We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Oswaldo”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Oswaldo

Hotel Oswaldo
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Oswaldo
Ranked #198 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
“Hotel Oswaldo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

We stayed in two rooms for a week in May to play a local ITF tennis tournament, right from the start we had a great experience, The owner could not be helpful enough, the rooms were clean and the breakfast was excellent, we would definitely come back again

Room Tip: For a long stay the comfort rooms gave plenty of room having a living area with a couch TV and fridg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTTNPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    6
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
5
6
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

beautiful, peaceful and clean hotel. in the backyard you can find many chairs and tables to sit with your friends.
Some kilometers away the centrum, but the public traffic works very well. 20 minutes by bus to metro and then the whole Budapest is available economic.
You can find lot of shops in 10 minutes walk.
Easy to come from airport: take bus 200E to Kobanya-Kispest and then bus number 151 behind the corner near the hotel (remember to buy a ticket before step the bus).
Very good place to stay and worth of your money!!!!!!

Room Tip: We had room number 4. A small room at 2nd floor but there was enough room for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanuman49years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

I booked my accommodation on the net from Australia, and stayed in the Oswaldo Hotel from 8th. May to 16th. -First impression was really great, even though it looked a bit different from the photos on the net. Some artistry on the part of the photographer was evident. Still, it was a more than acceptable picture, well organised, clean, and overall very nice, instantly friendly atmosphere.
The Hotel is a family run business. Friendliness, eager to help in any situation would be a typical description of every member. Several languages are spoken, including perfect English. High quality security parking for cars or motor bikes. Breakfast (optional) is well worth the money, it's filling, tasty, would suit any taste of any nationality. I didn't have to book in the night before, brekkie was provided at any reasonable time I turned up. Little things, like high flowing hot water in the shower made my stay even more enjoyable. Transportation was no problem for me, the centre of Budapest is only 20-25 minutes by car, but your GPS is an absolute necessity. Public transport is an option, as parking can be nightmarish in the CBD.
Overall impression of Oswaldo Hotel: One of the best value for money accommodation I have found in my extensive travels. It's not 5 star, but it doesn't pretend to be.
I highly recommend it to my fellow travellers.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveKovcsPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

It's a charming place, situated only 20 minutes by car from the very centre, in a calm neibourhood.
Clean and warm rooms, helpful English-speaking staff, tasty and big breakfast, affordable price...
Definitely recommend for the next stay in Budapest...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DE1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2009

I would definately make a return to this hotel the next time Im in Budapest (I loved it and will def. be going back) and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting budapest.
On arriving at the Hotel the staff were exceptionally helpful... the person at the desk provided us with a map, marking the location of the hotel, local recommended places to eat, directions to the local shops, bus and metro lines. throughout the duration of my stay the staff were all very helpful, and made an effort to speak english with my friend and I at all times.
The room and the public parts of the hotel were all very clean. As above the staff were very friendly, the service was great, although not in the centre, this ensured that it was quieter in the evenings while being within easy reaching distance of the city.
The area around the hotel, is not a touristy area, so there was a bit of a language barrier, as not many people spoke english, but it allowed the chance to experience the real side of Budapest instead of the side that is pushed at tourists.
The hotel was also happy to hold our cases following checkout allowing us to go out for the day without having to carry suitcases, and also offered to call a cab for us when we were leaving for the Airport.
However both our initial reactions to the hotel were not great, it seemed to be in the middle of nowhere, and the room was in need of decoration, the dodgy character in the room next to our didnt help this aprehension. However the following morning we found that the hotel was being redecorated and refurbished, and that we were only 20 minutes from Budapest centre by bus/metro.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Passzio Pension
#197 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Aventura Boutique Hostel
#103 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Hotel Chesscom
#92 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#120 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Hotel Pension Helios
#101 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Jade House
#252 of 342 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oswaldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oswaldo

Property: Hotel Oswaldo
Address: Voeroesmarty utca 44, Budapest 1201, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Oswaldo 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Oswaldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing