We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless nights”
Review of Broadway Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Broadway Hostel
Ranked #254 of 666 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Reviewed 14 August 2013

So, I just got back from Budapest this morning and had a 10 hour shift which was terrible just because I had no sleep the last few nights. :(

I stayed here after a lot searching as there was no room anywhere and I stayed with my girlfriend. Of course, we wanted some privacy so we took the private room which is right next to the front door and the reception. The walls are made out of plaster so it was not private at all and as it's on the ground floor and there were guest waiting for a bed next night, they were sleeping right under our window. Well, not so much sleeping, more like singing and laughing all night. It was too hot inside and we had to open the windows (which won't open all the way so it doesn't get any cooler when you do this) and had to listen to them all night.

Beds, oh beds... (facepalm) I'm 186 cm (6'2") and the bed was smaller than me (I'm guessing 180), my feet were hanging from the bed and it was sooo awful.

Toilets and bathroom: pretty lousy. There was no toilet paper the first night, they have only one towel you can use which looks like someone mopped the floor with it and the box where the tissues usually are has a drawing on it saying something like "There's no paper here as we're eco-friendly"... WTF!? Haven't you heard about hand dryers???

Staff: Well, they were ok. Their english was great and they were pretty helpful. They all seem to hate their jobs there, though.

Location: the only good thing but I was looking for a place to stay at, not a place from where I can have a 2 minutes walk to see something nice. There's an awesome bike rental shop near the Opera where you can rent a bike for a day for ~8 EUR which is pretty nice and the bikes are really good.

All in all, this is the first review I ever wrote and I had to do it as I'm pissed with this place... :(

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VladimirPavkovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terez G, Public Relations Manager at Broadway Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Vladimir,

We are really sorry for what had happened. I’m sure that we could have solved the problems there might had been, if you could have let us know about that, right on the spot.

The windows- you couldn’t open wide enough- are like that in order to have only one entrance to the hostel, trying to avoid people unnoticibly coming in and out, for all our safety. Fans are available at the reception to ease the unbearable heat.

Beds:

We always encourage our guests to let us know how they feel and how the situation can be even better for them: to feel more like home and cozy! It must have been the busiest time in the year, when it could have happened, being a girl at the reception, not checking the toilett rolls more than once a day. But whenever anyone let the reception know that one is out of it, we are absolutaley there in a few seconds to fill the lack/absence.

Being eco-friendly is hardly a shame for us, we are using small towels instead of using either paper or electricity that much. We change them –at least- twice a day.

Our best intetion is always to show our guests a good time in Budapest!

We are looking forward to welcome you here, again, so we can prove, that our place is worth a visit. (if it is not worth twice a visit. Or 3 times.) Have a lovely day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Broadway Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

This is a smaller hostal with a good location. It is near the Opera metro station. There are a number of bars and cafes near the property and there was a lively nightlife scene near the bar for the younger crowd. My room was a large room that had 5 compartments that each held a bunk bed. My compartment was empty but for me so it was very quiet. Had a good night sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights in June 2013.

The location is good as it is close to the subway, bus stop and a hop on hop off bus stop.

There are a number of cheap restaurants around and a few supermarkets to buy food from.

The hostel has a living area by reception to relax in.

The kitchen area includes a gas hob and lots of kitchen equipment including saucepans, cutlery, plates, and a fridge etc.

The wi-fi was excellent and could access it from the rooms.

There was one toilet and one shower in separate rooms shared between 6 people which meant there were queues for the shower and toilets in the morning.

The shower was hot and there was plenty of space to get changed afterward into dry clothes. The only downside is that you have to hold the shower over you.

The rooms are unique as they are semi-private. There are three rooms of bunk beds separated by thin walls with a curtain for a door on each of them. The walls don't go up the the top of the ceiling but it is not a problem as you cannot see over the top.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Incognito4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

This hostel is very good overall. It is in a good location (close to the subway and many of the good bars and eateries), is clean and provides a comfortable place to rest. The staff were friendly and quite helpful.

A few things to note, they only accept cash so make sure that you have the requisite cash on you before you go to check in (although if you don't there is an ATM 2 streets away) and it is somewhat antisocial. There isn't really any space to socialise (with the exception of a couch and tv in reception).

If you're looking for a quite relaxing hostel, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJAllingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Not really a party hostel..
Chilled atmosphere, really nice out door area to sit in sun and relax.
Wifi through out.
Good value breakfast deals at cafe next door.
Rooms are slightly different.
It's like they had a long retangular room and sectioned it off with 5/6 walls but not to ceiling and put 2 bunk beds with lockers in them..

Has kitchenett (so without stove )

Staff were very helpful...
Nice place!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loz-traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terez G, Public Relations Manager at Broadway Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear Loz-traveling,

thank you for your review!
It is always nice to have a positive feedback on our staff and hostel.
Have a nice summer and hopefully see you soon in the future!

Kind Regards,
Terez Gyimoti
BHB & MmmH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Very nice girls and boys working there. It is clean, smell good. main attractions just a few steps away. It is definitely worth visiting, security is very good as well

Room Tip: 10 bed doorm, more space for yourself ;) bunk beds separated each box by walls and curtains, good at...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fredrik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

- Buda Castle district
- ruin pubs
- bath
- food market by one of the bridges
They were very nice at the reception. The help you with the programmes to organise them, good recommodations for food.
I'm coming back in August!

Room Tip: breakfast served next to the hostel; 24/7 receptin
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montek_ph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terez G, Public Relations Manager at Broadway Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2011

Dear Montek_ph!

It was good to have your opinion on our hostel! I do appreciate your review and it was lovely meeting you in August! Hopefully we will see you back around New Year's!
Take care,
Terez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel
#36 of 666 in Budapest
388 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hostel Budapest Center
Hostel Budapest Center
#294 of 666 in Budapest
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dominik Panzio
#135 of 191 in Budapest
120 reviews
Budapest Budget Hostel
#25 of 666 in Budapest
214 reviews
Belváros-Lipótváros
Full Moon Design Hostel Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Hostel

Address: 24 - 26 O St, Budapest 1066, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #254 of 666 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: £11 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Broadway Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broadway Hostel & Apartments has opened up its doors in 2006. Since then a lot of happened to us! We are not only offering you comfortable beds in dormitories any more; there are also apartments available in the very same location. A location, which is the best in town! The State Opera is in a 2 minute walk away; furthermore you can see one of the domes of the St. Stephen's Basilica's as you look out from the apartments' windows! Ruin bars -as well- just a few steps away among the Broadway feeling, which is around us, all year long. To reach the Danube, you go to the right, walk 15 minutes, and you can see the Chain Bridge in front of you, the Castle district on the other side. Take a look to the right- facing the river- you will see the Margaret Bridge with its island, taking a look to the left you will see Elisabeth Bridge. Our team is here for you 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Broadway Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing