We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arcadia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #155 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Cardiff
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Right location with value rooms and a great breakfast. The staff are very helpful and the location is just right to see the city in the day and at night......"......"..................."...........................

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcadia_Managment, Guest Relations Manager at Arcadia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Sayitasitis2,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to say it as it is! It makes us very happy that you were overall satisfied, and hope that you could actually make some great memories here with us that you took with you and have found worth keeping ever since! We will continue our never-ending improvement, and, if we may, would like to welcome you again!

Sincerely,

The ARCadia Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    130
    110
    50
    41
See reviews for
64
179
12
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I was one of the group that travelled with Hayley S, I would have given this 4 out of 5 but the beds let this hotel down.

First the BAD. The mattresses are rock HARD, no give and VERY uncomfortable, literally as hard as sleeping on a board. My quality of sleep was so bad that I would not stay again because of this.

Some rooms are not en-suite, at least one of the group had to use a communal toilet and bathroom.

Now the good. as previously mentioned the reception is small, so what! the staff were friendly and attentive.

Breakfast was good, a continental breakfast+

fried, scrambled and boiled eggs along with a wide selection of 'fresh' bread, at least 3 different breads and 3 or different rolls.toasters available and all the coffee and juice you could drink.

A generous selection of meats and cheeses with tomatoes and cucumber and a lot of fruit, apples, pears, bananas. pretty sure there were strawberries too.

Room Tip: double check you have en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcadia_Managment, Guest Relations Manager at Arcadia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear DeanLJ,

After reading the review Haley S gave us, we would like to thank you for providing insight from a different perspective! We are glad that you found the reception area satisfactory, and woud like to thank you for your praising words on our staff!

However, based on your review we will look into how we could better indicate whether a room is en-suite, so that we could ensure that our guests would not be getting into a rather unpleasant situation with the utmost accuracy.

We are also happy that you both liked our breakfast! All the changes we can make to improve stem from our guests afterall!

We wish you safe travels!

Sincerely,

The ARCadia Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have chosen this hotel because it is situated in the middle of the city, and has good prices. Our room was big enough for two extrabed for our children, with nice view to the recently rebuildt square. The staff (in specially Aniko and Beatrice from the reception) is very kind and helpful, they recommended us an excellent sightseeing tour (with Greek translation) and a very good restaurant for dinners.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcadia_Managment, Guest Relations Manager at Arcadia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Papadopulos G,

Thak you very much for taking the time to share your experiences with us and the community! It is great to read that everything went smoothly during your visit, and we would also like to thank you for the praising words for our staff; Aniko and Beatrice will be very glad to see that their names come up in so many kind comments!

We wish you and your family safe travels!

Sincerely,

The ARCadia Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had a big group booking here for 2 nights and generally had a very nice stay. The staff were friendly and helpful, especially with booking us our airport transfers and dealing with room changes before we arrived, and it was clean, has free wifi, decent showers.

It is very well located, we were able to walk everywhere we wanted and this area has great bars and restaurants, it's close to the river, sites, shops, and there is a main metro station round the corner.

I actually quite liked the breakfast, but I guess it is personal taste, or they have upped their game a bit since previous reviews? Eggs available both mornings, bread, fruit, meats and nice cheese, that sort of thing. It wasn't incredible but it did the trick and there was plenty available even though we went down late. For a free brekkie I think you can't expect much more.

I was close to rating it 'Very Good' but am sticking with 'Average' mainly because of the mattresses - as a couple of others have said, these are HARD. Out of a group of 16 of us, 1 person said they quite liked it but the rest of us were not fans. The lift and lobby are pretty cramped and the rooms smaller than they look in the pics but these are really my only complaints.

Generally though, for the price and the location I would recommend it, maybe not for a long stay if you don't like a hard bed though. For 2 nights we managed. The cheap beer helped.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcadia_Managment, Guest Relations Manager at Arcadia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Hayley S,

Although it is good to read that you were satisfied with us in most regards, reading about the beds being too hard for your group makes us feel terrible. As a temporary solution, we now offer mattress toppers; ideally upon arrival, but it can be asked for at the counter. We are now working hard to organise a better, permanent solution; the changes in our breakfast too are indications of our never-ending learning and improvement curve.

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us! We hope that we could one day see you again, and could redeem our otherwise good reputation!

Sincerely,

The ARCadia Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Excellent location, everything in front of the entrance. 3 minutes walk to the main subway station where all three lines are available, 4 minutes walk to the starting point of sightseeing tours....

Very friendly staff, ready to help the customers in all possible requirements.

Renovation still going on, but it doesn't matter very much.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcadia_Managment, Guest Relations Manager at Arcadia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear 155Tapio,

We would like to thank you for your kind words! We are happy to see that our location was of great benefit to you! The new, recently opened fourth subway line is easily accessible from us as well, and it is still somewhat like an amenity due to the peculiar and colorful design each station has!

Thank you very much for visiting us, and we hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

The ARCadia Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed in this place one night. They have an open parking place next street. Zoltan from the reception provide us a lot of useful information, and reccommended us an excellent restaurant near the Danube. The room was big enough, the matraces alittle bit hard.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcadia_Managment, Guest Relations Manager at Arcadia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Aron M,

Thank you for sharing your experiences! We are glad to see that you were satisfied with us in most regards! We are now providing mattress toppers for our guests, and are looking into finding a solution that would be comfortable for everyone!

We wish you safe travels, and hope to see you again!


Sincerely,

The ARCadia Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The hotel location was central and close to a train station, and a good bar area making it easy to get around. The professional photos are definitely not reflective of the actual conditions of the apartment. The lobby is small and worn out and the elevator is slow a big enough to fit 3 people at most.

The bed was horrible. It was rock hard. This coupled with the construction that was going on outside, made it impossible to sleep at night.

Breakfast was free but you get what you pay for - a horrible selection. Bread was stale, and they ran out of eggs every morning we were there and we got there by 9am most days.

The front desk was rude. There was one lady with a really bad attitude and was very rude and not very helpful.

All of the aforementioned issues we could deal with, but one of our guests had her watch stolen from the room. She had left it in her make up bag in the morning and when we returned, it was gone. Now I get you should lock up your valuables when staying at a hotel, but the safe was small, and we couldn't fit all 3 of our guests' valuables in there; also, we expected a little more from a "4 star" hotel. Spoke with management about the stolen item and they very little to help. They kept telling us to look harder in the room and got our contact information on our departure and said they would contact us in the next few days either way. We never heard from them again.

All in all, a horrible 3 nights stay and would not recommend this hotel to anyone nor will we return for another stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Regency Suites Hotel Budapest
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Carat Boutique Hotel
Carat Boutique Hotel
#41 of 334 in Budapest
1,140 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Exe Danube Budapest
Exe Danube Budapest
#16 of 334 in Budapest
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Soho Boutique Hotel
Soho Boutique Hotel
#83 of 334 in Budapest
1,413 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ambra Hotel
Ambra Hotel
#60 of 334 in Budapest
640 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Arcadia Hotel Budapest

Property: Arcadia Hotel Budapest
Address: Madach Imre ter 3., Budapest 1075, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Arcadia Hotel Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ARCadia Hotel Budapest**** is a newly opening hotel in the heart of Budapest, opening it's gates from 1st April 2014. In the imposing building with it's unique arcade 64 standard rooms will be for the guest's convenience spread amongst 5 floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Arcadia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing