We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. George Residence
Ranked #99 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed here for a weekend break, and had an absolutely wonderful stay. We had a bronze suite, which is the cheapest option, and the room was bigger than our London flat! High ceilings, big bathtub, very comfortable bed. The temperature of the room was perfect - not too hot or to cold, stuffy or draughty. The room was absolutely spotless, and all the furniture and bathroom fixings were in perfect condition. Even the remote for the TV looked new! We were welcomed with a really good bottle of wine, which was a nice touch. The staff were very friendly and helpful, they were happy to give directions and recommendations, call taxis, etc. We also had drinks in the restaurant but didn't eat there; the service was very good. The location is great - it's in a quiet street very close to Matyas church, but it doesn't feel isolated or unsafe at all. I would highly recommend St George to anyone, and would be happy to return. I honestly have no complaints.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

This hotel had ~ location, on the Buda side of Budapest in the historic area.
The staff were very helpful (they even helped us with follow on bookings), good breakfast, Our room was very large and furnished with wonderful antique furniture. The bathroom was also large and spotless, off the bedroom. A kitchen area was also provided.

Room Tip: I'm sure the whole hotel is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We first met the concierge, who was also the registration clerk. He was very helpful with all manner of tips concerning local currency, concert tickets, restaurant recommendations, how to get around, etc. The Hungarian language is difficult, to say the least, and having things explained to one is greatly appreciated.

Our room was very large, with twin beds set together. The room came with a large bathroom, kitchen with mini-bar and microwave, and wi-fi in room (and TV). It was facing the rear courtyard, and quiet. The Hilton, about one block away, was much more expensive. We found the breakfast to be mediocre on our first morning, but had different waiter in attendance the next day, and we found out from him that we could order eggs, omelets, etc. at no extra charge.

The St George is in a nice area with relatively low traffic, and a bus runs every 5 or 10 minutes which takes you to the center of town, so taxis are unnecessary.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room facing away from the street, but this will only be important to you if to go to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The hotel is absolutely gorgeous! We had an amazing suite with 4 rooms, beautiful decor and plenty of space. The staff were friendly. We enjoyed the location, it was great to stay in the Castle district. You should know it is like a 'gate' community so if you have a car be prepared to pay for parking and have validation at hotel. We enjoyed this wonderful hotel and would stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank henney88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

First of all, the name of the hotel is St. George Residence. It is not in Buda Castle, although it is on Castle Hill in Buda. The building must have been a manor house in the 18th century. It has been luxuriously decorated and furnished. The rooms--all suites-- are enormous and everyone has a kitchenette. The finishings are all of very high quality. There was plenty of storage space for clothing---not always the case, even in luxury hotels.

Views to an interior garden/courtyard---very quiet. The halls and staircase were broad and well decorated. It really felt like being in a palace.

The neighborhood has been restored as well and is very charming. It is easy to get to all the sights. The concierge[s] were always helpful and spoke English well. My only criticism is that there was no business center. And, if one wanted to use the kitchen, there was no coffeemaker.

It had the advantages and none of the disadvantages of a hotel. There is a restaurant in the building which was good and also reasonable.

Room Tip: there are 3 categories: bronze silver and gold. We had silver, but probably bronze would have been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosemarie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We rented a golden suite, it was very large and finely furnished, with classic style. It felt it was the perfect place to stay a for visiting Budapest, well matching the context - the fisherman's bastion, the castle, the church are all within short distance, together with the most stunning views over the city. Helpful, service minded personnel. I was there for a few days with my wife. More than worth we would say.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We held our family reunion/birthday party with family from many countries at this hotel. It was perfect. The rooms are gracious and large, the service was excellent, the courtyard was a wonderful private gathering spot. We felt at home. The celebration itself was simply perfect and beyond our expectations. The rooms were perfect, the service perfect, especially for a large group. I can't say enough about Andras who helped with the event - he may all our requests whether it be special cakes, food, musicians, timing. In his words, SUPER!
The only critique wis that the breakfast was a bit uninteresting - again Andras came to the rescue when required.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, the best are I terror courtyard rooms. However, there is very little stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babuwincott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#26 of 334 in Budapest
986 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
District I / Buda
Pest-Buda - Design Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Residence
Boscolo Residence
#86 of 334 in Budapest
727 reviews
District I / Buda
Baltazar Budapest - Boutique Hotel
District I / Buda
Hotel Castle Garden
Hotel Castle Garden
#39 of 334 in Budapest
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Residence

Address: Fortuna utca 4., Budapest 1014, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Budapest
#27 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#28 Business Hotel in Budapest
#71 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £78 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — St. George Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant residence with its 26 suites, charming patio, luxury restaurant and cozy cafe is an ideal home for tourists, families, groups, either for short visits or extended stays. St. George Residence combines old time hospitality with a full range of modern services. Timeless elegance, historic ambience and the full comfort of the 21st century in a World Heritage environment. Recommended for those wishing a pleasant accommodation of luxury standard, lavish environs and historic ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St. George Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George Residence In The Buda Castle Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing