We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Maxim Hostel

Maxim Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maxim Hostel
Ranked #337 of 677 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

This has the set up of a homey 4bedroom apartment with a kitchen, lounge, bathroom etc so it really feels like you are staying at a family/friends house. George is so welcoming, friendly and helpful and you just adore him straight away.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Caitlin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

George, who runs the hostel is an absolute sweetheart, one of the nicest people I've met! Room was basic but good value for money (was €15 for two of us in a private room for two nights). Bathroom and shower always clean. And free washing available. Didn't use the kitchen but looked decent and free wifi is always a bonus. Perfect for anyone on a budget! Small hostel so not for those who want to spend a lot of time hanging around your room etc but if you're like us and used it as a place to eat wash and sleep it's perfect.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank AliceJohnston13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Good beds, good bathroom, good space, good localization, close to tram lines and metro. Easy to get there coming from airport. George the guy who works there is friendly. The price is the best thing at all.

Room Tip: private room is really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thiago C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We chose this hostel as it was one of the cheapest options in Budapest with a good rating. Being one of the last destinations on our Eurotrip, we were least concerned with the hostel but boy did George make the stay worthwhile. He welcomed us nicely and waited for us at the hostel even when we got late. He was really courteous and polite and gave us 20 minutes of his time explaining everything in the hostel and what to do in Budapest, how much time to spend and how to commute.

The hostel is located on Raday Utca, a great street in Budapest, close to the tram and metro stops and has infinite good eateries on the road - many of them highly rated. It also has a great Indian restarant (India Etterem) just 2-3 minutes away by foot, which serves the best Indian food I've had in whole of Europe at a decent price point (7-8 Euros for a dish and naan).

The rooms were decent, nothing special. As the hostel is small, so do not expect night parties or backpacker atmosphere but you can have a nice cozy stay. There are two bathrooms which are clean. The kitchen is extremely clean and well stocked. You can use it to cook and keep your stuff in the refrigerator as well. The hostel serves free mueselli, tea, coffee at breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SerendipityIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed here in the dorm while traveling to Budapest with some friends. George works so hard to make your stay as comfortable and friendly as possible. He met us at the door to help us check in even when we were expecting to find our way around after hours ourselves! He gave us some local information and answered all the questions we had. The building is unique and you feel like you are in your own apartment, even in the 8 bed dorm! It is more of a "boutique" hostel and is great to get away from the go go go off downtown, but still conveniently located. I have stayed in countless hostels but this one is one of the best experiences I have had. I would recommend this hostel to anyone traveling to the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

george, you are the best!! thank you so much for your help!

the hostel is very central, therefore its easy to get to the city or to the national museum for example. most of the roommates are friendly and the hostel is also decorated very well. george and his colleague were very welcoming and funny!

we really appreciate your help george and you will definitely hear from us again!
kind regards,
the two girls from germany who cleaned up the kitchen as a thankyou :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0interrail13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

It sounds harsh, but after 15 countries, 90 nights in different hostels, pensions and backpackers we had thought we had seen it all.

Initially it seemed a basic hostel, but as we stayed longer it got worse, in the end we were there nights, and it was the first place we were happy to leave.

To be fair, the location was good, 15 minutes walk to the local Metro, Close to the shops and food.

Hostel wise, it was another story, the staff were hospitable, but not overly friendly.

There is no kitchen you can use, only the fridge, the dorm had 5 beds, we were in a double room and there was another private room, so 9 people plus 2 staff for 1 shower and 2 toilets.

It was not a clean hostel, as stated we were there for 4 days, and our bins were not emptied, the dorm with 5 people staying in there (with some rotating in and out) bins were not emptied, so by the time we left the bin was over flowing, and starting to smell, general house cleaning was never seen.

Sammy the dog, friendly Staffy that is more than happy to have a pat, roll on your stomach, then hump your leg, put holes in your clothes and then hump your leg again, I love dogs, I LOVE staffies, but in a small hostel, it can and was intimidating (to another guest, we were just not impressed with the bites)

The turtles were cute, but not enough to make us ever to recommend this place, its not family friendly with the pooch, its not clean, the kitchen is not accessible, and its a hike from the station.

On the plus side the internet was fast !

Avoid.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else, do not go here !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron_Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Hotel Chesscom
#101 of 336 in Budapest
392 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#31 of 336 in Budapest
3,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fraser Residence Budapest
#22 of 336 in Budapest
1,232 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#16 of 336 in Budapest
4,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maxim Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maxim Hostel

Address: Raday utca 31/J | Second Floor, Budapest 1092, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #337 of 677 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing