We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Origo Hostel & Guesthouse
Ranked #170 of 666 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Very nice, central and clean hostel, Ikea style. Supermarket, pubs, ATM, Metro all just around the corner.
Staff is very helpfull and even if people checkin very late at night and don't stop asking questions they are really nice and patient to make your stay pleasant!
If you are lucky you get the best peppermint tea in Budapest!;-)

Shukran and, köszi!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2010Salzburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Origo Hostel & Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Sparklyness
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 June 2012

When we arrived we were told that there was an overbooking .
We would get a room a little further in the same street
We reserved 2 rooms with a bathroom.
We did not get 2 rooms but 1 room with 5 beds, without comfort.
This was not what we ordered.
I was involved with the owners they were arrogant and pushy.
This is their practice, luring customers with attractive rooms and place them in other places, in hostels .
No, not for us

Room Tip: Go in the center to the tourisme office they help you with a decent room
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny_V_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I spent a few nights here in december 2011, and I have to say i loved this place. The hostel is very clean, very central, it has very good access to transportation, but you can walk everywhere.
Parliament is 3 minutes, and it is free to visit for EU citizens!
The hostel has a very good character, nice colours, decoration, but the best thing is the room, it is very nice, comfotrable, large bed and matresse, nice furniture, well kept.
there is free wifi, and the kitchen is also well equipped.
The negative is that the bathrooms are shared, but it is not really a problem, the 2 large shared bathrooms are enough.
The other thing, that the owner, Laslo if i remember well, is not always there, he is there to check everything and clean the place in the morning hours till noon, then he comes back later in new guests are arriving. So you have to ask everything in the morning from him.
All in all it is a very good place, especially for the price, we paid less than 30 eur for a double room.

Room Tip: choose the red room if you are with spouse, and want a silent room, inform the owner about your arri...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p_vacek1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I think the title is self-explanatory. I was badly bitten by a swarm or bed bugs, which spoiled the rest of my holiday; since I (as it turns out!) have a mild allergic reaction to bed bug bites, I was not able to enjoy any of the thermal baths, and spent the weekend in pain.

The live-in hostel receptionist had bites on his body as well - he showed them to me and said that his bites were a month old! His arms looked pretty bad. (Brings a whole new meaning to "let's compare our arms"!!!). This leads me to believe the parasite problem at the hostel must have been a long-standing one.

The worst thing is that in my personal opinion the hostel staff did not appear to be sufficiently concerned - not as I would have expected them to be. They did not show any perceptible surprise or sympathy, did not even apologise to us. Not even by email afterwards.

I wish somebody had warned me ... STAY AWAY FROM THAT PARASITE INFESTED HELLHOLE.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simona0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

A GREAT PLACE TO GO. It was a great experience. Good service. Good conditions. Great location. Perfect price.

Room Tip: book in advance
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IDragosLucian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

The rooms on the street are directly above an outdoor pub where the district taxi drivers drink and shout all night. Even with both windows closed their horns and drunken fighting kept us awake all night. 40 euros a night is a scandal to pay for a hostel anyway, but especially when they are renting rooms over a pub. The public areas of this dump of a hostel are filled with empty bottles and rubbish. This people who rent these rooms should be ashamed of themselves.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ch1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Starlight Suiten Hotel
Starlight Suiten Hotel
#33 of 333 in Budapest
1,188 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Centrum Hostel
Budapest Centrum Hostel
#93 of 666 in Budapest
139 reviews
District V / Inner City
Oleander Hostel
Oleander Hostel
#339 of 666 in Budapest
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Art & Design Studio
Art & Design Studio
#136 of 666 in Budapest
30 reviews
District V / Inner City
Splendid Residence
Splendid Residence
#87 of 666 in Budapest
50 reviews
District V / Inner City
Central Backpack King
Central Backpack King
#97 of 666 in Budapest
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Origo Hostel & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Origo Hostel & Guesthouse

Address: Nador u 34, 2nd floor, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 666 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: £38 - £458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Origo Hostel & Guesthouse 1.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Origo Hostel & Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing