We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, View & Staff....BUT”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lanchid 19 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lanchid 19 Hotel
Ranked #56 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
san diego
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Location, View & Staff....BUT”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I really wanted to love the Lanchid 19 as I selected it because it is promoted as a small, modern or contemporary designer hotel and I like small, unique and modern. Loved the location which provided a beautiful river and bridge view from our 5th floor room and the hotel is an easy walk to a few nice restaurants and/or for a lovely (albeit crowded) stroll across the bridge if you are so inclined. The staff was also lovely, friendly and most helpful.

For me, it was just too plastic and scant. The common areas (bar and restaurant) were just not inviting – too lite up with no atmosphere. The bar reminded me more of an ice cream counter. We ate at the restaurant once when we were just too exhausted to go out and found it served good food but was slow in service despite us being the only party in it. It too seemed too lite up with no definable dinner atmosphere. We passed on breakfast because it seemed overpriced, and there is a lovely inviting café just a few doors down (Marvelosa). The hotel however did have a modern public sitting room behind the reception desk with a clear glass floor over boulders/rocks on which the room was built that was more up to what I expected and was indeed unique and gorgeous with distinct atmosphere.

While the room was clean, the bed was really really firm with strange quality linens (flannel?) and the multi colored lights outside your view window attracks swarms of gnats to the lights. There is no way that we could open the window or door at night because of this. It also seems to offer no way to turn off the noisy constant bathroom fan. Lucky that there was a vanity mirror in the desk to use for makeup and hair as the bathroom did have atmosphere - however it was too dark to be putting on makeup. It just fell short of my expectations.

Would only come back here if I could afford the 6th floor river/bridge panorama view room and be sure I got a room with a shower (not a tub).

Room Tip: Danube side - the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mchcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for writing your review. It is always good to hear our staff was helpful and did a gopod job to make your stay comfortable. I am dissapointed you were not satisfied with the lighting of the public areas and the bathroom. As for the windows, it was our decision at the construction phase that we did not want to have a completely closed window as in most Budapest hotels.
However it is good to read you liked the design of our reading corner and would try our panorama suite another time.

Thank you for your kind feedback.

Best regards,

Edit Rozsos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    241
    57
    18
    7
See reviews for
60
354
41
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed two nights in summer 2013.
Plusses -
It really is a 'design' hotel, nicely done rooms with great bathrooms.
I think it is in a really good location, just over the Lanc bridge and out of the bustle but still very close to everything.
Great views over the Danube.

Niggles -
The beds, although modern looking, just didn't have that real quality feel I would expect from a hotel of this level.
The staff, although very polite, always looked a bit nervous. maybe inexperienced.

All in all I would highly recommend this place if you are visiting Budapest and fancy treating yourself.

Room Tip: I think the river view is better than the Palace view. Obviously the higher room the better .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mudmucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for sharing your opinion and recommend our hotel to other travelers. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Edit Rozsos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Locared on Buda's end of Chain Bridge in not exactly existing neighbourhood. Personally, I prefer to stay in Pest. Junior suite L2 on the top floor is very spacious and extravagant, with huge terrace overlooking Royal Palace. Bed is very comfortable and is separated from living room with 3/4 of a wall. Service is very friendly, food above average. No pool and no business centre. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hefnerjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your positive impressions about our hotel. Our panorama suites are really unique and provide a splendid view over the city.
As for the location, many guests prefer the Buda side as it is more calm and relaxing. We are so very close to the Pest center, it is only a 6-8 minute walk or one bus stop.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards,

Edit Rozsos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel a couple of times, unfortunately all stays were only for one night! This hotel has lovely rooms that are clean, comfortable and are equipped with some amazing either showers or baths! A place you don't want to leave. This time on our stay we were greeted by the lovely and so professional David who couldn't do more for us and his colleague Hichem made our stay so special! Would recommend this hotel to everyone! Could not fault the service!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisik88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your wonderful review and are glad you recommend our hotel to other travellers visiting Budapest. We forwarded your nice words to David and Hichem and would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts about our hotel.

Best regards,

Edit Rozsos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Bookham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

I cannot speak too highly of the quality of this Hotel. The interior of the hotel has a great modern design. Our room was elegantly laid out and spotless. It has a really fresh modern design without being fussy. The base thing about the room was the view however. We were on 4th floor and you still had a beautiful back-drop of the Danube and City. Everything worked , air conditioning superb, and WIFI fine, essential if you had 2 teenage boys like us.

Breakfast was top class . Something for everyone and very well prepared.

Above all the staff went out of their way to make your stay as easy as possible. For example they sent a member of staff to help us find a secure parking place for our car. They were also extremely helpful in arranging our departure as there was a big festival going on the following day with various road closures.

If you're looking for a bit of luxury you would be hard pressed to beat this.

Room Tip: Worth going for river view option
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 875Rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your wonderful review. Our team is continuously trained to provide ultragood service which is very much honoured by our guests.
I am glad you liked our breakfast and all our services.

We hope you will return to us in the near future.

Kind regards,

Edit Rozsos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

I booked a room for my parents to stay there, after a long flight from London. The hotel staff noted my request for a very late check in (a big thank you to Krisztina from sales, who noted my requests via email), and provided an extra bed for my brother. As I heard, the night receptionist was amazing and very friendly.
My parents were impressed by the hotel and the team. Hopefully I will get the chance to stay there next year!

Room Tip: High floor, Chain Bridge view or apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabe24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest,

first I would like to thank you for choosing Lanchid 19 hote inl Budapest again. I have shared your review with my colleagues so they see their efforts are so much honoured by our guests.

Thank you again for the wonderful review and hope to see you next time.

Best regards,
Edit Rozsos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a week and was very comfortable at this hotel. Although its on the Buda side, its less than a 10 minute walk to the shopping centre, restaurants and bars.

Not quite sure about the design part or what I expected, but the shower was designed in the most ridiculous way that meant the bathroom was flooded each day, and other bits were a bit odd, but that's not to say its bad!

Staff were very attentive and the proximity and view across the river made this a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear John,

thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. As for the shower, we fixed the problem in the room and we hope it will not happen again.

Kind regards,

Edit Rozsos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
art'otel budapest
art'otel budapest
#38 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,611 reviews
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#45 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#24 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,212 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#28 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanchid 19 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanchid 19 Hotel

Property: Lanchid 19 Hotel
Address: Lanchid utca 19, Budapest 1013, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Budapest
#36 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#43 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#48 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lanchid 19 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lánchíd 19 design hotel Budapest, providing a beautiful view on UNESCO World Heritage sites of Budapest, is situated on the Danube riverbank, at the feet of the Buda Royal Castle, just a few minutes walk from the city center. Besides the accustomed comfort and elegance of four-star hotels, it offers a unique visual experience to travellers looking for creative design solutions. - European Hotel Design Awards 2008 - Best Architecture- Condé Nast Traveller's Hot List 2008 - Best 65 Places To Stay- Wallpaper&Fortune Magazine's 50 Best Business Hotels 2008 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lanchid 19 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanchid 19 Budapest
Hotel Lanchid 19

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing