We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service, Great location, Awesome Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. George Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St. George Residence
Ranked #82 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
“Great Service, Great location, Awesome Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

During a business trip in June 2014, I had the pleasure of staying in the St. George Residence twice over a 10 day period. Each time, I was extremely pleased. Everything from the service provided by the staff to the wonderful food with the restaurant. Staying here made my business trip a much more pleasurable experience. I look forward to staying with them in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    110
    25
    7
    3
See reviews for
88
229
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

The most amazing hotel we have ever stayed in. We had the silver suite which consisted of an enormous living room with kitchenette, beautiful bedroom and large bathroom. A real joy after other tiny rooms in Europe where we could barely turn around. We felt like royalty in the suite with all the magnificent Georgian furniture. The staff were wonderful and organised our transfer to the airport. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant where the service was excellent. We will be recommending St George to all our australian friends who travel often. We will definitely return and cannot fault this hotel in any respect. In our opinion it is far beyond any 5 star hotel.the complimentary champagne was also
appreciated and another nice touch.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kerriev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lemmer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is a very good hotel, right on Castle Hill so just a very small walk away from all the must-see sites, and the staff is very friendly.
We had the 'romantic' package (romantic room, spa bath, etc). The room was excellent and very spatious, a large and luxurious bathroom with a spa bath. The lunch is very good and you can eat in a nice garden. The romantic package includes a free dinner, which is a fixed menu and is good but not excellent. The free bottle of white housewine is very delicious though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DutchFerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Beautiful boutique hotel in the heart of the Buda Castle district. It is decorated in a classical style with some antiques that fits very well with the style of the district. We had a Golden suite, which composed of a spacious living room and a comfortable bedroom.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreatTrips79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stumbled on to a last minute deal here, which is the only reason this was even an option for us. Travelers used to mild opulence would fit in well here in the heart of the Castle district, close to various Hungarian ministry offices, in an old and very well maintained property. The suite had everything we could have wanted, including complimentary champagne and hotel-branded wine, and comfortable beds. Our room opened into a quiet courtyard, which nevertheless had a restaurant table inches from our door. A point is deducted for snobbishness: at one point, a concierge seemed eager to evict us because of tshirts and jeans, and another was unwilling to connect us to any transport besides a taxi. We ultimately had to arrange our own airport transport. While road work is being done in the Castle district, several roads are closed, making the hotel rather hard to get to. Would I return? Only if I could afford it, which seems unlikely. The brief stroll to the Fishermens Bastion, with twilight views of the Danube and the city, is something I already miss.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jaggfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed at St Georges Residence in Buda side of the Hungarian capital. It is a very charming classical looking hotel. The area is absolutely stunning, it is in the cobbled street of the medieval part of Buda. The decor of the hotel was luxurious, and the cleanliness was impeccable. The area is very quiet, so if you want a good night sleep, I definitely recommend to stay in this area. The suite is very spacious and tastefully decorated with luxurious bedding. Staff are kind and attentive. I will definitely stay in this hotel at my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Two nights in an oasis in a wonderful city. We are en route to Belgrade otherwise would be staying much longer. Luxury, first class service and a fine, readonably priced restaurant. A must if you visit Budapest.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Pest-Buda Hotel
Pest-Buda Hotel
#102 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#27 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Lanchid 19 Hotel
Lanchid 19 Hotel
#63 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#19 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,927 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Residence
Boscolo Residence
#48 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Residence

Property: St. George Residence
Address: Fortuna utca 4., Budapest 1014, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Budapest
#27 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#28 Business Hotel in Budapest
#59 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — St. George Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant residence with its 26 suites, charming patio, luxury restaurant and cozy cafe is an ideal home for tourists, families, groups, either for short visits or extended stays. St. George Residence combines old time hospitality with a full range of modern services. Timeless elegance, historic ambience and the full comfort of the 21st century in a World Heritage environment. Recommended for those wishing a pleasant accommodation of luxury standard, lavish environs and historic ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your St. George Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George Residence In The Buda Castle Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing