We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Budapest”
Review of Miniversum

Miniversum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$9.13*
and up
Budapest Miniversum Museum
Ranked #20 of 452 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Miniversum is one of the largest miniature exhibitions in the world, a top 10 place to visit when you are in Budapest. You can discover most of the sights and landmarks from Budapest and Hungary as well as a bit of Austria and Germany. Much to see in one stop: over 5000 miniature figures, 1000 motor cars and 100 trains are in motion in 14 towns and cities on the 1200 metres of rail tracks. There are interactive screens that show original photos of the sights on the layout, so that you can compare the miniature with the original. You can also control the ongoing traffic here and there and bring to life all sorts of actions, motions, sound and light effects. After exploring all amusing details the little ones can play free of charge at the Miniversum playhouse while adults can enjoy some time out with drinks and snacks in the Café. For those interested in technology the Miniversum control room with its huge monitor wall offers a fascinating experience to observe the operation of the exhibition. As a matter of fact, it is difficult to put into words or show on pictures what you are going to see. Come and experience MINIVERSUM with us, we will surely take your breath away! Let yourself be enchanted and you will grow to discover that it is "just like the real thing", and how crazy and miniscule things we could construct in the mini world of MINIVERSUM. Visit Miniversum, explore, behold and control it yourself!
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best in Budapest”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Me and my friend just walked by and saw the miniversum and immeditly we entered. This was really great! Well built and alot of trains driving all the time. They built some of the citys nicest buildings and had som information about it. One of the few things I will remember from this city is miniversum! :D Thanks for the visit!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank W-djej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    190
    33
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A must see place at Andrássy boulvard”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We really underestimated the size of this attraction, it is a crazy sized sand table. 2 hours was not really enough for catch all the details, we will be back for an other round for sure.
It is highly recommended not only with children, if you are older you will find some extremely funny details:)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lazlo_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Excellent time at Miniversum”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My sister and I went after walking past while visiting Budapest. We enjoyed it immensely, there was information about each city depicted and we enjoyed the interactive buttons. There were numerous trains going in all directions, lots of tunnels and towns. There was much more there than we originally thought. It took us about one hour to go from start to finish. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great with small children (3 years and up)”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I absolutely loved it! Pay attention to all small details, kids will love the "treasure hunt game" when you push the buttons and explore the what will happen. Please do not spoil it for them, let them discover! You can do the tour in one hour but if your kids are train enthusiastics you may spend here easily 2-3 hours - especially if you try the pencakes in the café too! :-)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark_bp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We just noticed this place as we were walking along Andrassy ut, and thought we would have a look inside (I am a devout train enthusiast). This is a truly magical experience for anyone interested in trains, travel or central Europe. The layout is such that it depicts different towns and cities from around Hungary, Austria and Germany with trains running around the display which are small-scale versions of real-life trains from each country. Lots of well-designed model buildings and streets in each town (I particularly liked the townscape of Eisenach) and you can actually feel the different atmospheres of each country as you move between each display (I have been on trains in each of these countries and the atmosphere created here is what is felt on each country's real rail network)! I was particularly impressed by the very accurate train station announcements at Wien Hauptbahnhof, having been at the actual station only a few days before. Very friendly and helpful staff. There is even a play area for kids where they can create their own model train consists and then run them on small electrically-controlled tracks. A must for all visitors to Budapest who are interested in this sort of thing! And very easy to get to too by Metro line 1 to Opera station.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ThamesDanube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miniversum also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Miniversum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing