We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A huge disappointment” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hostel Buda

Grand Hostel Buda
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hostel Buda
Ranked #274 of 651 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A huge disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The stuff was so unpolite, we didn't even dare to ask for drinks in the bar. I don't think I met anyone as rude she was. I really do not recommend anyone to stay in this hostel. I never was treated like this before anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 360backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    9
    8
    0
    5
See reviews for
4
2
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pecs, Hungary
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Very co-operative and flexible staff, the location and surrounding environment is amazing, the decoration is stylish, the ambience is soothing, it is classy, tasteful and the music at the bar is stunning! I quote one of my students, "In twenty years I'm having my bachelor party here!".

Room Tip: Six-person bedrooms are spatious and have a bigger window, all rooms are shady enough to keep the he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smederevo, Serbia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Although the hostel itself is a bit too far from the city centre it is a really good and clean place to stay after long walks through the beautiful city of Budapest.The hostel is placed in suburbs where there is practicly no urban noise, so you can really sleep tight. The staff is really helpful, friendly and kind. The rooms and toilets are very clean. All in all, it's a really good place for a peaceful rest.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IgorMarkovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kongens Lyngby, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We had the pleasure to stay in many different hostels both in Hungary and in other countires. We generally like the friendly and cozy atmoshere there. The Grand Hostel is unfortunately a place we will look back at with a different view.
- The noise (from the tram at one side, and the main road on the other side) is intense. No fans in the room, and with windows open you can forget about sleeping after 5:30 AM.
- Most of the staff (a part from one girl who offered a friendly smile and directions) appeared to be bored to death with customer requests.
- Worst of all, we find the overcharging. When checking in, we are presented with a price, and a remark that we can settle the bill later no problem.
When we want to pay, and ask how the sum is calculated then the price is 30% higher than the price posted on the hostel website. We are then kindly informed that we are paying the 'walk in price'. If we wanted the internet price, we should have paid for the first night only, and then borrowed the hostel computer and booked subsequent nights online instead...
When we complained about this strange policy we were informed that we were unfair...
The hostel was half empty, which isn't a surprise really. Return business here is properly not that common.
We are definately NOT coming back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikolaj N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Kassel, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

Estayed sat this place for one night when passing through Budapest. There were welcome drinks aclean room and clean shared bathroom. towels and linen clean also. price really good.

The only foreside is location and street noise asthe hostel is located on alarger street on the outside of town.

Otherwise definite recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sprudu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Great place we stayed 2 nights, very affordable, commuting to downtown Budapest need few connections but very quick.
Clean rooms, helpfully staff, if you want to experience Hungary culture that's the place to go!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcello F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012 via mobile

The Grand Hostel is literally located in the middle of nowhere, but of you are willing to risk it, you can jump on the tram near by that will take you into the town and just don't buy a ticket. We were there for a few days and didn't get checked, but who knows - It's up to you.

Anyway, the hostel was pretty nice and the bar downstairs was a great place to hang out with some good music playing. The drink prices were of course very cheap, as being in Hungary, so we enjoyed a few down here. The rooms were pretty average but the bathrooms we thought were nice and the showers are pretty decent. Luckily I think think we were the only people staying on our floor so we didn't have to wait around at all.

The staff were friendly enough and on our last day they called us a taxi to the train station. You can walk into a small area with a couple of restaurants, one of which was probably one of the nicest places we ate at on the entire Europe trip and it was also very cheap.

The night life here was awesome so you should definitely come. If you don't mind the poor location, this is a good hostel to stay at.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Easyalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Beatrix Hotel - Budapest
#156 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#99 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,216 reviews
Terézváros
Star Inn Hotel Budapest Centrum, by Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hostel Buda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hostel Buda

Property: Grand Hostel Buda
Address: Huvoesvoelgyi ut 69, Budapest 1021, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #274 of 651 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Grand Hostel Buda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing