and the bathroom were separated. There was a sliding door for the bathroom, which stuck all the time. It was getting on my nerves, so I left it open! It was not exactly meeting my expectations as I paid 110 euros for one night. The stuff helped me call a taxi to the office every morning, and to the airport. They had an agreement with some taxis, which were more comfy and had better drivers than the normal ones. Overall it was not value for that money, unless you like to pay for the city view instead of comfort.

Room Tip: Try to get a Parliament view, because you only pay for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kkbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gergely_kollin, General Manager at Novotel Budapest Danube, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for your review and it was good to read overall you were happy with our services. I will look into the issues you mentioned and I do apologize if this caused you inconvenience. Hope to welcome you back, kind regards, Gergely Kollin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

536 - 542 of 1,739 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

So, my mother and I stayed here while visiting our family and we booked through a vacation club, which made me uneasy at first because it was a new one, but the second we got here, I was amazed at how beautiful it was and how kind everyone was as well. People of many nationalities and walks of life come here and the staff here catered to all of them! The location is perfect as it's right across the Parliament building and even if your room doesn't have a view, simply go downstairs and you'll see it; it's truly spectacular.

Room service was great! It's pricey in Forints (the currency), but not too much in USD, but absolutely delicious! On top of that, the breakfast is AMAZING! Yes, it's the same thing usually every day but honestly, there's so much to choose from, I never got bored and trust me I am such a foodie. The staff was friendly as friendly can be, but I did notice an extra pep when we spoke to them in Hungarian(As we're Hungarian too). (Which of course isn't a big deal and sort of expected when you are visiting their country). The drinks were good too!(Tequila Sunrise's were the best).

As mentioned before, the location is great because it's like a 10/15 minute walk to Széchenyi (Chain) Bridge, which is beautifully lit at night time. It's a very safe area too, I had no fear walking along the riverbank to the chain bridge at 9:30PM! There are also some super neat and cute cafe's around the area too. If you're thinking of going to the Pest side, which is where all the social events are really, then you have several modes of transport there,but I believe easiest might be the Taxi's there. That, or if it's a nice day, you can definitely walk there too.

Budapest itself is definitely becoming more a tourist spot so you'll find many people here English-speaking, so don't feel too nervous about coming here because everyone here is pretty helpful. Hungarian(Magyar) language is a very polite language so many of the locals are very polite and will help you out; as will the staff at the hotel! The Novotel is definitely a great place to stay at, I really hope you enjoy your trip there as much as I did!

Novotel Danube - köszönöm szépen!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JoHoDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gergely_kollin, General Manager at Novotel Budapest Danube, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest, thank you so much for sharing this with your felow travellers and I am glad you had had a great stay with us. Also thanks for promoting Budapest as one of the most beautiful city in the world. See you soon, a Viszontlátásra, Gergely Kollin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The location is superb located only a 10 minute walk to the lighted bridge and the bottom of Castle Hill where there is a cable car that can take you to the top if you don't feel like walking. There is also the underground subway and tram stop that can take you into Budapest down town which goes to all the major city cites. The river view is beautiful and the hotel is located directly across from the Parliament which is amazing both day and night.The staff are very good. The morning manager is wonderful! He is very personable and relatable. We had the executive suite which is located on the corner which means great big windows on the side and the front of the room. The bathroom and toilet are separated which gives it just a little bit more of a luxury feel. The The room was beautiful and clean. Great Wi-Fi. And good TV channels to choose from.

Room Tip: The river view is worth it and if you can afford the upgrade to the corner executive suite - DO IT...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler_Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gergely_kollin, General Manager at Novotel Budapest Danube, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guest, it was great to learn you were satisfied with our services and this makes the effort of my Team worthwhile, so Thank You! See you soon, Gergely Kollin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Very nice hotel near public transportation. Great rooms with views of the Budapest Parliament. Situated on walking path along the Danube. Food and beverage very good. Wifi very good. Staff very helpful!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank VickieJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gergely_kollin, General Manager at Novotel Budapest Danube, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank You so much for your nice words and my Team will be delighted to hear that! See you soon, Gergely Kollin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here to have a quick break from work and price wise it was in the middle of the spectrum but once we arrived we were kind of shocked it didn't cost more!

We had an amazing view of the parliament building which one it was dark was beautiful with all the lights!
The location was also perfect for us short walk over to the Pest side and makes a nice walk to Margaret Island on a sunny day.
The staff were the friendliest people I have met in a hotel and seemed to genuinely want to help with any issues.
Breakfast got a bit repetitive by the time we were leaving but for a hotel it is to be expected, but the choice was fantastic. The hotel just seemed to cater for every nationality.

Room Tip: High floor & river facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chelskiix3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gergely_kollin, General Manager at Novotel Budapest Danube, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest, Thank You for taking the time and share your positive experience. Much appreciated and I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again. Kind regards, Gergely Kollin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Fantastic location opposite the parliament building. Lovely inside with modern decor and very clean. Good parking facilities. Great food at good prices. Staff in the bar and restaurant really didn't want to be there, they were the only downside.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickeymoo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gergely_kollin, General Manager at Novotel Budapest Danube, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for your review and I am glad you had had a good stay with us. I am sorry about the bar service in the bar, which I will look into myself. Hope to welcome you back soon, Kind regards, Gergely Kollin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Convenient location, good restaurants in the neighborhood. Perfect view from the rooms in front of the river towards the city. Only a short walk takes you to the major attractions. Value for money.
Friendly staff and perfect breakfast in the morning with views on the Danube.

Room Tip: Ask for river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Joeplaboem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gergely_kollin, General Manager at Novotel Budapest Danube, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest, Thank You very much for taking the time and provide us with your feedback. I am glad you had been happy with our service and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Gergely Kollin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#77 of 334 in Budapest
1,862 reviews
District I / Buda
art'otel budapest
art'otel budapest
#42 of 334 in Budapest
2,841 reviews
Novotel Budapest City Hotel
#92 of 334 in Budapest
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Regnum Residence
#88 of 334 in Budapest
986 reviews
Fraser Residence Budapest
#18 of 334 in Budapest
1,203 reviews
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Budapest Danube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Budapest Danube

Address: Bem rakpart 33/34, Budapest 1027, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Budapest
#38 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#45 Family Hotel in Budapest
#46 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £62 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Budapest Danube 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Budapest Danube is the perfect hotel for a holiday or short break in Budapest. This 4 star hotel on the Buda side of the city, between Margaret Bridge and Chain Bridge, overlooks the Danube and the Parliament. Walk just 10 minutes to the stunning World Heritage Buda Castle or a weekend of fantastic shopping in the cosmopolitan city centre. Enjoy the hotel restaurant and bar and unwind in our gym and sauna. The hotel is fully accessible for guests with limited mobility. Onsite parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Budapest Danube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Budapest Danube Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Danube
Budapest Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing