We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It felt like home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aventura Boutique Hostel
Ranked #103 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It felt like home!”
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

I loved this hostel, and Budapest so much!!! The staff were all rad, and extremely helpful with any questions my friend and I had. We stayed in the Africa room, and it literally felt like home. The hostel is in a great location, and very close to the metro station and within walking distance of a lot of things to do. Really recommend this hostel, and Agnes is the best! Thanks for the warm and welcoming stay :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Peterhiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    42
    7
    8
    5
See reviews for
13
40
51
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed in the Africa room, which was perfect for our group of 5. The staff (especially Aga) are among the most friendly and helpful hostel staff I've encountered. They organised a Pub crawl which really gave us the opportunity to get to know the other guests better. The location is good, attractions were all within walking distance (if you are willing to walk), and near to the metro. Great value. As another reviewer mentioned as well the only thing that bothered me was the ladies showering area - the stalls were only covered by a shower curtain.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We chose this 'boutique hostel' based on postive reviews and inclusions in a trusted luxury hostel guide. Bad call. This hostel is simply a basic, poorly designed backpackers hostel masquerading as boutique hostel. Undisputedely it is good value but it has no comforts, luxuries or interesting design features that distinguish it from every other HI backpacker hostel on the continent. The biggest dissapointment for our group was the lack of comfort in the 5 bed-room we booked. The glass pane door didn't keep out any of the light from the corridor and kitchen- meaning despite drawing the certains and shutting the lights the room was bright. It was noisy. It was hot. When we opened the window to cool down the room it blew open the door (which doesn't lock.) We were awoken in the wee hours of the morning when a guest laid on the door bell to get access to the 24 hour reception- the door bell could be heard very audibly-in our room and if it's staffed 24 hours why did it take so long for them to let the guests in? There is only 1 female toliet (that we could find at least) which meant queing. The women's shower is only accessible through the kitchen which means you must trek past everyone eating their breakfast in the kitchen whilst you shuffle wrapped in your meagre towel between your room and the shower. When we were out for the afternoon we came up and the hostel had hung its washing out to dry in our room. Not for me and certainly not on par with some of the 'luxury' hostels I've visited. If it's just a simple bed you're after- this place is for you but don't be fooled by their luxury/botique hostel message as the image is not on par with the reality by a long stretch!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaMarianina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AventuraHostel, Owner at Aventura Boutique Hostel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Ladies,
I am very sorry, that your stay was not comfortable with us.It is true that we are just a very small family hostel in a 100 year old house and we have some facilities, that we cannot change. Like the position of the female bathroom and the number of toilets. There are only 20 beds, which means (if we think that 10 woman 10 man are in tha hostel), that one toilet is used by 10 people and one shower is for 5 people. I think it is very normal.
Thank you for the remark of the glass door - I was already thinking about changing it. Now I am sure I will. You see this is an old house with the old wooden doors and floors and I was trying to keep everyhing in the original way, to preserve the arcitecture. But sometimes it is simply not functional and we have to change. So I will.
Also I will make sure, that in the night we open the door very quickly, so the bell don't disturb others. You are right with the wasing as well, it shouldn't have been hanged in your room.
You were here in the low season, when we already run the place in a more family manner, since normally there are very few people. But during your stay, the hostel was unexpectedly full for two-three days- so this is what you have been experienced. I am very sorry again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chisinau, Moldova
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2013

It was my first time I ever stayed in a hostel and I liked it so much. Really nice choice and the location is good (near the mall, the metro station and a beautiful train station) and all the hosts were so nice and helpful. The kitchen was so cute. Definitely coming back again.

there is only one small thing that bothered me and it was the shower.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank nastiuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I took a group of nine people, including seven high school students, to Hungary for a conference. We stayed in this hostel for a total of five nights, and were constantly amazed at the value we got for our money! Before the trip, the staff were really communicative and helpful by email. Then, once we arrived, the rooms were comfortable, quiet, attractive and clean. We had a great cheap breakfast there every morning. It's a short walk to the Danube, and everything is easily accessible including the trains and buses. The staff helped book tickets for us, and knew everything there was to know about Budapest. We felt totally safe and cared for, and will come back at the first opportunity!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ezzbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I like to stay in apartments when I go on vacation (whenever possible) since I feel going to the store and cooking some on your own is a fun part of the trip.

Anyway, I was not expecting what I got from the Art Apartment, it was HUGE. It looked like a good size apartment on the pictures I saw, but it was indeed super big. Almost too big for 2 people. Also it was very fresh, semi-modern. Fridge and freezer available as well as stove and oven, very well equipped. Great with separate bathroom and toilet.

Communication with the staff was effortless and they were helpful when we needed them.

Only thing I wished for was an AC, but I slept well nonetheless (turned the fan up to max).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mangehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed in one of apartment. Apartment is really nice and super clean. You have everything in apartment what you need. So there are 2 rooms one is with double bed and another is with 2 single beds, it is also great for families with small children bc there is baby crib.
Area is also very nice, with great restaurnats and it is on walking distance from Vaci utca.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vicana011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#124 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Hotel Chesscom
#94 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Hotel Oswaldo
#196 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jade House
#246 of 333 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Hotel Pension Helios
#101 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aventura Boutique Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Boutique Hostel

Property: Aventura Boutique Hostel
Address: 12 Visegradi str., 1st floor/ 1st apt. | District 13, Budapest 1132, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#76 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aventura Boutique Hostel offers you stylishly designed spacious themed rooms. Instead of bunk beds we have intimate lofts, with a nice feeling of more personal space. The 8 bedded "Africa" room shows off the adventurous ambience of Africa. The 6 bedded ,,India" room captivates with its warm, exotic atmosphere. The 4 bedded ,,Space" room is our only room with a private shower. Japan double room is the only private room. It comes with shared bathroom. Our In-hostel Massage service will make your hostel stay in Budapest even more relaxing. The fully equipped kitchen with a small loft is also our social area, a great place to meet the other travellers. We also offer three different type of breakfast, a continental breakfast, an egg breakfast in the cafe under the hostel and a very local sausage breakfast at the butcher in the building. Aventura's 24 hour staff can provide real experiences by helping you to discover Budapest's full cultural heritage and vibrant art life. We offer many kind of tours, free walking tours, tickets to the thermal baths, bike and bus tours, pub crawls, caving tours, etc. We have three apartments. Family Apartment is a two bedroom hostel available for max 4 person and a baby. The Apartment Rouge is a one bedroom apartment near the hostel. The "Retro Apartment" is also a two bedroom fully equipped apartment one metro stop from the hostel, right in the middle of Budapest downtown. It is in fact a real home with the atmosphere of the 60s. The 8 bedded "Africa" room shows off the adventurous ambience of Africa. The 6 bedded ,,India" room captivates with its warm, exotic atmosphere. The 4 bedded ,,Space" room is our only room with a private shower. Japan double room is the only private room. It comes with shared bathroom. Our In-hostel Massage service will make your hostel stay in Budapest even more relaxing. The fully equipped kitchen with a small loft is also our social area, a great place to meet the other travellers. We also offer three different type of breakfast, a continental breakfast, an egg breakfast in the cafe under the hostel and a very local sausage breakfast at the butcher in the building. Aventura's 24 hour staff can provide real experiences by helping you to discover Budapest's full cultural heritage and vibrant art life. We offer many kind of tours, free walking tours, tickets to the thermal baths, bike and bus tours, pub crawls, caving tours, etc. We have three apartments. Family Apartment is a two bedroom hostel available for max 4 person and a baby. The Apartment Rouge is a one bedroom apartment near the hostel. The "Retro Apartment" is also a two bedroom fully equipped apartment one metro stop from the hostel, right in the middle of Budapest downtown. It is in fact a real home with the atmosphere of the 60s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aventura Boutique Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Hostel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing