We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but had a bit of a lonely feel in the off-peak season.”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aventura Boutique Hostel
Ranked #98 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place, but had a bit of a lonely feel in the off-peak season.”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

A pair of us stayed here for two nights.

We arrived quite late on the first night and it took us a while to actually find the place as it doesn't exactly stand out.

Make sure to reply to the confirmation email to confirm your booking.

We stayed in the 8-Bed Africa room which has four beds downstairs and another 4 up some steps in a loft area. It's a bit creaky up top which makes it hard to be subtle when getting up and going to bed.

There are plenty of good sized drawers and two huge chests to lock your stuff in and the owners are happy to let you leave your bags after check out so you can pick them up before travelling on. Plenty of plug sockets around the room and the beds were comfortable.

The kitchen is small but well equipped and has a very homely feel.

The little reception room at the front isn't always manned at night so you can sometimes feel like you're on your own if there aren't many other people staying but this was just due to the quiet time of year.

WiFi is free(and very fast compared to other places)

The mens toilet contains 1 sink, 1 toilet and 2 showers and as far as I know this was in use by all three dorm rooms. A little awkward as there's not much room to move about but otherwise cleaner than other places and showers are better than average.

Overall its not a conventional hostel and I think it would be better in peak season when there's more people staying but Agnes who manages the place was very friendly and helpful.

Location wise it's just a couple of minutes walk to the nearest underground station and tram lines.

Various breakfast options are available and although I didn't use them myself I had a nosey at the basic continental breakfast which some other people were having and it looked better than what I'd seen in other places and presented nicely.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    42
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
15
40
54
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

This is an absolute gem. It’s a tiny hostel with loads of character. I stayed in the Japanese room for 2 nights in December. The room is basic, but very nice. The kitchen is small, clean, and well kept. It’s walking distance to all the major attractions – or at least to the train station where you can catch trams and buses. The staff is friendly. I would absolutely stay here again, and would recommend this hostel whole heartedly.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2013

The hostel is really nice, quite small and intime, like staying at home. In its corridors and kitchen you will always get in touch with interesting people from everywhere and the personal will always be happy of helping you, answering questions and suggesting the best things to do! There's no breakfast included but you are always welcome to have a tea or coffee for small money. Really enjoyed it! Cool people, good position, clean! The rooms are just amazing, big, with nice decorations and forniture in a different style each. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AventuraHostel, Owner at Aventura Boutique Hostel, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Hello,
We are really glad that you have enjoyed your stay in Aventura. It is true, that breakfast is not included in our price, but there are three different breakfast which are available at our hostel on request:
- We offer a regular continental breakfast in our kitchen.
- We also offer a nice complete warm egg breakfast with juice and croissant downstaires in the cafe under the hostel.
- And you can have a very simple saussage breakfast at the butcher with the local workers, which is also in the building. This is very local stuff.. Try it once while you are here!

We are looking forward to see you again and all the other travellers in our hostel!
Aventura Boutique Hostel Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Your own spacious apartment. Ideal for couples who want to relax. Not a place to meet people, but a place to do your own thing (if you book a private double). Excellent value for money, great location and cleanliness.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AventuraHostel, Owner at Aventura Boutique Hostel, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Dear Guest,
I am glad you have enjoyed our apartment!

Dear Travellers,
If you book Aventura double ensuite (what we call Art Apartment) is an apartment, that is located next to the hostel, in the oposite bulding. Bescides being on your own, you can always come over to the hostel to meet and hang around with other travelers and socialize.
We hope to see you all one day in Aventura Boutique Hostel and Apartments!

Aventura Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

First of all, the location is great. Just a short walk to Margit Hid (one of the bridges that connects Pest and Buda).

Very clean, very kind and friendly staff. Water was always hot for showers.
The kitchen was especially convenient, being fully equipped with all you need for cooking.

Room Tip: The Africa room looked pretty awesome - if you come as a big group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AventuraHostel, Owner at Aventura Boutique Hostel, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Dear Shirlulit,
Dear Travelers,

We are happy to be so close to Margareth Bridge, which not only leads you to the Buda side, but also to the Margareth Island.
Did you know that this island a paradise for sport lovers? There is a big swimming pool,a running path all around the island 5.3 km/3.3 miles long, an open air atheltic center, a tennis club and huge green fileds suitable for all kinds of outdoor activities.
The swimming pool is the training place of the famous Hungarian Waterpolo Team which won 9 olympics, 2 World Cup and 12 European Championships - and with all these results the Hungarian National Waterpolo team is the world most successful national team ever. Girls, come and check out those guys! :)
From spring till autumn, the island is full of people doing all kinds of activities, such as tai chi, capoeira, football, slackline, biking, blading, etc.. Come and revitalize in Aventura Boutique Hostel and Margareth Island!

(Shirlulit, I am glad you have mentioned our always hot showers! During the costruction we put lots of attention and money on the water system in order to provide always running hot showers! People love it!)

Hope to see you soon in Aventura
Aventura Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

I have to say I was pleasantly surprised by how cute the retro apartment actually is! We stayed there for 3 nights and right away it felt like home. The apartment is very spacious, the bathroom is modern, the bed is comfortable and the location is perfect. We walked to all the major attractions with ease but there are metro stations nearby.

Another great little perk is the super cool cocktail bar directly downstairs called Cafe Solo...best cocktails we had in Budapest!

The washing machine is terrible but apart from that Aventura retro apartment is the place to stay in Budapest - we loved it!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AventuraHostel, Owner at Aventura Boutique Hostel, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Hello Girls,
Thank you for the nice feedback! We are glad you enjoyed our Retro Ap. I am sorry again about the inconvenience that the construction works caused you. We hope to see you or your friends some other time. Enjoy the rest of your travel!
Best regards,
Aventura Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I had a wonderful time in this hostel with 3 friends had a place in the Indian room. The whole hostel has a really nice atmosphere and was clean.
Unfortunately no breakfast was included, but you could book it in addition.
The staff was very nice and helpful. I really liked the many flyers around of other hostels in other cities. Even the fact that you can buy your spa ticket at the reception was really good and helped us to save time!
Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Chesscom
#105 of 334 in Budapest
367 reviews
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#131 of 334 in Budapest
669 reviews
Hotel Pension Helios
#110 of 334 in Budapest
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Hotel 21
#59 of 334 in Budapest
584 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 334 in Budapest
583 reviews
Hotel Oswaldo
#192 of 334 in Budapest
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Aventura Boutique Hostel

Property: Aventura Boutique Hostel
Address: 12 Visegradi str., 1st floor/ 1st apt. | District 13, Budapest 1132, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#76 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aventura Boutique Hostel offers you stylishly designed spacious themed rooms. Instead of bunk beds we have intimate lofts, with a nice feeling of more personal space. The 8 bedded "Africa" room shows off the adventurous ambience of Africa. The 6 bedded ,,India" room captivates with its warm, exotic atmosphere. The 4 bedded ,,Space" room is our only room with a private shower. Japan double room is the only private room. It comes with shared bathroom. Our In-hostel Massage service will make your hostel stay in Budapest even more relaxing. The fully equipped kitchen with a small loft is also our social area, a great place to meet the other travellers. We also offer three different type of breakfast, a continental breakfast, an egg breakfast in the cafe under the hostel and a very local sausage breakfast at the butcher in the building. Aventura's 24 hour staff can provide real experiences by helping you to discover Budapest's full cultural heritage and vibrant art life. We offer many kind of tours, free walking tours, tickets to the thermal baths, bike and bus tours, pub crawls, caving tours, etc. We have three apartments. Family Apartment is a two bedroom hostel available for max 4 person and a baby. The Apartment Rouge is a one bedroom apartment near the hostel. The "Retro Apartment" is also a two bedroom fully equipped apartment one metro stop from the hostel, right in the middle of Budapest downtown. It is in fact a real home with the atmosphere of the 60s. The 8 bedded "Africa" room shows off the adventurous ambience of Africa. The 6 bedded ,,India" room captivates with its warm, exotic atmosphere. The 4 bedded ,,Space" room is our only room with a private shower. Japan double room is the only private room. It comes with shared bathroom. Our In-hostel Massage service will make your hostel stay in Budapest even more relaxing. The fully equipped kitchen with a small loft is also our social area, a great place to meet the other travellers. We also offer three different type of breakfast, a continental breakfast, an egg breakfast in the cafe under the hostel and a very local sausage breakfast at the butcher in the building. Aventura's 24 hour staff can provide real experiences by helping you to discover Budapest's full cultural heritage and vibrant art life. We offer many kind of tours, free walking tours, tickets to the thermal baths, bike and bus tours, pub crawls, caving tours, etc. We have three apartments. Family Apartment is a two bedroom hostel available for max 4 person and a baby. The Apartment Rouge is a one bedroom apartment near the hostel. The "Retro Apartment" is also a two bedroom fully equipped apartment one metro stop from the hostel, right in the middle of Budapest downtown. It is in fact a real home with the atmosphere of the 60s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Aventura Boutique Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Hostel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing