We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish design, good value and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Regency Suites Hotel Budapest
Ranked #89 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel is in a great location – in a square with cafes/bars off the main road but only a few minutes walk from Deak Ter for access to the metro and a short walk to the river Danube and the sights of central Pest.

The receptionist gave me a warm welcome speaking excellent English and helpfully recommended some local restaurants including Dunacorso (reviewed separately). The room was rather small and would have benefited from better lighting but it was nicely furnished in a modern style with a safe, TV and plenty of storage space. The bathroom was immaculate although the design of the shower meant you had to be careful to stop water spreading across the bathroom floor. The bed was comfortable. A nice breakfast with a selection of hot and cold options including freshly cooked omelettes to order was served in a light airy breakfast room. Based on my experience of a two night stay I would recommend this nicely furnished hotel for a good value stay in central Budapest.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EU27Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (959)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 959 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel for us was all about location - couldn't have asked for anything more central. We didn't use any type of public transportation for the duration of our stay.

In terms of star rating I would be inclined to say this is more 3* than 4. Rooms are quite small - clean and basic. Showers are ridiculous, the entire bathroom is soaking by the time you are finished - shower design is definitely something they should review. As is the pillow situation - they were so flat - and when we requested additional pillows we were brought what I can only describe as sacks filled with cotton wool. Still flat as a pancake.

Some of the reception staff are quite frankly rude and unhelpful, others are very pleasant.

If breakfast isn't included in your stay - don't pay for it, go elsewhere.

Cafe Melbourne which is less than 1 minutes walk from the hotel is good for a cup of tea or coffee in the morning.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank comml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The hotel is ideally located at Pest side, close to metro and to all the top attractions (Opera, Andrassy, Vaci utca etc). Unusual interiors - not quite what you expect to meet at the hotel - but very stylish. The room was quite comfortable and spacious, good sound-proofing. The breakfast is included into price and is also good. As far as I know, the hotel has got some bar of its own, but in the evenings we used Suelto Cafe that is located next door to the hotel (literally!) and is great. My only wish would be to have more toiletries as it normally is at 4-stars hotel, but this is minor addition. Overall I believe I would stay here again on my next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank V0lta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We were given a lovely spacious room with a small balcony overlooking the front square of the hotel, breakfast was typical European, cheese, meat and bread but you could order cooked eggs or omelettes. Hotel staff were very helpful with suggestions for getting around. The hotel in a really good position, close to the Basilica and Synagogue. Plus the 1st stop for the Hop on hop off bus is at the Basilica. It was only a short walk to the Danube and the Chain Bridge. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from, all different nationalities but we looked specifically for Hungarian. (as they say when in Rome!) There are a few bars in the square outside the hotel if you want a drink or snack. On our first night we tried the Lado cafe for our evening meal. it was like going back in time, very enjoyable and they have live music and singing each evening at approx 8pm so best to book or get there about 7pm as we did. On our last night we went to the Hoppa restaurant, it was a small room and again felt we had gone back to the 50s/60s owned by a guy who also does the cooking, we had an enjoyable meal and experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dufben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

At first glance hotel looks good and a fab location room was comfortable with safe and hairdryer TV internet connection quiet at night then the air conditioning broke down as it was boiling hot outside over 43 so the first 3 days were great and the next 6 were stuffy and felt uncomfortable.
Budapest its self was our second trip there we managed only to do Pest side the first time and came back to do Buda just after the floods, most of the staff were nice not all of them.B/fast was a good variety of choice coffee was disgusting but you can have juice or tea

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lillymaypod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed there two nights in September 2013 and in different rooms. We also travelled in other places in Hungary, that is why we had two different rooms. We stayed only a short time in Budapest. Our first room was very nice, bigger than I expected. Second room was ok but smaller. Rooms were clean and repaired. Wall-to-wall carpet and other fabrics were ok. Nice little decoration things like lights behind the wall. Bed was comfortable!
Location is in the middle of the city. Shopping street is near, also bars and restaurants. Breakfast was ok. There was only one elevator so it may be a little jam when many arrives at the same time.
Good hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank MariaK239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I was with a party of 10 well traveled senior citizens from Ireland and UK we had absolutely no complaints about the quality of the Rooms excellent and Large, Cost very reasonable, Location Great, Staff absolutely charming, Breakfast good choice buffet I ordered an omelette which they offer to cook along with other hot dishes on a small notice by the coffee dispenser none of my colleagues spotted it! It was enormous and very well cooked. Would have liked some fruit apart from apples and Oranges, If you don't need your hand held all the time and are able to explore a city using your initiative this is one of the best hotels I have experienced There are plenty of hotels for twice the price who can give you all day food and more staff out front if that's what you want,

Room Tip: Maybe there are some rooms better than others we didn't find one amongst 10 we had, upper floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Carat Boutique Hotel
Carat Boutique Hotel
#37 of 334 in Budapest
1,274 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Arcadia Hotel Budapest
Arcadia Hotel Budapest
#157 of 334 in Budapest
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Exe Danube Budapest
Exe Danube Budapest
#29 of 334 in Budapest
213 reviews
District V / Inner City
Starlight Suiten Hotel
Starlight Suiten Hotel
#35 of 334 in Budapest
1,230 reviews
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#53 of 334 in Budapest
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Suites Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Suites Hotel Budapest

Address: Madach Imre ter 2, Budapest 1075, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: £54 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Regency Suites Hotel Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A suite hotel in the heart of the city with free wireless internet and a full buffet breakfast included in the rate. Our Sky Bar on the top floor has excellent views of the Basilica and the city skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Regency Suites Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing