We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xmas time in Budapest”
Review of Unity Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Unity Hostel
Ranked #113 of 653 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Munich
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Xmas time in Budapest”
Reviewed 13 January 2009

My type of hostel. Small, very easy to meet people. We were there just before Christmas. Staff was eager to answer all of our questions. Main market is just a few minutes from the hostel. Receptionist offered some 'mulled wine' absolutely for free which we happily accepted of course:) They have two bathrooms with four shower cabins which seemed enough for everyone. We stayed in a six bedded bunk dorm which has its own batroom, when other bathroom was busy staff asked us to let other people come in and use this shower and as we already knew everyone in the hostel it was not a problem. It felt like to be with a bunch of friends in a cool apartment. Only thing I dissliked about this fantastic place, they completely shut down all common areas after midnight so had to go some close bars to continue chating. By the way bars, don't miss to visit 'kuplung' bar just next door, wicked:)

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EDNAWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    28
    8
    7
    6
See reviews for
4
7
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2008

Myself and 4 other girls (aged 20) stayed in this hostel at the beginning of April 2008 in a private 6 bed dorm for 5 nights.

We payed around £10 each per night, but it should have been £7.50 per night but as one of our friends dropped out at the last minute we paid a bit extra to secure that we would have a private room.

It's a great hostel, great location, not too big, people friendly, free continental breakfast (fresh bread, jams, butter, chocolate spread, cereals, tea and coffee!), comfy rooms, great roof terrace, communal areas, two computers with free internet and a nice and clean bathroom (three showers in total (1 being in a private bathroom), three toilets and 2 sinks.)

Definately reccomend.

Location is in central Pest - where many of the tourist attractions are. About 15minutes walk to the Dunabe river. Pleanty of places to eat around hostel and also many bars (famous bar strip is just around the corner.)

If I were to go back to Budapest would stay here again.

Advice - although the public transport looks free (no-one pays when they get on) you can be fined (as we were) 6,000 forints (£20) if you don't have a valid ticket. I would buy a transport pass if I were to go again that covers all public transport as it's easier than trying to find a ticket machine before each journey.

  • Liked — Location and roof terrance
  • Disliked — Stairs up to the hostel
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank keentraveller120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2007

Entrance is hard to find from the street, dorms were fairly crowded, and bathrooms were disgusting and often out of toilet paper. Rooftop terrace is nice, and breakfast is decent. Staff are available 24-hours but are very stern and into enforcing rules. There is one computer with free internet that is handy. Location is fun near Franz Liszet square and great restaraunts.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank LillyDeViaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2007

We stayed in the Unity Hostel with 6 femals for two nights. We had an eight bedded room for the whole party. Lovely room with clean and excellent beds on the attic. The sheets should be a little bit bigger. Very clean bathroom with 2 showers and a toilet (without a door?) When one have to go to the toilet better to lock the door of the bathroom. Nice breakfast room. Bread, butter, cheese and jam. As much as you like. Tea and coffie and internet for free. Very, very lovely and kind staff. You don't have to climb the stairs to the 3e floor. There is an elevator. The location is very good. Tram 4 and 6 are very close by. One feels very much at home.

  • Liked — the place is very clean.
  • Disliked — no party's. One can get a could night sleep. After 10 pm no noise.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank anisaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2006

Decent place to stay. Kind of strange to have people from other rooms coming into yours to shower, but I guess that is how it works there. Free internet, decent breakfast, nice staff. I’d recommend it in heartbeat.

  • Liked — Great staff
  • Disliked — 3rd floor, dark stairway!
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pdxtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel
#45 of 653 in Budapest
368 reviews
District V / Inner City
Origo Hostel & Guesthouse
Origo Hostel & Guesthouse
#167 of 653 in Budapest
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casa De La Musica Hostel
#42 of 653 in Budapest
276 reviews
District V / Inner City
Boomerang Hostel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unity Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unity Hostel

Property: Unity Hostel
Address: Kiraly utca 60 3rd floor, Budapest 1068, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 653 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Unity Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing