We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very basic. Could get better deal for this money” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Green Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Central Green Hotel
Ranked #277 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Munich, Germany
1 review
“Very basic. Could get better deal for this money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Staff is friendly and the location is conveniant to get around town.
But this is all I can say in the positive.
The room very stuffy because of lack of ventilation, dark and you can hear most conversations of other guests, so we got only little sleep.
I did not dare to look too closely into corners and at the delapidated carpet where the dustballs flocked.
The furniture is certainly from the last century.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    56
    56
    34
    58
See reviews for
22
99
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Treviso
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my sister, the room was clean and quite spacious although they should get rid of the carpet as not very hygienic. It was modern looking on the inside with green painted walls and cool tiled floors. The breakfast was plentiful, although the same each day. Although not central it was within walking distance and just off Andrassy st. which is beautiful and 1 min from the metro. The reception staff were very helpful. The beds were comfortable too. I did ask for a second pillow although it never appeared. It was a quiet road and not far to one of the spa baths.which we walked to. On the whole very reasonably priced, which is what you want if you are going to spend all the day out.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

I booked this hotel last-minute with a mate of mine for New Year's Eve, which cost £145 (being New Year's and all - assume it would be around £40-£50 normally). When I booked I specifically asked for a twin room (i.e. two singles). When we arrived the receptionist said that they only had a double room. He then offered to give us a single fold-up bed and had to be prompted to carry it up the stairs (I thought for a minute I would have to bring it up myself). I also had to ask him for clean sheets for the single bed (which he didn't give us initially). When he assembled the bed, he realised that it was broken (it didn't hold up in the middle). He apologised but said there was nothing else that he could do. The room itself was a bit shabby but functional (some plaster coming off the wall behind the bed). There was no safe for valuables.

To make matters worse, the receptionist then said that there was a local tax to pay of HUF 5,000. Luckily we had just stayed in another hotel in Budapest the previous night and knew that the local tax should be significantly less than that. I asked the receptionist to confirm the amount, and after some tapping away on his calculator he apologetically confirmed that the figure was actuall HUF 1,500.

By contrast, the receptionist on the next morning was very friendly and helpful, so perhaps it was just a one-off thing (given the night that was in it) but I would not recommend this hotel unless you are in a tight spot.

Room Tip: Some rooms have windows opening into corridors rather than the outside world - you may wish to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in October. The hotel contacted us before we left England and we arranged a taxi to pick us up from the airport and take us to the Central Green hotel. That all went smoothly, check in was quick. Our room was a good size, clean and perfectly adequate. I brought mini shower gel and shampoo with me and my own travel hairdryer as I knew they were not provided by the hotel. Located on a quiet street between Andrassy and Kiraly it's a really good location. It's not right in the city centre but a 10 min metro ride or half hour easy walk takes you to the centre. Breakfast was very good value, for 3 euro it was coffee, juice, really nice scrambled eggs, boiled eggs lots of bread, yogurts,cheese, meats and sausage. Can not complain for the price! Overall we had a really good stay and for the price and location would definitely stay there again if in Budapest

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

It s a nice cheap hotel... with 3 euros you get an amazing breakfast.. service was excellent.

The rooms are ok!

Location..SUPER!

I enjoyed my stay there, although I think the rooms need to be cleaned a bit more..

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sigmund84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

I went with my dad from 3rd-7th September 2012 and stayed in Central Green Hotel for 4 nights, we went to sightsee Budapest, and Central Green Hotel was a lovely quaint little hotel, with very cheap but good quality food for 3 euros per person (or 2000 forints) so about 2 pounds each.
The hotel was clean, the beds were comfy, the room was big enough, with a shower, toilet and sink. Overall a lovely little hotel and an amazing trip to the wonderful city of Budapest!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tori089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

it was a good value hotel. We stayed for 2 nights. The only thing I did not like was the lack of shampoo in bathrooms! Anyway, the service was very good and management people very helpful.
Thanks to them, we ate in a hungarian restaurant which is just 50 meters from the hotel. We tried the best Goulash soup in our lives.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miguel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Rila Hotel
#258 of 342 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Hotel Gloria
#224 of 342 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Hotel Chesscom
#98 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#115 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Aventura Boutique Hostel
#110 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Hotel Thomas
#223 of 342 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Green Hotel

Property: Central Green Hotel
Address: Sziv utca 13, Budapest 1063, Hungary (Formerly Central Dominik Pension)
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #277 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Green Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Central Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Dominik Panzio Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing