We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. George Residence
Ranked #99 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2010

We have never stayed at a more grander place. Our eyes dropped as we entered the hallways and finally viewed our spectacular suite. I would go back in one minute if 1) the employees did not smoke in the courtyard as the fumes go right into your room and 2)there was more clarity around buying a tourist package as ours was quoted in Euros but on arrival we were told they needed local currency for ex-hotel events.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southernalps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2010

You can't beat this place. Having a whole apartment-sized room on castle hill is lux all the way!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Global077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

Stayed four nights at this very pleasant boutique hotel in the Buda Castle Area of Budapest. Huge suite style rooms in this recently refurbished 18th Century Inn, furnished in traditional empire style with no expense spared. Just 24 Suites come with sitting room, kitchenette marble bathroom and comfortable beds, with most rooms opening onto an attractive internal court yard. Restaurant well up to standard, and interesting food and quality cooking in Budapest was one of the pleasant surprises of the trip. St George staff were exceptionally helpful with bookings, advice and very friendly service. Communications down to the main city and over to the Pest side of the Danube could not have been easier with a shuttle bus running every ten minutes with several stops just a short distance from the hotel. Highly recommended - just been listed in the Sunday Times Hot 100 Europe's best Hotels - see website www.stgeorgehotel.hu and book a package through British Airways or Expedia for the best deal.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JerseyCITraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

The suite was incredible value, beautifully decorated with quality fittings. Hotel staff were professional and eager to be of assistance .The kitchen was so very well equipped, even down to lovely glassware. The bed was enormous and comfortable. The free internet was much appreciated as I had my laptop with me.
The location is only steps from Fisherman's Bastion and Matthias Church and a truly breathtaking view over the city.
This is a very elegant hotel in a very elegant city. I will certainly return.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilysgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

We stayed at St. George's for a special birthday celebration for one of our family. We booked directly with the hotel, whose website gives lots of helpful information (including floor plans). We contacted the hotel a lot before arriving (as until one day before departure the volcanic ash was still stopping flights) and they were always super quick and helpful with their responses.

We booked airport transfers with the hotel - on arrival, we were taken to a taxi station and put in a taxi - a little embarassed as we could have done that ourselves!! The check in was prompt and efficient. We decided to leave the room allocation to chance and instead requested two suites on the first floor overlooking the courtyard (having read reviews that rooms on the first floor had more light). Instead, we were allocated two suites on the second floor overlooking the main road!! Although we weren't too fussed and didn't raise it, when exploring the hotel, the rooms on the first floor overlooking the courtyard did look to get the most light (and had the best view) so we would recommend requesting one of these rooms to any other potential guests.

This hotel is beautifully opulent but yet very quirky - our silver suite had a sofa, and even its own office (!!), our family's gold suite had no-where to sit and was actually a fair bit smaller. The gold suites are lovely but you just seem to get a posher bathroom for the price. Just check the floor plans on the website and request a particular room - I think we learnt our lesson!! The rooms are absolutely huge and there's a little kitchen there for you as well.

We dined in the restuarant the first night - very nice - if there are just two of you request a room in the main room and you might get to sit in the beautiful chairs in the wall carvings. Breakfast was - well - a little weird!! The first day it was yoghurts and meat. The second, some bacon and eggs appeared. The third, there was some fish... you get the picture!! We discovered on our last day that you could request eggs to be made for you - and very tasty they were too - the staff didn't offer, so if you do stay here, make sure you ask.

The hotel is in such a beautiful location - we walked everywhere. Ten minutes away is the viewpoint at the Fishermans Bastian, which will take you down a slow steady walk to the Chain Bridge. Alternatively if you need to go further afield, walk the other way about ten minutes downhill to the underground station. Its a slower walk on the way back up mind.... it's a fairly steep hill!! Can highly recommend seeing a show at the Opera House - incredible - and a meal at Gundel for a real treat.

We also requested a late check out which the hotel happily arranged - it's the only late check out we've ever had where we've had four people in one room without it feeling at all squashed!!

Overall it's a beautiful hotel in the most gorgeous surroundings - we loved the quirkiness and the opulence - it's full of character, beautiful vintage furniture and the largest hotel rooms you'll probably ever stay in!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pontypool1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

This is very much how a hotel would have been in the grand era of Hotels. Nothing is wasted on massive atriums or boutiques with things that you don't want. It is simply 4 grand old houses joined together in a big square - with a large grass courtyard in the centre. All the rooms are fabulous and offer an entertaining room in addition, to a very sensible sized bedroom with a 10/10 bathroom ensuite. Being situated in the Castle district, you do need a taxi to get about for farther parts of the city, yet it is a specticular 15 min walk down to the bridges that lead over into Pest - the lower city with the famous Parliament building. The Castle area offers both expensive and very reasonable restaurants - which means you can mix together an expensive trip with a very cost effective trip. This hotel is not cheap - but I think it is more value per euro than just about any other hotel in Budapest. The staff are very helpful and friendly, and can sort you out quite simply and effeciently. I went to this hotel with high expectations of excellent decor, cleanliness and simplicity, and was truly satisfied.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MauriceRavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2010

Stayed here last week and can say that this is probably the nicest place I have stayed in all my years of travel. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous inside and out. This place is 5 star and more. Very few high end hotels offer more than just luxury. I have stayed at the Ritz, Kenzi and other 5 stars but they pale in comparison as they are simply generic in what they offer. At St George you get to experience all the luxuries of 5 star service in a beautifully restored historic setting. Each guest room is different depending on level of luxury, bronze the basic and diamond the most luxurious. What all rooms offer though is luxury, tasteful decor and all the creature comforts one would expect . The bed offers a quality firmness, the furnishings are comfortable and pleasing to the eye and the kitchenette functional. The bath area nice is very nice too with granite floor /walls and a bidet as well. My only gripe with the bathroom was the lack of glass doors and fixed shower head.

The location of hotel is also fairytale as it is located in Buda castle near many tourist attractions. Pest is also easily accessible by foot if you are in decent shape as the climb back up to the hotel is moderately taxing approx 20 mins. I believe that adequate bus service exsists between both sides as well.

Hotel restaurants are very nice too and included in my booking was daily full breakfast from the menu service. Very tasty and a great deal.

I have read other reviews and for the most part were positive as expected. However I noticed that a few reviewers had gripes about hard wired internet connection or 'odd luxury.' The hotel is a historic building with very thick stone walls. Obviously in room wifi isn't possible hence the complimentary in room ethernet and wifi in common areas. As far as the odd luxury issue, again, this is a beautifully restored historic building modified as a hotel. Obviously the buildings architecture will in some ways limit the layout of a room.

All in all St George Residence is an amazing place and will return again.

A big thanks to the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shorechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Pest-Buda - Design Boutique Hotel
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#28 of 336 in Budapest
1,011 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Residence
Boscolo Residence
#83 of 336 in Budapest
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
District I / Buda
Baltazar Budapest - Boutique Hotel
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 336 in Budapest
4,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Residence

Address: Fortuna utca 4., Budapest 1014, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#28 Business Hotel in Budapest
#71 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £71 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — St. George Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant residence with its 26 suites, charming patio, luxury restaurant and cozy cafe is an ideal home for tourists, families, groups, either for short visits or extended stays. St. George Residence combines old time hospitality with a full range of modern services. Timeless elegance, historic ambience and the full comfort of the 21st century in a World Heritage environment. Recommended for those wishing a pleasant accommodation of luxury standard, lavish environs and historic ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your St. George Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George Residence In The Buda Castle Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing