We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel with a big heart”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Central Basilica
Ranked #97 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I have recently returned home after a fun filled and very well packed 4 days/3 nights in Budapest. We travelled with 2 friends and had an amazing time. The reception staff couldnt do enough to help. I ordered champagne and chocolates for our rooms and as requested these were there waiting for us upon arrival. We had inside rooms on the first floor and therefore they were very quiet although no view...a view is not neccesary when you are only in it for sleeping after a busy day. We asked for a shower cubicle instead of a bath and this was granted. Fabulous and very powerful/hot shower. Towels are a little thin but when its only for a few days its not a problem. TV and fridge in room and safety deposit box also. Rooms were very hot but windows opened both ways and let in plenty of fresh air.
Breakfast was very good. Plenty of cereal, breads, meats/cheese, and hot breakfast available along with tea/coffee and juices. Plenty of food and constantly replenished.
Reception staff were extremely helpful in advising us on where we wanted to go and also ordering taxis etc.
We had a taxi to and from the airport organised by the hotel. This was quick and easy and efficient too.
The FREE walking tours are a must. The best tours we have been on. Very knowledgable and friendly and speak perfect english. They work on tips only. We paid them well as to us this was well worth it.
St Stephens Bascilicca was right next to the hotel. This is a must for a visit as its amazing.
There was alot of building work going on whilst we were in Budapest due to the government officials forthcoming visit to see what their money has been spent on. Unfortunately this meant that the Parliament building had buildinbg and cleaning work in progress whilst we were there so not the best for photos, but you were still able to go inside if you wished.
Westher was not too bad. A little like England. Light showers, sunshine and a bit cooler at night.
All in all an excellent break and a beautiful City. We visited most of it in the time there although we didnt go into any museums and only biewed from outside (this didnt matter as we had already been given so much information from free walking tours,

Room Tip: inside rooms are quiet. Rooms with shower are fab and very powerful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank staffordpepsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 715 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

Staff v helpful, breakfast was good, there was plenty of choice (although the milky rice at breakfast was weird-looking?!). Easy to find from Deak Ter metro station, 24hr shop round the corner, couple of coffee-shop chains very close, 5 mins walk to Danube.

Only downside was the comfort of the bed wasn't ideal but this may depend on what you're used to at home. I would also have liked brew-making stuff in the room, and wifi included (I have no idea how much it was, I didn't ask).

Room Tip: If you can stretch to a 'superior' room you get a view of the Basilica and not overlooked by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1an3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel for new year it is very central and close to all tourist attractions.Bedrooms are nice and large also clean only fault towels are very thin would prefer them to be thicker and the shower is set at waist height and has to be hand held.Overall Budapest is a lovely city and worth a visit this was our second visit and we had forgotten how beautiful it was.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Phyllis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We were fortunate enough to stay in Budapest in December. A good time to visit the various Christmas markets and enjoy the festive feeling in Budapest.

The Reception staff were amazing, very knowledgeable and gave us great advice on trips and things to do. They deserve a medal for having to repeat themselves so often! We could not fault them.

The hotel itself is small and very dark in parts. Lights eventually come on via sensors in the lobbies. Our room was 112,very small and extremely poorly lit- hardly any lights and all with low wattage bulbs. A shame because everything else was fine for a four day stay.

Breakfast was good. Replenishment of the food and drinks was slow but the girls were very helpful. Lots of breads and eggs and some yoghurts. The room is in the basement with either a lift or stairs to get there. There is unfortunately no lounge or bar area so unless you want to stay in your room there is nowhere in the hotel to relax after a hard day trekking about. Mind you we did so much sightseeing that we were shattered!

If we went back we would ask for a room at the front of the hotel.The view of St Stephen's Basilica was stunning from there.

We booked private transfers from and to the airport. Unfortunately the driver going back decided to race two other taxi driver friends. It was white knuckle stuff and we were relieved to get there in one piece. Make sure to tell your driver not to go too fast before you set off if you aren't a speed freak!

Would we go back to Central Basilica? Perhaps, but a view of the Danube would be top on my list for the next visit!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intrepids15c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in Dec to visit this wonderful city. The location is perfect to reach almost anywhere central to the city.The rooms are spotless although small, but more than ample for a short break. The breakfast selection was good also. What I particularly liked were the staff, especially those on reception, they were extremely helpful and polite. This is a wonderful city and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, the price was also excellent compared with many other hotels we looked at.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertNiland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed for 3 nights from 6th-9th December for the Christmas Markets. The location for the markets and everything in Budapest in general was spot on. It was dead central to all the main sights being right next to St Stephens Basilica, 10 mins walk to the Chain Bridge and the river and 5 mins walk to Varosmarty Square and Vaci Street.
The room (304) we had was very nice. It was a decent size with 2 large windows, a wardrobe, a desk and a stool, 2 bed side tables, a TV and a safe. The bed was quite low but comfy although as with most of Europe, a double bed is 2 singles pushed together with 2 single quilts; very strange. The bathroom was a good size with a powerful shower and had plenty of towels. The whole room was very clean. The only thing that could have been improved was the lighting; there was only 1 small light on the ceiling and 2 small ones on the back wall at the side of the bed. This made the room quite dark at night.
Breakfast was between 7-10am and was nice. Along with the rest of Europe there was bread, ham, cheese, eggs, cereal, yoghurts, fruit, croissants, cakes and also scrambled eggs and sausages. The breakfast room was nice with plenty of tables although not everything was replenished quickly enough, we had a wait for bowls one morning and some of the food was a bit slow to be replaced.
The staff were very helpful and friendly. We were early to check in so stored our luggage in the luggage room & again on the day of check out as we had a night flight and check out was 10am that morning.
Overall we had a very nice stay at this hotel. The location couldn't have been more central and for the price we paid it was excellent value. I highly recommend this hotel and Budapest in general as it is a lovely place. The Christmas Markets were excellent!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tinylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Myself and my daughter stayed here for 3 days and had a wonderful time . The reception staff were very friendly and full of information about how to get the best of our time in Budapest . We were both very happy with our room great shower and spotlessly clean . The hotel was right in the middle of everything and was within walking distance of all the sights . The St. Stephens basilica was right next to the hotel and the x mas Market in the square next to it was great . Restaurants and coffee shops all around the hotel and a lovely wine bar right next door .

I intend to go back to Budapest with my husband next year and will be going back to the Basilica . I can recommend it

Room Tip: We had a room at the back which was lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Carat Boutique Hotel
Carat Boutique Hotel
#36 of 335 in Budapest
1,301 reviews
District V / Inner City
Starlight Suiten Hotel
Starlight Suiten Hotel
#35 of 335 in Budapest
1,239 reviews
District V / Inner City
Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
K+K Hotel Opera
#41 of 335 in Budapest
3,320 reviews
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Basilica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Basilica

Address: Hercegprimas utca 8, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#67 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#67 Family Hotel in Budapest
#70 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £80 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Central Basilica 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Central Basilica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Basilica Hotel
Central Basilica Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing