We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real design hotel!”
Review of Lanchid 19 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lanchid 19 Hotel
Ranked #81 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Lanchid 19 hotel for two nights. We found the hotel to be a real design hotel. What an architecture and interior design! Interesting, even to us (one retired, one almost retired) who are great fans of beautiful old buildings like those in the Budapest city.

The room on the fifth floor was clean, quiet and had a comfortable (a little bit chilly) temperature. The view from the room overlooking Danube was beautiful, specially in the evening. On the back side of the hotel is a stone wall covered with ivy and other plants. You can see this wall and the hotel's terrace through the wall-to-ceiling windows in the breakfast room. Very nice!

The only, and a minor, problem was the television set that didn't want to work. The staff helped us instantly. They were kind and service-minded. We are pleased with our stay and will certainly recommend this hotel for others interested in a small, different and a well situated hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank k8mayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (735)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

482 - 488 of 735 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2008

Just stayed at the Lanchid 19 hotel for the F1 weekend and hosted a group of 10 people.

The location of the hotel is good as it has great views on the river and is close to the centre.

The rooms are clean and nice; just what you expect from a newly refurbished hotel.

The true asset of this place however is its staff. We had many requests from using their meeting room to organising a minibus and everything was dealt with in a highly professional manner to our full satisfaction.

I found value for money to e very good and can recommend this place to anybody travelling to Budapest.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Paradise_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2008

Hi, I stayed at the Lanchid for one night on April 23, and must say that I can echo some of the previous comments made about this hotel.

The hotel has a beautiful location between the castle and the Danube. Upon entering the lobby, the first impression is certainly very positive. Especially the way how the floors are set up, and the walkways between the front and the back of the hotel is certainly worth a longer look.

As I only stayed for one night, I was certainly relaxed when I found the room to be on floor 6 and facing the castle. I would not have liked to be on a lower floor as otherwise you would have looked at a stone wall rather than seeing the sky.

Two comments that hopefully the hotel manager will act upon.
1. The entire hotel is overheated. Outside temperatures of close to 15...20 degree Celsius make it difficult to understand why the heat is on full power.
To my luck, the room had a balcony and I could open the window during night so it did not feel like sleeping in an oven.
I never undertstand why not opening window is supposed to be a plus in the hotel world. At least, it was very quiet at night, so my sleep was not hampered.

2. The friendliness of the staff was more on the unfriendly side. Indifference is not really helpful if one is in the servicing industry.

Would I stay there again?. Probably not.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank caesar1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2007

The designers of the Lanchid 19 Design Hotel clearly had a vision for creating a "super-hip" and stylish hotel. This is fine by me as long as everything works, is comfortable and the "design" is also functional. Lanchid 19 is a case where form has trumped function. Water leaked out of the shower; there was no wireless internet (must use ethernet cable); I could not seem to get the temperature in my room to a comfortable level (it was very hot); the chair in my room was a plastic patio chair with a slip cover (intended to look hip, but not something I felt drawn to sit in).

While this might be personal preference, I found both the bar and the restaurant unappealing aesthetically. Both were very brightly lit. In particular, the bar gave more of an appearance of being a coffee shop with its bright lights and its "middle of the lobby" location.

That said, the service was reasonably good and staff seemed to be eager to assist.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Biscuit_Papi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2007

OK, it's a "DesignHotel" so expectations were high. On the positive side, the fixtures and fittings are of good quality and the view from the balcony, across the Danube to Pest, was very nice, as was the balcony. What was disappointing was the fact that the hotel was already showing signs of age: one of the two lifts out of service for the whole weekend, carpet stained, tv not working etc; and that they did not clear room service from the room or from a trolley in the corridor for a good 24 hours. Also had some quibbles about the design: a bathroom with a completely glass wall/door sounds cutting edge but allows no privacy. For the price, I would probably look at the Gresham Palace next time.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Philippe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heiko D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
art'otel budapest
art'otel budapest
#43 of 336 in Budapest
2,898 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#15 of 336 in Budapest
2,538 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#42 of 336 in Budapest
4,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Baltazar Budapest - Boutique Hotel
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 336 in Budapest
4,987 reviews
District I / Buda
Pest-Buda - Design Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanchid 19 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanchid 19 Hotel

Address: Lanchid utca 19, Budapest 1013, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Budapest
#36 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#48 Business Hotel in Budapest
#56 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £67 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lanchid 19 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lánchíd 19 design hotel Budapest, providing a beautiful view on UNESCO World Heritage sites of Budapest, is situated on the Danube riverbank, at the feet of the Buda Royal Castle, just a few minutes walk from the city center. Besides the accustomed comfort and elegance of four-star hotels, it offers a unique visual experience to travellers looking for creative design solutions. - European Hotel Design Awards 2008 - Best Architecture- Condé Nast Traveller's Hot List 2008 - Best 65 Places To Stay- Wallpaper&Fortune Magazine's 50 Best Business Hotels 2008 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lanchid 19 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanchid 19 Budapest
Hotel Lanchid 19

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing