We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury bath loungeclub”

Szechenyi Palmahaz (Szechenyi Palm House)
Ranked #30 of 112 Spas & Wellness in Budapest
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come and recharge with us between the historic walls of Szechenyi Bath and live a special spa experience. Situated on the top floor Szechenyi Palmahaz will be your oasis during your time in the Thermal Spa and will allow you a complete relaxation with excellent services in a unique, all green ambience... By appointments, please!
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Luxury bath loungeclub”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We spend a wonderful day at the Szechenyi Palmahaz spa, honestly mainly because we opted for the vip treatment with the relaxing area. The day would not have been as good if we did not add this extra to our visit to Szechenyi Baths and Pool. Free fruit juices and fruit salads all day, tranquil environment, great lounge chairs and friendly staff. When the downstairs baths became to crowded and noisy to our taste we moved back upstairs. It looks and feels like a sophisticated lounge club on top of an ancient bathhouse. And that is exactly what is is.
To complement it even more I would add showering facilities and changing rooms.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Steit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    1
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fabulous massage -- A great add-on to a visit to the Szechenyi Baths”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Turn-of-the-century grandeur; you are swept back in time. Since we came without towels and were tired from many hours of travel from the U.S., we opted for the spa package that included plush robes, a 30-minute massage in the "penthouse" oasis, complimentary fruit (a lovely fruit salad bowl prepared fresh each time -- as much as you wanted), hot tea, and a quiet relaxation area with hammocks, lounge chairs and magazines. Prior to our massage, we visited the various interior pools, saunas, and steam baths. My favorite interior pool looked like a traditional Turkish bath with gorgeous maroon marble columns. The vibe is convivial and relaxed throughout. Morning and afternoon are good times to visit; by evening, there are loads of people who come after work. We had our massages and were very impressed by the skill of the masseurs. The Palmahaz staff are professional and very gracious. After more relaxation in the oasis, we ventured outside to the pools in the courtyard. (If you've got flip-flops, take them! There are tiny bits of gravel in the courtyard!) We enjoyed lounging in the large, warm outdoor pool. Our absolute favorite pool was a fast "lazy river" feature in the center of the other main outdoor pool. You jump into the current and off you go, round and round! A total party and everyone was having a good time. Szechenyi Baths came highly recommended by a friend who grew up in Budapest. They are clearly a local favorite and a great way to immerse yourself in the local scene (pun intended). We stayed for about 5 hours and left happy, clean, and very, very relaxed!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Caitlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godollo, Hungary
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

During our Budapest visit we decided to make a reservation in Szechenyi Palmahaz because of the recommendation of our host in the hotel we stayed. We wanted anyway to come to the szechenyi thermal bath but having the possibility to spend our time in the Palmahaz with the package that included also a massage we really had a special all-day spa experience. I suggest to reserve for morning hours because there is more space and calm.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bendegúz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Highly recommended!!!”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We spent a morning in Szechenyi Palmahaz enjoying also the pools and the other services of the Bath. We had a really nice time, wonderful massage and excellent service, we would recommend it and would turn back again...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Csabi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Most wonderful of days”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

LOVE,LOVE, LOVED this place!!!!
I was so glad I upgraded to the palm house. I had the most wonderful massage, fresh fruit, iced tea. I highly recommend it, I want to go back and bring my sister this time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabrina1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Szechenyi Palmahaz (Szechenyi Palm House) also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Szechenyi Palmahaz (Szechenyi Palm House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing