We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, really friendly and helpful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Hotel Budapest Tarashaz
Ranked #81 of 682 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2013

A group of us stayed in a shared apartment at City Hotel in August. It was brilliant for what we needed, standing as a base for exploring the city and going to Sziget Festival. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the location was perfect, and the room was a good fit for the 5 of us. Leaking pipes on one night could have been a problem (a group of lads next door were moaning about a dripping noise) but the staff worked hard to sort it out and all was well by the morning,
I'd definitely visit again,

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed in this hotel on August with family members .Rooms lovely and spacious ,very near everything and every thing within walking distance lovely resteraunt about 15 minutes walk away all you can eat and drink for 3 hours for around €18. Beware of Taxi Rip Off from the Airport. We ordered 1 from the airport to the hotel when we arrived on the Sunday.when we got to the airport the taxi was'nt there as arranged so rang the hotel after 45 minutes and we had to wait another 15 minutes before 1 turned up for us .We had arranged to pay the eqivelant of €52,However when we got to the hotel the driver Demanded €75 . We brought the driver into the hotel to see was that right and the receptionest told us we must pay and she would talk to her collleague tomorrow and he would probably refund us However every day for 4 days we asked about collleague and he NEVER turned up..My brother In Law was talking to a Taxi Man one night and he arranged with him to bring us back to the Airport for €26 . So if you are staying in this hotel use taxi cabs 222222 for cheap taxi rides and don't be ripped off . We thought we were safe booking through hotel but we were'nt

Room Tip: All rooms are grand with lovely thick black out curtains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Irene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed there two nights and could not come up with something negative. The rooms were huge, the washroom as well. Very clean, cozy, like new. The staff were great, very helpful and courteous. The location was fantastic, on a side street just behind the Corinthian Hotel which faces a main street. We would just enter the Corinthian through the back, exit through the front and take advantage of their own taxi service, which is reliable. Within a short distance of the subway and a fair walk to the major attractions, including the Danube River. Close to bars and restaurants. Overall, a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gilista17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Great location on the Pest side and very near to Andrassi, with some lovely restaurants nearby. The staff were very helpful and friendly, we had a smooth check in. The rooms were spacious with a kitchenette, they also had good black out curtains to make for a good sleep, but the street outside could be noisy at times. The breakfast was served in the reception area and was plain but ok.

Room Tip: Maybe see if there are room located at the back of the building away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carryonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Good things: large rooms, well located, close to hop on-hop off route, close to Andrassi Blvd and some main objectives (Opera, Terror House, Heroes Square).

Bad things:
- poor English from the personnel
- broken car elevator
- they said to put used towel on the floor to be changed ; we just found them very nicely folded ...on the floor
- the receptionist said that is ok to park the car outside if it's no yellow line, she didn't say anything about paying before, so we got 2 penalties. When we confronted her she said she told us about the prior payment (she didn't). Who's the lyier now? The other receptionst simply said that it's not hotel's job where we park. Yes, it is if your car elevator is broken and I have to check out the next morning and especially if I ask you about car parking. You are there to give valid information. I was a tourist so I didn't know local rules, that's why I was asking you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DianaHHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We flew Ryanair to Budapest getting to City Hotel Harsfa Utca at lunch time. The rooms are spacious with kitchenette ensuite fridge etc. fabulous.location great for getting anywhere. This is on the Pest side of the city. Hop on hop off buses and river trips included, these are in abundance.

Room Tip: Bit like apart hotel, all rooms spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blossomtoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Three friends and I visited Budapest mid April, and stayed at the City Hotel in Budapest.

The location of the hotel is fantastic. It is very close to the Jewish Quarter, where all the bars and restaurants are, and only a 10 minute (1 tram stop) walk away from the City Centre.

The hotel itself was pleasant, with a good spread put out for breakfast, and friendly staff.

The room was nice also, however slightly on the small side for 4 people. All the ameneties for the kitchen were available, and we had no complaints. Good for people travelling on a budget, but wanting a central location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jblogsweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
City Hotel Unio
City Hotel Unio
#206 of 336 in Budapest
373 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Soho Boutique Hotel
Soho Boutique Hotel
#85 of 336 in Budapest
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantic Hotel
#249 of 336 in Budapest
236 reviews
City Inn
#86 of 336 in Budapest
538 reviews
District V / Inner City
City Hotel Matyas
City Hotel Matyas
#138 of 336 in Budapest
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Budapest Tarashaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Budapest Tarashaz

Address: Harsfa utca 51, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 682 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: £38 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Budapest Tarashaz 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your City Hotel Budapest Tarashaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Partner Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing