We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great character hotel full of history and colour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. George Residence
Ranked #98 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Original character hotel in the Buda Castle Quarter area of Budapest, Hungary.
Attentive staff, clean and large rooms, free parking outside the hotel. If you have a car, use this hotel as it's so easy to get in and out what is restrictive parking area, but free for hotel visitors.
Avoid dinning in the restaurant as it was lucking a charm and taste. My first goolash was a disaster. try restaurant 21 or The King, just round the corner, but stay in this hotel, as am sure it's worth every penny you pay.
We didn;t have breakfast there, as for some reason it wasn't included in the deal we had, but it is included in Expedia and Booking.com sites. Breakfast was E12.00 per person. Sooooo... Go, enjoy and fall in love. x

Room Tip: as nicely and you might just en up in a better room than the once you've booked. i wasn't pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kamham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2012

we we lucky to find this lovely place, having only lasted a night at an over-hyped, over-designed hotel in gloomy Pest. I thought we would end up being ripped off at one of the international chains but our guide recommended this hotel across the river in pretty Buda. Small, elegant, full of Hungarian character, fully renovated, spotlessly clean, and for 99 euros you get a suite, sitting room with a kitchenette, nice bedroom, lovely bathroom, wide marble corridors down to the charming dining room, first rate staff. Famous old cafe round the corner serves real hot chocolate and cakes. What more could you want?

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smudgecirencester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Great hotel, one of the best rooms I have ever seen, slept like an angel.
I could recommend this hotel to everyone, you are however quite far from the shopping center you have to cross the river.
One small little thing, if you put in your brochure on the room that you open roomservice till 11PM then don t close earlier as I was very hungry but I found a Burger King down the road.
Thanks for the stay! I loved it..

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjmhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My husband booked the hotel for my birthday and I was amazed by the beautiful suite and the decor. The room was huge and included a kitchenette. A very romantic hotel to stay in and you can catch the funicular railway down to the centre of Budapest. It was snowing whilst we were there and we walked along the river. The staff were very helpful during our stay and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Stayed there a week in January. Excellent location, lovely staff, kitchen facilities, huge rooms. Really nicely furnished. I will definitelly stay there again when in Budapest.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LePires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

As soon as we arrived, the staff couldn't do enough to help us, they even prioritized our room so we could check in early. They are all extremely frendly and very welcoming, and they all speak very good english.
The rooms are large, airy and comfortable.Also very clean, we also had a balcony. The breakfast was plentiful and very good.
The hotel is quiet and the location is perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petarandreev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Lovely hotel on the Buda side of the city. A bit quieter than the Pest side, but we found that to be a plus. Very large, well appointed room with kitchenette facilities. Attentive staff, very clean. Breakfast was adequate but nothing special. There is no gym, if that is important. Easy to take public transportation into the city center. The local bus runs about every 5-7 minutes. Very convenient for the Buda side to visit the sights there. We travel internationally a lot and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwitlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Pest-Buda - Design Boutique Hotel
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#28 of 336 in Budapest
1,011 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Residence
Boscolo Residence
#84 of 336 in Budapest
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
District I / Buda
Baltazar Budapest - Boutique Hotel
District V / Inner City
Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Residence

Address: Fortuna utca 4., Budapest 1014, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#28 Business Hotel in Budapest
#71 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £74 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — St. George Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant residence with its 26 suites, charming patio, luxury restaurant and cozy cafe is an ideal home for tourists, families, groups, either for short visits or extended stays. St. George Residence combines old time hospitality with a full range of modern services. Timeless elegance, historic ambience and the full comfort of the 21st century in a World Heritage environment. Recommended for those wishing a pleasant accommodation of luxury standard, lavish environs and historic ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your St. George Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George Residence In The Buda Castle Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing