We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and convenience with reasonable rates.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. George Residence
Ranked #95 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Luxury and convenience with reasonable rates.”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

First of all, the name of the hotel is St. George Residence. It is not in Buda Castle, although it is on Castle Hill in Buda. The building must have been a manor house in the 18th century. It has been luxuriously decorated and furnished. The rooms--all suites-- are enormous and everyone has a kitchenette. The finishings are all of very high quality. There was plenty of storage space for clothing---not always the case, even in luxury hotels.

Views to an interior garden/courtyard---very quiet. The halls and staircase were broad and well decorated. It really felt like being in a palace.

The neighborhood has been restored as well and is very charming. It is easy to get to all the sights. The concierge[s] were always helpful and spoke English well. My only criticism is that there was no business center. And, if one wanted to use the kitchen, there was no coffeemaker.

It had the advantages and none of the disadvantages of a hotel. There is a restaurant in the building which was good and also reasonable.

Room Tip: there are 3 categories: bronze silver and gold. We had silver, but probably bronze would have been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemarie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    114
    28
    11
    4
See reviews for
95
237
20
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We rented a golden suite, it was very large and finely furnished, with classic style. It felt it was the perfect place to stay a for visiting Budapest, well matching the context - the fisherman's bastion, the castle, the church are all within short distance, together with the most stunning views over the city. Helpful, service minded personnel. I was there for a few days with my wife. More than worth we would say.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We held our family reunion/birthday party with family from many countries at this hotel. It was perfect. The rooms are gracious and large, the service was excellent, the courtyard was a wonderful private gathering spot. We felt at home. The celebration itself was simply perfect and beyond our expectations. The rooms were perfect, the service perfect, especially for a large group. I can't say enough about Andras who helped with the event - he may all our requests whether it be special cakes, food, musicians, timing. In his words, SUPER!
The only critique wis that the breakfast was a bit uninteresting - again Andras came to the rescue when required.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, the best are I terror courtyard rooms. However, there is very little stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babuwincott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This hotel offers beautiful private suites off a secluded courtyard, right inside the cobblestone streets of the castle! The front desk help we're always eager to please, and the concierge quickly made reservations for private tour guides and airport transfers when I requested these through email. The hotel even has a convenient restaurant for a full breakfast before a long day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubbeleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, CAlifornia, USA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We are currently on the last of a four day stay at this beautiful property. The building is truly lovely, and situated so perfectly in the castle district. It is quite noisy, but that is not the fault of the hotel. There is just massive reconstruction going on everywhere in the castle district. The pluses: it is really like a beautiful mansion, kept impeccably clean and in good repair. Front desk personnel are extremely helpful and prompt. The decor is very ornate and very beautiful. Now for some of the minuses: The first one...any older folks might notice is there is no lift, which I can understand, but also no hand rails at all on the wide marble stairs and they are quite slippery. We were "upgraded" from a silver to a gold suite, but there is no where that I can find what the difference might be. This suite is a bit of a conundrum. By my reckoning, it is about 660 ft.². Very spacious with high ceilings and nice furniture. Unfortunately those nice furnishings do not include any lounge chairs or a sofa or loveseat. However we do have six dining chairs! And a large kitchen and large dining table. When we arrived, I had to ask for a 2nd washcloth/small towel. The next morning, both had disappeared. I snagged extras from the hall cart. This morning I noticed that both had disappeared again and have not been replaced. My husband solved that issue for me, thanks for the proximity of the hall cart. I'm not sure if the fact that I asked them not to turn off the electricity in the room when we were out (charging our electronics) caused this, but there was no turndown service at all. As others have mentioned, there is also a lack of trash receptacles. The bathroom is spacious, but suffers from the often found European problem of no place to put your toiletries. We solved that by moving the large serving cart out of the dining room and into the bathroom :-) The bigger bathroom problem was the shower, or lack of it. There is a narrow tub and a hand-held showerhead. But there is no shower curtain or screen of any sort to keep the water in the tub. You have to be so very careful to keep the shower head pointing towards the back wall of the tub or else the bathroom floor gets soaked. And when it is wet, it is dangerously slippery. The tub itself is also very slippery and when you add in the little shower stool they give you, it slides all over the tub. We did not try the hotel breakfast, based on other trip advisor reviews, because there is close proximity to many good restaurants and pastry shops. Bottom line? This is a lovely place, but you need to know ahead of time all the details so you will be prepared.

Room Tip: If you have any mobility issues, ask for the ground floor and make that a condition of your early re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The St. George Residence is superb, located high up on the Buda side. The rooms are enormous (really two rooms - very large dining/sitting room with a well designed & equipped kitchen + a separate bedroom & bathroom) & furnished with Empire style furniture. It is located about 200 metres from the Matyas Church & the Fishermen's Bastion & about 600 metres from the castle. There is easy access to the central area of Pest (Deak Ferenc) by public transit bus #6. Many restaurants in the area as well a small supermarket.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hutchoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Absolutely gorgeous hotel. Our room was about as far from the lobby as you can get and if you do get one of these rooms, make sure you can walk okay (2 flights of stairs, odd walk on a balcony and then 2 more flights), but still well worth it in an adorable area right by St. Mathias church.

Rooms were enormous, beautifully appointed with kitchenette. But there were a few odd things that kept this from being perfect

1) No shower in the bathroom. There was a nozzle that you could use but the hose was not long enough and there was no hook high enough for a shower (and I"m only 5'2")
2) towels were extremely thin and not nearly of the quality you would expect from the other furnishings.
3) bed was two twin mattresses pushed together

No fitness center and no pool, FYI.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjm31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#16 of 334 in Budapest
4,179 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
District I / Buda
Pest-Buda Hotel
Pest-Buda Hotel
#52 of 334 in Budapest
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#30 of 334 in Budapest
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Residence

Property: St. George Residence
Address: Fortuna utca 4., Budapest 1014, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Budapest
#27 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#28 Business Hotel in Budapest
#70 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — St. George Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant residence with its 26 suites, charming patio, luxury restaurant and cozy cafe is an ideal home for tourists, families, groups, either for short visits or extended stays. St. George Residence combines old time hospitality with a full range of modern services. Timeless elegance, historic ambience and the full comfort of the 21st century in a World Heritage environment. Recommended for those wishing a pleasant accommodation of luxury standard, lavish environs and historic ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. George Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George Residence In The Buda Castle Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing