We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - friendly staff - tiny rooms - great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Central Basilica
Ranked #94 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 14 April 2009

Above says it all. Rooms disappointingly small. Elderly TV with poor reception. No ash tray although a smoking room - got given a saucer for entire 3 nights. Limited toilet roll and soap supply - rationed. Staff were friendly though and very well placed for great restaurants and the river - so no complaints really. Just a few modifications would have stepped it up a notch.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkBonViveur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

385 - 391 of 712 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2009

Excellent location and value. A very central hotel within easy walking distance of the main attratctions. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The only negative thing was the buffet breakfast, not very exciting and the coffee was very strong!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWI1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2008

It is a clean, spotless hotel, central, close to a lot of attractions.
My room was quite small, there was no chairs and the beds were very low, the only place to watch tv or read was lying on the bed.The bottom sheet was too small, you can see the mattress at the head of the bed. There are no tea or coffee in the room and there is no way of ordering any, there is no room service, no restaurant and NO bar!
We were disappointed and would not stay again because a lack of amenities.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GordonHStDavids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2008

The hotel has a great location. It is within walking distance of lots of restaurants and things to explore. The actual hotel room was not too nice and our TV didn't work. But if you were going there only for a night and didn't plan to spend much time in the room I would recommend the hotel.

It is dog friendly. Plus, they have a great buffet breakfast included in the price of the room.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank anggrad99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2008

Hotel Central Basilica is a great find. We only stayed there one night but was totally impressed. First the hotel looks like it was just renovated. It is very modern with period furniture. The rooms are spacious, with high ceilings, extremely nice furnishings, a safe and are spotless. The bathrooms are large with an enclosed shower and hair dryer. Breakfast is above average. The staff is friendly and helpful. They have a luggage holding area and make available very good tourist maps. Best of all the hotel is in a very good location on the Pest side and is just adjacent the the Basilica and its plaza. There are an abundance of restaurants, cafes, taverns and even a great supermarket within walking distance as is the Deak Florenc Metro station. Also within easy walking distance are most of the interesting tourist sites. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlOjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2008

I was booked into this hotel for an academic conference via a conference website. Its a fine hotel, good rooms with a very pleasant and friendly staff. Breakfast is very good, plentiful and easy. Location is superb. Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank HaskelUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2007

We stayed here for 4 nights and loved it. The hotel is just off St Istvan Ter. So as you walk out of the front door of the hotel you are greeted by that beautiful Balisica. We had an inner facing room, so the view was not fabulous, but then again, by the time we got back to the room each evening we were just ready to collapse on the bed, the nice big comfortable bed. The room was large, extremely clean and attractive. The staff were helpful, We had a 2 day trip to Pecs before checking into the hotel and they stored a bag for us, which we did not want to take on the train. The breakfast buffet was delicious - and equipped with an automatic esspresso/cappucino/americano coffee machine that I still miss. Only word of warning would be - if you decide to have some laundry done ask first about the price -biggest laundry bill I've ever seen.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank greyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Starlight Suiten Hotel
Starlight Suiten Hotel
#33 of 334 in Budapest
1,203 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Carat Boutique Hotel
Carat Boutique Hotel
#39 of 334 in Budapest
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
The Magazine Hotel & Apartments
12 Revay Hotel
#34 of 334 in Budapest
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Basilica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Basilica

Address: Hercegprimas utca 8, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#67 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#67 Family Hotel in Budapest
#69 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £77 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Central Basilica 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Central Basilica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Basilica Hotel
Central Basilica Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing